Howard J. Weintraub’s Reviews

Howard J. Weintraub

Average Rating

Based on 109 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HOWARD WEINTRAUB DID A GREAT JOB DEFENDING MY SON IN THREE SEPARATE CASES

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Howard Weintraub to anyone in need of a great criminal defense lawyer. Howard Weintraub defended my son in two separate DUI cases with excellent results in both cases. Most significantly, one of the cases was disposed of with Howard Weintraub resolving it in such a way that the DUI conviction is not reflected on my son’s permanent record. A year or so after the second DUI was resolved, my son got involved in a physical altercation with his then girlfriend. Howard Weintraub got the domestic violence matter dismissed. Importantly, Howard again was successful in having my son’s permanent record not reflect any arrest entry or disposition for the domestic violence allegation. Over the three years that Howard Weintraub has been representing my son, I feel as though he has taken my son under his care and Howard has treated my son as if he was Howard’s own child. Being a single parent, this was very important to me. I strongly stand behind the talents and dedication of Howard Weintraub and his staff. I strongly urge anyone needing a tenacious criminal defense lawyer to hire Howard Weintraub.

  2. DUI reduced to Reckless Driving - Thanks to Mr. Howard Weintraub and Mr. Ben Alper

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI in May 2012. I was a full refusal and did not blow into the breathalyzer. Mr Howard Weintraub and Mr Ben Alper represented me through the 3 month process and were able to reduce my charge to reckless driving. This was especially challenging because the prosecutor did not want to "award full refusals". Yet, after exposing flaws in the police report and working with the prosecution, my charge was reduced. I appreciated their honesty, availability, and diligence throughout the whole process. I would recommend this firm to anyone in a similar situation.

  3. THE BEST LAWYER EVER!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    HOWARD WEINTRAUB WAS FANTASTIC IN DEFENDING BOTH MY BROTHER AND ME IN OUR TWO FEDERAL CASES

    While I was employed as a desk clerk in a hotel, I sold to another person credit card information of the hotel customers. I was indicted for this crime and charged in federal court. Several years ago, my brother had gotten into similar financial fraud trouble and he hired attorney Howard Weintraub to defend him in his federal prosecution. Mr. Weintraub obtained a fantastic result for my brother so my family and I again turned to Mr. Weintraub to represent me in my federal case. Mr. Weintraub and his associate Benjamin Alper did a phenomenal job representing me. Under the federal sentencing guidelines I was facing almost two years in prison and Mr. Weintraub got me a sentence of straight probation, with no home confinement or any other form of incarceration.
    Howard Weintraub saved my brother several years ago and he now again has saved me. Through the efforts of Mr. Weintraub and Mr. Alper I can now begin my new bakery business and I can move forward with my life. I thank God for directing my brother and me to Howard Weintraub. God answered our prayers for delivering to us an attorney who could help us. My brother and I both strongly recommend Howard Weintraub and Ben Alper to any person who needs brilliant, hard fighting criminal defense lawyers, who are totally dedicated to their clients.

  4. Highly recommend

    Posted by Jeff, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    HOWARD WEINTRAUB AND BEN ALPER HELPED MY SON IN HIS TWO SIMULTANEOUS DUI CASES AND THEY ARE GREAT CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS

    ​My 21 year old son was arrested for a DUI that also involved an accident. I was referred to attorney Howard Weintraub to represent my son. Unfortunately, within a few months of this DUI and while Howard and his associate Benjamin Alper were working on their strategy of defending the DUI, my son was arrested for another DUI that also involved an accident. To make matters even worse, my son was arrested for both of these DUI’s by the same police officer! Howard and Ben implemented a trial strategy that resulted in one of the DUI cases being dismissed. Howard and Ben worked relentlessly in negotiating with the prosecutors. My son received a very favorable disposition and he was able to continue to drive to school and to drive to work. Not only did Howard and Ben act as my legal advisors but they both personally became involved in seeing that my son underwent appropriate alcohol dependency treatment.
    ​As a father who was very much concerned about my son’s cases and future, on many occasions I would seek Howard’s advice by calling his law office as early as 7:00 a.m., leaving messages with his answering service to please have Howard call me back after the office had opened. On every such occasion, including weekends and holidays, Howard would call me back within five minutes of my call to his answering service and I never had to wait for hours until after the office would open for me to hear from Howard. Similarly, if I called late in the evening after the office was closed, Howard would promptly return my call. From what I have heard from other parents with children who have gotten into trouble, they never received such courteous and hands-on treatment from their attorneys.
    ​Howard and Ben went beyond what I had hoped for in my attorneys. If you are in need of caring, dedicated and highly talented attorneys to defend you or a family member charged with any criminal offense, I highly recommend Howard Weintraub and Benjamin Alper to be your attorneys. Trust me, you will have made the best decision when you hire The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub.

  5. The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub Saved Me Twice!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    “In 2007 I was arrested for DUI in Atlanta. I hired Howard Weintraub to represent me in my case. Without making any promises that my case would be won, Howard was able to have my DUI dismissed: no conviction, no jail, no fine, no loss of license. Howard did a phenomenal job defending me. Four years later I was arrested in Middle Georgia and charged with possessing drugs with the intent to distribute. Again, Howard and his associate, Ben Alper, came to my rescue. Again, without making any promises that my case would be won Howard and Ben were able to have my drug charges dismissed: no conviction, no jail, and no fine. Thanks to The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. I do not have a criminal record and I have kept my freedom from being incarcerated. I highly recommend Howard Weintraub to anyone who needs a great criminal defense lawyer.”

  6. Howard Weintraub and Ben Alpert are Exceptional White Collar Defenders

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called Howard after receiving a call from the FBI informing me that they wanted to come in and talk about possible felony charges to be levied against me. I was scared to death. I called 2 other potential attorneys but after talking to Howard for about 15 minutes on the phone I was convinced that he was the attorney I wanted representing me going forward. Howard  gave me the assurances that I needed to hear. I was emotionally a wreck.
        I scheduled a meeting with Howard and from the moment I walked into his office I felt at ease. I knew I had made the right choice. Debbie was upfront to greet me and made me feel comfortable in telling me that no one in Howard's office would cast judgement on me and this made me feel like I could be totally honest with Howard and his associate. When I met Howard and Ben they listened to me talk about my situation and how upset and confused I was. They were very honest, compassionate, understanding and treated me with the utmost integrity. We talked about what we would need to do going forward and the options that might be forthcoming. We had several meetings after that as my legal situation took over two years to resolve. Howard and his team we there with me every step of the way.  I am convinced that there is no way that I could have got through this without Howard and his staff.
          Howard and Ben worked out a plea agreement with the U. S. Attorneys office that I believe was fair to each party. I am currently awaiting for my date to surrender myself to the federal prison system but I am ok with that today and a lot of that had to do with the fact that I know in my heart and head that had it not been for Howard and his team that I would be preparing for a much , much longer prison term.
       Not sure how many times that I can say thank you to Howard and his staff but I need to say it again and would highly recommend Howard and his staff for anyone needing legal representation. You will be hiring people who are the best.  

  7. Truly Compassionate and Dedicated

    Posted by Carlos, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Due to a brutal addiction to alcohol and prescription sedatives, I found myself in a tricky legal situation earlier this year. Retaining Howard J. Weintraub as my attorney was by far the best decision I made -not only because of my hearing's outcome, but because of Mr. Weintraub's concern and dedication for my well being.

    He always treated me with dignity and respect. Whenever I had concerns or anxieties, Mr. Weintraub was always quick to answer my questions in a reassuring and honest fashion. He kept me informed and I always felt "in the loop."

    I never felt like I was "just another client," and always felt as if Mr. Weintraub gave my case the attention and dedication I felt it deserved. I personally know that he worked long hours on my hearing, even preparing for it on evenings and Sunday mornings.

    Fortunately, my hearing concluded with a favorable outcome. Mr. Weintraub, however, wasn't merely concerned with my legal problems. Rather, he was deeply interested that I seek help for my addiction issues. He asked that I choose a treatment center that I felt comfortable with. Mr. Weintraub then persuaded both my probation officer and judge to let me complete treatment and said center, rather than sentence me to further incarceration. Since my court date, he has remained in contact with me and my family in order to check up on my progress.

    I am currently a member of Alcoholics Anonymous and am working the program's 12 steps with a sponsor. I am receiving a quality of care that is above par to any that I have seen in other therapeutic communities. I am taking all of this very seriously, and am aware that my life's new direction is as a result of Mr. Weintraub's iron clad work ethic. Not only has he been an amazing attorney. He's turned out to be a confidant and friend as well.

    Because of these reasons, I whole heartedly recommend his services to anybody needing legal representation.

  8. An Exceptional trusted advisor and defender

    Posted by a Arbitration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Arbitration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I initially contacted Mr. Weintraub after reviewing the ratings of other attorneys in this area. This was the first experience for my teenage son, who was charged as a minor in possession, with an open container. What a surreal experience, when I was called by my son at 3am in the morning. I called Mr. Weintraub's office later that morning and by the afternoon both my son and I were coached with advise on the legal process, alternatives, reasonable expectations and the possible outcomes. Mr. Weintraub and his legal staff provided a calming effect by explaining the process in layman terms, but I also observed how efficiently Mr. Weintraub executed his legal skills and diplomacy in the courtroon, with the solicitor and speaking with the judge. We are on track to have this matter resolved with a very positive outcome and my son has also learned a lot through this process in terms of how the legal system works. The discussions between Mr. Weintraub and my son have provided a learning experience my son will will definitely remember and appreciate in the future. Mr. Weintraub and his legal staff have gone above and beyond my expectations as both a defense lawyer and an individual who is interested in my son understanding and respect for the legal system. I highly recommend Mr. Weintraub and his legal team without hesitation.

  9. Honest, Respectful, Professional, and Best in Defense.

    Posted by Brian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend the Law Office of Howard Weintraub to anyone desiring the best criminal law defense. In my dealings with the law office, I always was treated with the utmost respect. Phone calls and e-mail communications were returned 99% of the time within 24 hours or less. Howard did not make extravagant promises about the case; however, he came through with the exact plan he proposed and my charges were dismissed.
    My experience with being arrested for domestic violence is not dissimilar to others I have read about. The law enforcement officers did the best they could to keep the peace, but sometimes they get the wrong people. The media did not help anyone involved. Howard saw through this and designed a defense to secure my good name and character.
    I still proudly serve my country, and I am working on my Masters degree with a 3.9 GPA. I honestly believe that without Howard's help I could be experiencing lesser freedoms. I am glad I found Howard Weintraub on AVVO.com. If you need an attorney, I highly recommend the Law Office of Howard Weintraub.

  10. Howard Weintraub - Best Attorney in Atlanta

    Posted by Edward, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Attorneys on various Civil and Criminal issues in the past and Howard Weintraub is without a doubt, a class above the rest. In my most recent situation, Howard was asked to take over a criminal case from another attorney, who's strategy was to wait for the judicial process to wind down to the statute of limitations. This strategy resulted in Felony charges hanging on the Defendants record, blocking work and school opportunities. Howard's experience, knowledge and expertise lead the defense in a completely different direction, and the case was resolved in a timely manner and in favor of the defendant. In addition, Howard and his staff's efforts resulted in an expungement of the origional charges.
    Throughout the process Howard and his staff were completely candid and proactive involving the defendant and myself in every strategic decision and action.
    There are many attorneys to choose from, but there are few attorneys who can not only prepare a viable defense, but have the skill to present this defense in a logical, clear and persuasive way to the court.
    I believe Howard Weintraub is the best attorney I have ever worked with. I have recommended him to family and friends in the past, and will continue to do so in the future.

In most cases timing is crucial, and immediate action is often required. CALL NOW!

404-892-2000