Woodrow Scott Smith’s Reviews

Woodrow Scott Smith

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best of the best

    Posted by Mark B, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott and his Staff are the best. They are very proffesional, trustworthy, and everyone in their office are capable and a joy to deal with . I highly recommend, this team of talented Attorneys. I was fortunate to have them recommended, by another Highly regarded Attorney in the Atlanta area. Trust me Scott KNOWS what he is doing and is very good at it.

  2. My review

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott Smith is a fantastic lawyer.
    He is a fantastic lawyer with a fantastic staff.
    For anyone who has ever been involved in the kind of trouble I was in (DUI), it really is a terrifying experience. Scott smith and his staff helped me immensely through this experience.
    It is a very intimidating thing to be arrested for DUI. These guys kept me informed about exactly what was going on at every possible juncture of my case.
    They fought for me, diligently, for three years leading up to my court date.
    They stayed in touch with me for three years leading up to my court date.
    They explained everything to me in terms I could understand, which, to be honest, was huge for me.
    The legal world is, for the average citizen, a terribly unfamiliar experience. Legal jargon alone is a foreign language.
    Scott and his staff acted as my translators.
    There is always a certain fear amongst the people who find themselves in the position to hire a criminal lawyer. That fear is that this person is going to simply take advantage of you. The fear is that this person is going to take your money, and act confident, and eventually throw you to the wolves. Scott and his staff made it evident to me early that this was not the case.
    Scott Smith ultimately won my case. That being said, even if there had been a different outcome, this review would be no different.
    I cannot stress enough that this man and his staff always kept me in the picture, that they always explained everything to me (in terms I could understand).
    There is a reason that lawyers go to school for as long as they do. Becoming a lawyer is no easy task. To be honest, it is not a task that most could undertake.
    Scott and his staff always practiced with the highest possible ethics, and with the highest possible understanding of my situation.
    The difference between having Scott as your council and having an average lawyer is the difference between having a doctor who is actually willing to explore every avenue in an effort to help you, and having a doctor who is simply cashing a big paycheck.
    It is the difference between having a doctor who lets you understand what is going on, and one who does not.
    It is the difference between having a doctor you can trust, and having a doctor that you cannot even understand.
    If you are to find yourself, or your family, in the same position that I was in, take the time to at least interview Scott for the job.
    Thank you Scott,
    Thank you Daniel,
    Thank you Julie.

  3. Definitely recommend ScottC

    Posted by Christa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would absolutely recommend Scott to any person, friend or family member. He and his staff were attentive to my needs and I feel he definitely had my best interest at heart.

  4. Satisfation guaranteed!

    Posted by Laurie W., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am very pleased to give my highest recommendation for Attorney W.Scott Smith. He has demonstrated extraordinary diligence and perseverance. Including negotiating a successful resolution for my case. It has been a pleasure working with Attorney W.Scott Smith as well as his staff through out this experience.

  5. Overall: Quality service

    Posted by Vincent, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    W. Scott Smith and his staff were very helpful in clearing me of all my charges. They handled my case with the utmost professionalism and kept me pretty well informed as to my month to month trial status. W. Scott Smith is a highly motivated, compassionate, and well versed in the intricacies of the law. I would most definantly recommend W.Scott Smith to anyone needing an excellent attorney.

  6. NOT Guilty! DUI Jury Trial

    Posted by jc, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great Job! - I was found not guilty after a 3 day jury trial. What sets Scott apart is his knowledge of the law when relating to the judge - he won almost every objection he made - combined with his ability to create a strong connection with the jury.
    I was found not guilty despite quite a few obstacles throw Scott's way. We were not offered a reasonable deal for a first time DUI (offered serving 8days of a 15day sentence) as the cop was agitated by my attitude the night of the the arrest I told Scott that I wasn't going to take the deal and that even though the odds are stacked against the defendant in a DUI jury trial that I would take the risk. The fact that I was charged with refusal to take the breath test/ blood test meant the outcome would depend on the video and Scott questioning the officer. The video presented to the jury included over 40 minutes of audio not on our version of the tape., I told scott I did not want a mistrial despite one being offered by the judge. Due to it being a speedy trial demand and our expert witness being out of town till the end of the week, he was unable to testify. Despite these setbacks Scott artfully and successfully explained my side of the story and pointed out weaknesses in the state's case and the officers actions/testimonies.
    He kept me informed the entire time and you can tell that he really cares about every client and every case and understands the magnitude the outcome has. I recommend Scott to anyone and everyone who is facing a DUI charge regardless if you think you'll take a deal or go to trial. I hope never to need a criminal defense attorney ever again - but if I do I will immediately call W. Scott Smith.

  7. DUI? - No Problem!

    Posted by Jehan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott is great! I was recommended to his firm to one of his lawyers at the firm. On visiting his offices for the first time, I was fortunate to meet with Scott in person. He set me at ease with all my concerns regarding my DUI. It was my first DUI and I had no idea what to do. I followed all instructions given to me by Scott. He knew exactly what steps to take and when to take them. I didn't waste any time and my money was well spent. His recommendations to where to go and what to do, was always on point and I had absolutely no issues.

    I highly recommend Scott's services. He knows the game very well and will take care of you all the way with full confidence!

  8. Very Trustworthy

    Posted by David, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott represented me with very satisfactory results. He was trustworthy, professional, understanding, and was able to put at rest the stress that had built up as a result of my charges. The results of my case left me very happy, and I was able to get on with my life. I would sincerely recommend Scott to anyone looking for an attorney in his area of expertise!

  9. Not Guilty

    Posted by Donnie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott recently tried my case in which I was found not guilty of a DUI. I can not say enough praise for this lawyer. He is very honest and loves his clients. I’ve worked with other lawyers in the past who don’t really care about their clients, but only want their money and will only do the minimum amount of work possible. Then there is Scott. . I could tell right away that Scott cared about my case, and would fight to the end. He didn't disappoint. He fought to the very end, and did everything in his power to win my case. Before choosing Scott for my representation, I interviewed some of the top DUI lawyers in the city of Atlanta. What made him stand out above all others was not only his knowledge of the law, but his passion for the job. Lastly, while I was at the courtroom, Scott stepped out to speak with a trooper. I overheard one of the prosecutor’s interns ask the clerk if Scott was a good lawyer. The clerk immediately replied that Scott was one of the best. I give Scott my whole heartedly recommendation. As a side note, his staff was always professional, responsive, and knowledgeable as well. Judy and Daniel were always willing to help me with whatever I needed.

  10. Jude's DUI Case

    Posted by JUDE, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Woodrow Smith.
    • I hired Woodrow more than 3 years ago.
    • Woodrow handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I believe in God and know that he solves our problems but he does not come down to meet us, instead he sends an Attorney called W. Scott Smith. I had a DUI Case and a friend recommended scott to me.from the very first phone call to the last day of the case he was not only very professional but a brother to me. structured payment options and a very trustworthy person. he is so well informed and really does know the law. It's like a Big family at his firm, from Julie who is ever smiling and a very warm person to Edward who is always there for you to Scott who always encourages you to get things done properly and urgently. sometimes I wonder to myself how come a great man as scott is not known all over the world. believe me, this man is the best Attorney you will find under the sun. I really don't know what else to say but I want to let it known that Scott is my Attorney and Guardian Angel. he will work with you like his life depends on your case.I just want to use this opportunity to Thank you and everybody at your firm for helping me get my life back. Thanks for everything and stay blessed.