James Kenneth Sullivan’s Reviews

James Kenneth Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best DUI Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James K. Sullivan (aka "Skip") did an amazing job handling my DUI case. He kept me informed throughout the entire process, and was always willing to chat when he was available. My case was in progress for roughly two years, and no matter how long I went without contacting him he still remembered me and my case as if we had just spoken the day before. He also put together multiple strategies to fall back on, in case the one we went with worked out. I really did feel as though I could put my complete trust in his expertise, especially because he ALWAYS followed through on any motions, document submissions, etc. that we discussed and furnished me with a copy that included a stamp showing when the court received them. Though your mileage may vary, he was able to get my case thrown out completely in the end. I can honestly say my life could be much, much different had I not chosen Skip to be my attorney. I strongly recommend you do the same.

  2. Responsive and Well-Versed - Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Skip answered my call in the wee hours of the morning, and from that point on was nothing but responsive, professional and proactive in the proceeding legal matters. I really appreciated everything he did, and was extremely thankful for his savvy advice and quick action. His knowledge of the law pairs well with his practical experience, making him a calming and confident asset for those he represents.

  3. Extremely Professional and Knowledgeable

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was arrested for DUI and was able to get a lawyer very quickly but he didn't support me or calm my anxiety or answer my questions. A friend referred me to the Chestney Law Firm and after my first meeting with Skip, I felt better immediately. He was extremely knowledgeable about the law and was patient and attentive. I quickly changed lawyers to Skip and that night was the first night I was able to sleep! Skip was able to get the charges changed to reckless driving and I am so thankful I used him. Skip and the staff at Chestney Law Firm are all superior!

  4. Excellent Lawyer!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Skip did an amazing job handling my case and providing support throughout the process. I had never been in trouble before and with his guidance I was able to maintain a record free of a DUI. He was able to have the DUI charges dropped and I was only charged with a traffic violation. It was the best result for me and what I could have asked for!

  5. Case Dismissed

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If anyone is the Atlanta area get arrested for DUI, I highly recommend they contact James "Skip" Sullivan at the Chestney Law Firm. Skip is very experienced and listens well to his clients. I believe he can help you obtain the most favorable disposition to your case regardless of the circumstances. In my own case, Skip got a full dismissal of the DUI charges. I also received a speeding ticket which Skip was able to get reduced to a non-reportable moving violation.

  6. Atlanta's Best Attorney--Highly Recommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After being charged with DUI and 2 other traffic violations, I believed that I was innocent of the DUI and was the victim of an over zealous cop so I found and hired James "Skip" Sullivan at the Chestney Law Firm to defend my case. Over the course of almost 2.5 years, Skip Sullivan made several court appearances on my behalf and kept me well informed. He pretty much shared from day one, the chances of getting a dismissal for my case were very great. He is experienced, knowledgeable and had a strategy and game plan to achieve the desired results- a dismissal. Even though, I was terrified and had tremendous anguish with this whole matter hanging over my head, Skip was understanding and confident and was successful in getting a NOT GUILTY on the DUI and 1 traffic violation! I highly recommend Skip Sullivan and the Chestney Law Firm for anyone finding themselves in such a terrifying situation. He is the best and I will always be grateful for his assistance and expertise..with a squeaky clean record before this ordeal, I really felt like I got my life back..I can't thank Skip and the firm enough!

  7. Great lawyer, very knowledgeable

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Several years ago, I got into some trouble which was compounded by malicious and unsupported prosecution by the State. Mr. Sullivan was able to come in, identify key flaws in the prosecution’s case and negotiate for a result which both sides could accept under difficult circumstances. I appreciated Mr. Sullivan’s extensive history in working cases like this. His many years of experience was apparent when he would prepare us for the proceedings that were going to happen, and he even was able to provide some insight into how certain judges would conclude. Mr. Sullivan displayed a detailed and almost encyclopedic knowledge of various aspects of Georgia law and basically saved my career and my family. I would highly recommend the services of Mr. Sullivan.

  8. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Don, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James “Skip” Sullivan
    In certain times during your life the need for expertise you do not possess arises. It was my need for this expertise with a matter that involved an accusation of a DUI that led me to the Chestney Law firm. What I experienced during this process is that you truly get what you pay for. James “Skip” Sullivan was not my first attorney. My first attorney was happy to take a fee and suggest we delay the inevitable. After a year with that strategy I decided to look around and contacted the Chestney Law Firm. There I met with Skip; his suggestion that we had a good case and we fight was what I had hoped for from the beginning. Now like any good client I emailed my own research to Skip and he dutifully noted that he was aware of my findings already. It was like looking up on WebMD and trying to teach your doctor about medicine. After the usual delays and countless sleepless nights on the seriousness of the matter that loomed before me we ended up in court. In less than 30 minutes, a very experienced Prosecuting Attorney and a very experienced police officer were satisfied that the best they were going to get was a reduced sentence to a moving violation. No DUI, no loss of license, no SR22 insurance and no embarrassing issues that can come from this kind of a conviction. I was very satisfied that justice was served not that I had beat the system. There are certain things that you look for bargains in, this is one where you invest in the best experience you can find. I would recommend the Chestney Law firm and particularly I would recommend James “Skip” Sullivan as an expert in his field and a great investment

  9. Skip is a great attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Skip managed to get a great result for me on my DUI case. He's very professional, knowledgeable, and easy to work with. His success in my case makes me glad to know he was on my side and I would highly recommend his services.

  10. DUI Savior

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sullivan was referred to me by a close family friend after I was charged with a DUI. I met with him and he was nothing but professional and understanding of my situation. I am a young adult and did not want this on my record for the rest of my life. Mr. Sullivan was an amazing attorney and got all DUI charges dropped. I simply have to pay a fine and do a few required classes and community service. I would recommend him to anyone that is in this situation.