Benjamin Black Alper’s Reviews

Benjamin Black Alper

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Burglary Charges Dropped - No Record, No Probation, No First Offender

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with felony burglary. Benjamin Alper was able to get my charges completely dropped and my arrest expunged. There is zero trace of this crime on my record! No probation, no first offender. Benjamin Alper was able to convince the prosecutor to dismiss my case entirely! In addition to delivering the best possible outcome for my case, the Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub provided outstanding service. My calls were always answered or quickly returned. All of my questions were answered honestly and in terms I could understand, and I felt like my case was always important to my lawyer.

  2. Review for Ben

    Posted by Doug, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-6 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ben provided excellent service as my attorney. He responded to my questions via email or phone calls in a very timely manner (usually the same day). He also helped to ease some of the anxiety I felt going through my legal experience.

  3. Strong work !

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 6-12 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    the communication, response times, and ease of my case was quite exceptional. i was skeptial at first but after the first conversation my opinion had changed. Mr Alper was a tramedous help

  4. " My fiance was facing a 15 year federal sentence, Benjamin Black Alper and Howard Jarrett Weintraub got him 30 months"

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-6 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Over two years ago, my finance's home was searched by law enforment and they found a firearm in the home. Due to his prior convictions, my finace was eventually charged with being a felon in possesion of a firearm. I immediately began searching for the right attorneys to defend him and I am so grateful I found Howard and Ben. Howard And Ben immediately were able to begin helping me with my case. They realized right away that due to my fiances prior convictions, he was looking at what was a potential madatory minimum sentence of fifteen years. I could not believe my fiance was facing such a harsh reality if he was convicted. Howard and Ben filed numerous motions challenging the search of my fiance's home. When the first judge disagreed with them following a hearing, Howard and Ben appealed that decision and got the first Judge reversed and us a new hearit ngbefore the second hearing the procesutor disclosed lots of information that should have been turned over months before. Howard and Ben filed so many motions they practically buried the govenment procesuter in paper.! . Finally , we reached a resolution where my fiance was sentenced to only 30 months. To go from looking at a mandatory 180 months to only 30 months sentence was truley remarkable. My finace will be home by Christmas and it is all thanks to the hard work and dedication of Howard and Ben. If you need a criminal defense attorney that will fight the government every step of the way, then you need to hire Howard and Ben!

  5. Very Knowledgeable and Caring

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 6-12 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Benjamin Alper is a great attorney. He was always determined in our case and never gave up. Always kept me informed. In the end, everything went well.

  6. The Only Law Firm You'll Ever Need!!!!

    Posted by Penny, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Howard Weintraub Law office is a great firm to have on your side. If you are EVER in the need of a Criminal Defense Attorney this is definitely with no doubt who you want! Howard and Ben are very knowledgeable. Howard is very personable but most of all very professional and I loved having him on my side. His knowledge of the law was very impressive and his resources seemed endless. I would and will recommend Howard Weintraub’s law firm to all my family and friends but most of all to anyone in the area in need of the best legal team on their side!
    All charges against me were dismissed due to Howard and Ben’s relentless pursuit of my case. I hope I never need to use an attorney again but if I do Howard Weintraub’s Law Office will be the first and only call I make! When I was arrested I felt so violated from being put in the position I was in, but with Howard and Ben’s superior knowledge of the law as well as their OUTSTANDING ability to vigorously argue in my defense the trial was over before it even started. The evidence was so strong against me; I even began to second guess myself.
    Lastly, Howard took away nearly all of the stress and fear that came with being charged with a crime. He was worth every penny because he kept me informed, never judged me.
    I have never trusted attorneys’ due to the fact I worked with them closely for 16 years. I have heard their “behind the door comments” about their clients. I have watched and heard them “play” with their cases that weren’t in the best interest of their clients. God directed my family to this firm after talking with multiple lawyers first. You will not go wrong with this firm!!! They treat you more like family and not like their client.

  7. Benjamin Black Alper helped me avoid misdemeanor theft charges entirely

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In 2013 I was wrongfully accused of misdemeanor theft by a former employer. I learned that the police were looking for me and contacted Ben Alper after reading glowing reviews of the Weintraub firm online.

    Howard Weintraub contacted me immediately after applying that night. He was out of town doing defense work in New York and assigned Ben to my case. Ben actually met with me on a holiday weekend in Atlanta at their office to go over my case. He attempted to contact the officer investigating my case and negotiate a deal where I would not have to submit to an arrest warrant, but the officer refused. Ben advised me to turned myself into the police ASAP and had an advocate monitor my situation and keep my family informed of my status as I was booked. I made bail and was released the next day. Previously to this experience, Howard and Ben were constantly calling me to make sure I was okay and advised me to the letter what to do or not do, what to say or not say, and apologized that the situation had gone that way. I felt like I had a great defense team in my corner and the jail experience, while not pleasant, was brief.

    Over the next six to seven months, Ben and I worked closely to gather evidence and affidavits from co-workers attesting to my innocence. Ben presented this evidence to the prosecution and convinced them to allow for Diversion, which allowed the case to be dropped without me making a plea or incurring any official charges. I completed an online shoplifting program, registered my normal volunteering as community service and paid a few small fees to the court and was let off with a nolle prosequi as part of the deal.

    I was left with an arrest on my record, but the agreement allowed for expungement of the arrest to happen automatically after I was processed out. At the end of the entire series of events, I walked away with no charges, no prison time and no trace of this event on my record. As Ben said, "It was like it never happened."

    I owe it to Ben for recommending this path to me, as he advised that it was the smartest move. I feel that was an accurate assessment. Overall, I was very pleased with the services, discussions and representation that Ben gave me. Whenever I had to make an appearance in court, Ben always managed to make the process as painless and quick as possible, which I am grateful for. No one who is innocent until proven guilty should have to spend hours in a court room while surrounded by strangers, and Ben prevented that from happening multiple times.

    Ben was always pleasant to talk to and seemed to actually care about my well-being. When I had a question about situations that extenuated from the chaos this situation caused me, he heard me out and offered advice and suggestions that helped me.

    For these reasons I recommend Ben Alper and the Weintraub Firm. They are willing to work with short notice and do their best to keep you safe in the initial, hectic times an unexpected criminal charge can bring. They follow through on the matter and will keep in touch with you even after their services are complete. You can't really ask for more.

  8. Benjamin Black Alper rocks! These guys sure know what to do.

    Posted by Frank, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-6 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    BENJAMIN BLACK ALPER working with Mr Howard Weintraub are more than lawyers, they are friends. They listened and they acted for us. These guys are workaholic, trustworthy and will go the extra mile to help you out of your situation. They sure will go the extra mile. Where there was no hope, they gave hope and acted promptly too in helping. They did the very best in our case and I couldn't just thank them enough for the outcome which could have gone terribly wrong if not for their superb handling of the whole case. The first lawyer we got in Atlanta gave up on us. Mr Howard Weintraub & BEN team stepped in and they did help. Just can't thank them enough! THANK YOU Ben. Thanks for all the legal advice and phone calls. You guys ROCK!..Thank you...Thank You!....Thank YOU!

  9. Fraud and Tax Evasion

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Fraud matter.

     

    “HOWARD WEINTRAUB AND BENJAMIN ALPER ARE FANTASTIC CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS

     

    I have been charged in two Georgia Superior Courts with felony fraud prosecutions. I retained The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. and the firm's team of accomplished Atlanta criminal defense lawyers Howard Jarrett Weintraub and Benjamin Black Alper. As to my felony prosecution of income tax evasion, my attorneys convinced the prosecutor to dismiss my case! As to my other fraud case, that case is still ongoing but I know that I am in the best hands I can ever have prayed for. These attorneys are very compassionate, are always available to discuss my two cases (now the remaining one case) with my parents and me, and are completely dedicated to do their very best for their clients. If you need great criminal defense lawyers I strongly urge you to hire Howard

  10. “HOWARD JARRETT WEINTRAUB AND BENJAMIN BLACK ALPER SAVED ME FROM A LONG PRISON SENTENCE!

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Alper.
    • Benjamin handled my White Collar Crime matter.

    A few years ago I was in dire financial straits and made terrible decision to defraud my employer of several hundreds of thousands of dollars. Having never been in trouble previously, I now found myself being prosecuted by the State of Georgia Attorney General’s Office. Luckily, while I was in jail, my mother contacted The Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub, P.C. and attorneys Howard Weintraub and Benjamin Alper. As soon as they were on the case, they came out to see me and worked quickly to get me out of jail on bond.

    I reviewed online similar cases to my own and realized that similar defendants were getting as much as 15 years in prison for the same type of crimes that I was charged with. Howard and Ben worked tirelessly to review all of the evidence in my case and keep me informed as to what was going on. After long and repeated negotiations with the Assistant Attorney General prosecuting my case, Howard and Ben were able to get me a sentence of only 4 years in prison. They even convinced the Judge to let me stay out of jail FOR A WHOLE YEAR before serving my sentence so that I could take care of my children. I couldn’t believe it! I am so grateful to Howard and Ben! They are two amazing attorneys that will go the extra mile to help out their clients.”