Howard J. Weintraub’s Reviews

Howard J. Weintraub

Average Rating

Based on 104 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Defense Team - DUI/Possession

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested in February 2013 on suspicion of DUI and possession of Marijuana. I did not consent to a breathalyzer test when arrested.

    This not being the first time I had been arrested for DUI, I knew I had to find a great lawyer to defend my rights.

    I located Howarded via avvo.com and left a voicemail on a Sunday afternoon and he responded to my call within minutes. This was greatly reassuring that I had found the right lawyer as he and Ben always made themselves available when I had any questions or concerns. I met with Howard the following day at his office where he went through in great detail the facts and circumstances of my arrest. He was even familiar with the arresting officer. As far as cost goes, Howard let me know exactly the cost of your defense so there were no financial suprises throughout my case.

    I was able to continue driving prior to my court date as Howard and Ben were able to reach an agreement with the Officer at the administrative hearing. This was very important as I have to drive a good distance to get to and from work.

    When my day in court arrived Ben was able to reach a plea agreement with the prosecutor and reduced my DUI to wreckless driving. As this would have a 2nd DUI, Ben's negotiations may have saved my job and relieved a great strain on my marriage! I had to do 1 weekend in jail and 1 year of supervised probation, which I am gladly in the process of completing.

    I highly recommend Howard and Ben, who make a great legal team and made this proces as painless as possible!

  2. 2 Count Federal Felony Indictment DISMISSED!

    Posted by One grateful man, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Weintraub is an extremely talented, aggressive and compassionate attorney. My case started in 2007, and after 5 years of investigation by several different agencies I was indicted with a two count felony indictment by a Federal Grand Jury. To this day it still amazes me how Mr. Weintraub was able to convince the Government to dismiss the indictment in exchange for a misdemeanor plea. He even convinced the prosecution to recommend an unsupervised probation and allow me to travel outside the United States in order to continue to serve in the US military. My case originated in Iraq during the peak of the war and the Military has been aggressively pursuing prosecutions and convictions regardless of the facts. If I had been convicted of any felony it would have ended my 13 year career, but Mr. Weintraub was adamant that he wasn’t going to let the Government do that to me without a fight. When I was searching for attorneys in the Atlanta area I read several posts about Mr. Weintraub on this site and I was leery of the truthfulness behind the situations, but I’m living proof that this man will leave no stone unturned and will fight your case with relentless aggressiveness. Not only did I get my life back, but I gained a friend for life and I highly encourage you to look no further because no one is going to fight for your freedom like Mr. Weintraub.

  3. Hope in Jehovah Nissi

    Posted by tamahlah, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Weintraub was uncommonly generous and compassionate in council,and this is after he was aware that I couldn't afford him....encouraged in albany

  4. Absolutely Fantastic Attorney

    Posted by CCM, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    In life, it doesn't matter if you are competent, wealthy, healthy, or if you have opportunities when you are not lucky. In my life, fortunately, I could count on luck many times and one of those times was when I was referred to Howard Weintraub and his team, Debbie and Ben. After that I didn't need to worry about any of my problems, they were all solved! Howard is a fantastic criminal attorney with much experience in all levels. He is not intimidated by anyone, any judge. Not only is he there to take care of you, Debbie and Ben are there for you as well. Debbie is incredibly
    good also and will assist you with all legal and emotional support needed. She will make sure you will do and provide all documents necessary for your case and even after, if you end on probation or some kind of agreement that you made in court, she will help and make sure you did everything correct and on time until you accomplished all the steps and close your case. Ben is
    also a fantastic attorney, still young, but he has Howard leading him and giving him all his experience which gives you another fact you don't have anywhere, you have Howard two times. Another fact that makes Howard Weintraub Law Office the best, is that they are independent, so you are not "dealing" with a corporate office treating you like "a number" and charging
    you to "walk inside their own office, with Howard you know at the first meeting how much will be the cost, how long will probably take to resolve your case and a "good guess" of how it will end. Believe me, it happens exactly as you are told, no less, no more, no BS. Another fact that is very
    important to me, no matter if it's day or night, you need Howard, you have Howard. My wife called him once, when I had a situation, and left him a message
    at the office around 11pm on a holiday. Guess what? Howard called her in
    less then 5 minutes and, before anything, he spent a good amount of minutes calming her down, understanding what happened and began preparing to take action to provide the best assistance I needed. Where could I have the same? I don't know...

    Today Howard, Debbie and Ben became my friends, more than that, they are
    like family. As the best professionals I know here, if I need them, they
    will be there again taking care of their client.

  5. The best possible outcome

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My wife and I engaged Howard and his partner Ben to defend our adult son who had been charged with two felony counts as a result of a bar fight. Our son was not the assailant, but police charged him nevertheless because the other party was injured (as a result of his own actions). Conflicting witness testimony complicated our son's defense. The Assistant DA was insistent upon jail time (with multiple years required to be served!), but Howard was able to negotiate a plea that resulted in probation requiring weekends on home confinement and community service--far preferable to rolling the dice before a jury, given the conflicting witnesses. As a first offender, our son's record will be expunged of this charge upon the successful completion of his probation.

  6. HOWARD WEINTRAUB DID A GREAT JOB DEFENDING MY SON IN THREE SEPARATE CASES

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Howard Weintraub to anyone in need of a great criminal defense lawyer. Howard Weintraub defended my son in two separate DUI cases with excellent results in both cases. Most significantly, one of the cases was disposed of with Howard Weintraub resolving it in such a way that the DUI conviction is not reflected on my son’s permanent record. A year or so after the second DUI was resolved, my son got involved in a physical altercation with his then girlfriend. Howard Weintraub got the domestic violence matter dismissed. Importantly, Howard again was successful in having my son’s permanent record not reflect any arrest entry or disposition for the domestic violence allegation. Over the three years that Howard Weintraub has been representing my son, I feel as though he has taken my son under his care and Howard has treated my son as if he was Howard’s own child. Being a single parent, this was very important to me. I strongly stand behind the talents and dedication of Howard Weintraub and his staff. I strongly urge anyone needing a tenacious criminal defense lawyer to hire Howard Weintraub.

  7. DUI reduced to Reckless Driving - Thanks to Mr. Howard Weintraub and Mr. Ben Alper

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI in May 2012. I was a full refusal and did not blow into the breathalyzer. Mr Howard Weintraub and Mr Ben Alper represented me through the 3 month process and were able to reduce my charge to reckless driving. This was especially challenging because the prosecutor did not want to "award full refusals". Yet, after exposing flaws in the police report and working with the prosecution, my charge was reduced. I appreciated their honesty, availability, and diligence throughout the whole process. I would recommend this firm to anyone in a similar situation.

  8. THE BEST LAWYER EVER!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    HOWARD WEINTRAUB WAS FANTASTIC IN DEFENDING BOTH MY BROTHER AND ME IN OUR TWO FEDERAL CASES

    While I was employed as a desk clerk in a hotel, I sold to another person credit card information of the hotel customers. I was indicted for this crime and charged in federal court. Several years ago, my brother had gotten into similar financial fraud trouble and he hired attorney Howard Weintraub to defend him in his federal prosecution. Mr. Weintraub obtained a fantastic result for my brother so my family and I again turned to Mr. Weintraub to represent me in my federal case. Mr. Weintraub and his associate Benjamin Alper did a phenomenal job representing me. Under the federal sentencing guidelines I was facing almost two years in prison and Mr. Weintraub got me a sentence of straight probation, with no home confinement or any other form of incarceration.
    Howard Weintraub saved my brother several years ago and he now again has saved me. Through the efforts of Mr. Weintraub and Mr. Alper I can now begin my new bakery business and I can move forward with my life. I thank God for directing my brother and me to Howard Weintraub. God answered our prayers for delivering to us an attorney who could help us. My brother and I both strongly recommend Howard Weintraub and Ben Alper to any person who needs brilliant, hard fighting criminal defense lawyers, who are totally dedicated to their clients.

  9. Highly recommend

    Posted by Jeff, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    HOWARD WEINTRAUB AND BEN ALPER HELPED MY SON IN HIS TWO SIMULTANEOUS DUI CASES AND THEY ARE GREAT CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS

    ​My 21 year old son was arrested for a DUI that also involved an accident. I was referred to attorney Howard Weintraub to represent my son. Unfortunately, within a few months of this DUI and while Howard and his associate Benjamin Alper were working on their strategy of defending the DUI, my son was arrested for another DUI that also involved an accident. To make matters even worse, my son was arrested for both of these DUI’s by the same police officer! Howard and Ben implemented a trial strategy that resulted in one of the DUI cases being dismissed. Howard and Ben worked relentlessly in negotiating with the prosecutors. My son received a very favorable disposition and he was able to continue to drive to school and to drive to work. Not only did Howard and Ben act as my legal advisors but they both personally became involved in seeing that my son underwent appropriate alcohol dependency treatment.
    ​As a father who was very much concerned about my son’s cases and future, on many occasions I would seek Howard’s advice by calling his law office as early as 7:00 a.m., leaving messages with his answering service to please have Howard call me back after the office had opened. On every such occasion, including weekends and holidays, Howard would call me back within five minutes of my call to his answering service and I never had to wait for hours until after the office would open for me to hear from Howard. Similarly, if I called late in the evening after the office was closed, Howard would promptly return my call. From what I have heard from other parents with children who have gotten into trouble, they never received such courteous and hands-on treatment from their attorneys.
    ​Howard and Ben went beyond what I had hoped for in my attorneys. If you are in need of caring, dedicated and highly talented attorneys to defend you or a family member charged with any criminal offense, I highly recommend Howard Weintraub and Benjamin Alper to be your attorneys. Trust me, you will have made the best decision when you hire The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub.

  10. The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub Saved Me Twice!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    “In 2007 I was arrested for DUI in Atlanta. I hired Howard Weintraub to represent me in my case. Without making any promises that my case would be won, Howard was able to have my DUI dismissed: no conviction, no jail, no fine, no loss of license. Howard did a phenomenal job defending me. Four years later I was arrested in Middle Georgia and charged with possessing drugs with the intent to distribute. Again, Howard and his associate, Ben Alper, came to my rescue. Again, without making any promises that my case would be won Howard and Ben were able to have my drug charges dismissed: no conviction, no jail, and no fine. Thanks to The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. I do not have a criminal record and I have kept my freedom from being incarcerated. I highly recommend Howard Weintraub to anyone who needs a great criminal defense lawyer.”

In most cases timing is crucial, and immediate action is often required. CALL NOW!

404-892-2000