Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger’s Reviews

Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI reduced to Reckless Driving

    Posted by Derek, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melanie had my DUI charge reduced to Reckless Driving. Upon meeting her, she was very professional and knowledgeable which definitely put my mind at ease.

    She went over every aspect of my case, and presented different options going forward. I liked that she was realistic with the possible outcomes and didn't promise the world like other attorneys have done in the past. She kept me informed every step of the way and immediately responded to all emails/phone calls/texts.

    After speaking to the arresting officer and prosecutor, she negotiated a reduced charge, Reckless Driving, which to me, was a best case scenario. After completing a few classes and paying a fine, my case is over with no DUI or probation. I can go on with my life.

    I can't thank Melanie enough for handling my DUI case and making the entire process as painless as possible. I have already referred two friends and would recommend her to anyone.

  2. Successful lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was able to successsfully reduce 1 of my charges & get another dismissed, soley by negotiating with the prosecuter (we didn't have to go to trial, etc.) Melanie was very professional, patient, and quick to reply to all communications. My case had some unusual circumstances that made things more challenging, but she was patient & flexible and was prepared with different approaches to handle it. Because the legal process was completely foreign to me, I would have appreciated a little more proactive feedback on her strategy, next step, and loose timeframe. While she outlined the process very clearly in her information packet, when my case didn't follow that sequence of events there were times I felt like I had no idea what was going on (there may have been nothing new). However, that may just be the nature of the legal process & I was confident that Melanie knew what was going on, even if I didn't. Most importantly, she acheived the outcome that we desired.

  3. Reduced Case

    Posted by jlf87, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was able to negotiate my case to a reduced charge. She was very responsive and made time for me. She was able to help navigate my legal case and what affect if any it would have on my out of state license. I thank her for being able to help resolve my case in a timely manner.

  4. Ed Broadnax

    Posted by Eddie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melanie is a good lawyer....her laid back approach to justice is very smooth....I like her style. I believe she is going to have a long career as an attorney. She does not jump to conclusions, but instead she watch and pay attention to her opponent moves thereby taking the best course of action for her client. When I had doubts she billed my confidence up with a realistic positive outlook. I also like the way she made herself available to me when I had questions. Melanie understand that representing her client is like a game of chest, and she knows how to play the game!

  5. Probation Revocation Defender

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would personally like to thank Melanie Ellwanger for her help resolving my case. Without her assistance, there is no doubt that my probation would have been unjustly revoked.

    The Sentence Enforcement Service in Cobb County was aggressive in trying to revoke my probation. I cannot thank her enough for her help.

  6. Client Review

    Posted by AM, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was exceptional in handling my case. She demonstrated true professionalism throughout the case proceedings. She worked extra hard to get the case reduced and was very determined to make sure the case went well. I cannot thank her enough for the job she did and I will recommend her and her law firm to all my friends and family. Melanie, you worked hard to give me a second chance and for that, I am truly thankful.

  7. DUI Defense Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was very professional throughout this process and was diligent in working this case to get it reduced. I am thoroughly grateful for her responsiveness and her trustworthiness in such a trying time in my life.

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very pleased with my experience with Melanie. My DUI was reduced to reckless driving after Melanie spoke with the arresting officer. She was professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend her to others in the same predicament.

  9. Moving forward.

    Posted by DTR., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Melanie was able to get my charges droped down to a less charge that i would be able to move own with my life and still continue to pursue my dream.She made sure every option was analized before making a decision.She made my situation less stressfull and i was well informed about everything in my case.I truly believe she did everyhing she could to the best of her abilites.

  10. Saving the Day

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My situation suffered from a bad case of ruffled feathers with the prosecutor, brought about by a previous lawyer. And I decided to change lawyers just prior to the trial. So I hired Melanie.

    Despite having a very short period to prepare, Melanie stepped in and not only assuaged the prior emotional tensions, but successfully negotiated a settlement, during pre-trial discussions, to maintain my integrity.

    She is a very polite and pleasant person to deal with. And she is very sharp. I would highly recommend her legal services.

Call now for a free consultation.

404-803-3105