Howard J. Weintraub’s Reviews

Howard J. Weintraub

Average Rating

Based on 107 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Weintraub is a very kind and super federal defense lawyer !!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-6 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was indicted on some Federal charges. I wish to not reveal the specifics since the case is ongoing. I found Mr. Howard Weintraub on the AVVO site. I called him and he met me in his office on a Sunday !! I had to wait 2 months for my family to accumulate the funds to retain him and he still called me and always accepted my calls even though he had not been paid yet. He must have spent over 25 hours talking to me about my case not even knowing if he could be retained !! He has been very understanding and very kind as well as extremely knowledgeable about complicated rules & cases of Federal law...
    I just can not say enough good things about this lawyer's care & dedication for his clients. I would then have to write a short book about his great & humane qualities. He has now been officially retained by my family. The case is serious and I have been very worried and upset that these charges are unfair because other people in my past committed the actual crimes. I have been accused of alleged conspiracy among other crimes.
    I have complete FAITH that Mr. Howard Weintraub will spare no effort and will spend incredible amounts of time & energy to gain either dismissal or acquittal of my case.
    This is a rare super-lawyer in today's world because of his intelligence & dedication and his amazing ability to be reached at any time of the day. He always keeps me informed and I can reach him on his personal cell phone !!!
    You should NEVER get in legal trouble with the Federal Govt. !!! However if you get in any kind of local or federal legal trouble, then RUN to his office and get him on the case ASAP !!! He is worth every dollar and even more valuable in his human qualities.
    I highly recommend him and I am very THANKFUL that he is my attorney right now...

  2. Fraud Case

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Fraud matter.

     

    “HOWARD WEINTRAUB AND BENJAMIN ALPER ARE FANTASTIC CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS

     

    I have been charged in two Georgia Superior Courts with felony fraud prosecutions. I retained The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. and the firm's team of accomplished Atlanta criminal defense lawyers Howard Jarrett Weintraub and Benjamin Black Alper. As to my felony prosecution of income tax evasion, my attorneys convinced the prosecutor to dismiss my case! As to my other fraud case, that case is still ongoing but I know that I am in the best hands I can ever have prayed for. These attorneys are very compassionate, are always available to discuss my two cases (now the remaining one case) with my parents and me, and are completely dedicated to do their very best for their clients. If you need great criminal defense lawyers I strongly urge you to hire Howard

  3. “HOWARD JARRETT WEINTRAUB AND BENJAMIN BLACK ALPER SAVED ME FROM A LONG PRISON SENTENCE!

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • Howard handled my White Collar Crime matter.

    A few years ago I was in dire financial straits and made terrible decision to defraud my employer of several hundreds of thousands of dollars. Having never been in trouble previously, I now found myself being prosecuted by the State of Georgia Attorney General’s Office. Luckily, while I was in jail, my mother contacted The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. and attorneys Howard Weintraub and Benjamin Alper. As soon as they were on the case, they came out to see me and worked quickly to get me out of jail on bond.

    I reviewed online similar cases to my own and realized that similar defendants were getting as much as 15 years in prison for the same type of crimes that I was charged with. Howard and Ben worked tirelessly to review all of the evidence in my case and keep me informed as to what was going on. After long and repeated negotiations with the Assistant Attorney General prosecuting my case, Howard and Ben were able to get me a sentence of only 4 years in prison. They even convinced the Judge to let me stay out of jail FOR A WHOLE YEAR before serving my sentence so that I could take care of my children. I couldn’t believe it! I am so grateful to Howard and Ben! They are two amazing attorneys that will go the extra mile to help out their clients.”

  4. THE TEAM OF ATTORNEYS HOWARD JARRETT WEINTRAUB AND BENJAMIN BLACK ALPER SAVED MY LIFE

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.

    Attorneys Howard Jarrett Weintraub and Benjamin Black Alper saved my life. In 2012, I had made a terribly stupid decision with another person to distribute kilograms of cocaine. Before this extremely foolish decision I had never been in trouble. In fact, the only violation I had ever done was running a stop sign. At the time I decided to distribute cocaine I was employed by the United States Postal Service as a mailman. The way the cocaine was to be transported to Georgia was to have my drug trafficking partner ship the cocaine from California in packages addressed to fictiously named persons at genuine home addresses on my mail route. The plan was that I would see the packages in my mail delivery bin and I would retrieve the packages before I left the post office building for my daily delivery of the mail and I would at the end of my work shift hand deliver the packages to the other person in Georgia.

    In 2012 I was arrested by federal law enforcement officials. Somehow my granmother through her prayers to God, guided me to Attorney Howard Jarrett Weintraub and Attorney Benjamin Black Alper. When I first met with Attorneys Weintraub and Alper, part of our discussion included my attorneys advising me that under the United States Sentencing Guidelines and the criminal federal drug statutes I was looking at a mandatory minimum sentence of 60 months and a possible maximum sentence of 97 months. Under the brilliant and vigorously fought representation by Attorney Weintraub and Attorney Alper, where my attorneys won all three of their critically important objections to the Presentence Investigation Report, I was sentenced to just 12 months and 1 day in prison! This meant that I would serve no more than 10 months and 7 days of incarceration!

    If anyone had told me when I got arrested that instead of a maximum of 97 months Attorneys Weintraub and Alper would get me a sentence of only 10 months and 7 days I would think they were out of their mind. Now, I am telling anyone who needs a great criminal defense team that if you are charged with any federal or state criminal offense you must hire Attorney Howard Jarrett Weintraub and Attorney Benjamin Black Alper. They are miracle workers who really saved my life and I am confident they would do the same for anyone else facing a criminal prosecution.

    Thank you Howard and Ben! God bless the both of you!

  5. First Offense DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I remain delighted to have had Mr. Weintraub and Mr. Alper represent me in my DUI case. Not only are they both clever and caring, I deeply admire them for their candidness. These two were a breeze work with. They are communicative, dependable, and each possesses the ability to put anyone at ease during the most taxing of times.

    From the start, they spent an immeasurable amount of time and effort on my case and offered me nothing short of the best advice for a person in my position: advice of which would later make a great impression on the judge and offer me the best possible outcome, given the circumstances. I am grateful I chose them to perform on my behalf and would highly recommend them to anyone in need of legal representation.

  6. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Robin, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.

    Howard is an amazing lawyer. We've been dealing with our particular legal issue for years. After it was mishandled by previous attorneys, we finally came to Howard's office in very dire circumstances that required fast, aggressive, and thorough action. He delivered on all of these and more. Our case seemed hopeless and even making bail seemed like an impossibility. It felt like we had been thrown around by the prosecution and had no recourse whatsoever but Howard really knew his way around the drug charges that we were faced with. The prosecution had over a year from when they started acquiring evidence and building a case against my family. but Howard built a stronger case for the bond hearing within less than a week. The prosecution initially moved to deny bail for my family on the basis of their allegedly "strong" evidence but Howard was able to build a remarkably stronger argument within a few days of even being on the case. He was able to get my family members out on bail- which felt like a huge victory in light of how hopeless things were before we hired him. It's reassuring to know that he is on our side and we see this perpetual legal battle finally drawing to a close because of it. He’s a brilliant man and a hard worker that gets the job done.

  7. He really cares!!

    Posted by Chad, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.

    I have a federal case still ongoing that started in 2009. I contacted Howard for the first time on a Saturday night, he was driving back from SC, he spent two hours with me on the phone LISTENING to my story. He met me the next day with Ben in his office on Sunday. Since that weekend he has been with me every step of the way. From my personal experience I can tell you both Howard and Ben will go above and beyond the norm in order to defend you. I recently had a two day hearing and was so proud to say Howard and Ben were my Lawyers. They are not intimidated by the Government attorneys nor their expert witnesses. Bottom line they will fight for you like you were family! I speak to Howard quite frequently on the phone, not just about my case but about life, family etc.. Again he cares! So to sum it it up, I am proud I am being represented by Howard and Ben and no matter how my case ends up I will know They did everything they could to help me and my family! I would recommend them 100% not just because they are good! but because they care.

  8. Howard and his team are THE gold standard.

    Posted by Grant,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.

    It is both frightening and infuriating when the government decides, without any proof, that they WANT you to be guilty. It is at this point that the difference between a highly skilled attorney and one who just practices law becomes patently apparent and critical.

    That said, Howard and his team are amazing. From the moment Howard was called, he hit the ground running and has never let up (the case is still ongoing). He handles many cases simultaneously (as any successful firm would), but this would never be known from the high level of attention and responsiveness he exhibits. There is never a problem getting in contact with him. If he is unavailable, he returns calls as soon as he can. In regards to his skill as a defense attorney, I could spend all day talking about it. Instead, I'll say this: he and his team only had this case for a few days at the time of the bond hearing. During that hearing, he mounted a defense so thorough, air-tight, and effective that the lead prosecutor got up and said "I'm confused", shortly followed by "everything he said is correct". She then proceeded to fumble her words as she simply couldn't do/say anything to counter Howard's skill. Needless to say, Howard amazed everyone in the courtroom that day (much to the prosecutor's chagrin).


    The long and short of it is this: Howard and his team are prodigiously talented. To an equal extent, he truly cares about the freedom and rights of his clients and defends them with nothing less than his all. If ever one finds themselves in legal trouble, calling Howard parallels closing your eyes when you sneeze: it should happen without a second thought.

  9. Howard Weintraub was God sent

    Posted by DON, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was locked up with a mountain of false accusations . My retained attorneys were playing games.
    My children linked with Howard, explained everything to him. He saw the entire picture, understood what was going on and worked with my family. He had me released on bond. He accomplished more in three days than my previous retained attorneys did in an entire year. It feels great to have an attorney who believes you. I will gladly recommend to anybody that needs a good attorney.

  10. Simply Amazing

    Posted by Stanley, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Weintraub.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Federal Crime matter.

    We have worked with several lawyers in the past but none of them even compare to what Howard has done. When we happened upon him we were in a very precarious situation to say the least, and we were very pressed for time.

    1) Howard, before we even working with him officially, sat us down went over the circumstances so that we were informed of everything that was even going on. From my experience that almost never happens.

    3) A lot of lawyers will do this thing when they ,forgive my language, talk out of their ass about things they know nothing about, and try to make you feel their doing more than they are actually doing to justify their cost. Howard, if you ever meet him, is very upfront and honest with you,..no surprises...no talking sideways or seemingly hidden agendas and all he asks for, in this regard, as that you do the same with him. Honestly this was probably what made us feel the most at ease initially. You don't want to work with someone ,whose work can shape your future, to be wishy-washy or half baked.

    4) We knew things happened before our previous lawyer and "things happened" he was no where to be seen...we couldn't reach him for 5 or 6 hours at a time...He didn't do anything in the year that he'd been hired. There's nothing worse than needing some one you hired..and realizing that they aren't there. Howard on the other hand kept us up to date with all of the developments as they unfolded. and when he needed something we gave it to him asap. in short...He did more in 2 weeks...than any attorney did in the past year.

    6) In the courtroom he clearly puts his money where his mouth is.He does his due diligence and does not try to "promise you the world" or anything but I guarantee you this...you want this guy batting for you when it comes to legal affairs....I never once...in my life thought about having a " go to attorney" but He...might just be that guy. Sometimes when you pay an attorney it feels like you're pouring money down the drain but NOT with Howard...you;re definitely getting your money's worth...AND THEN SOME

In most cases timing is crucial, and immediate action is often required. CALL NOW!

404-892-2000