Benjamin Walker Porter’s Reviews

Benjamin Walker Porter

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Recommendation.

    Posted by Elisabeth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-6 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Benjamin. He is knowledgeable, trustworthy, keeps me informed and makes me feel secure during my divorce/ custody process.

  2. A true friend; oh, & a lawyer...

    Posted by Clay, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-6 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There is a genuiness and humbleness about Mr. Porter...

    He is somewhat soft spoken, that seemingly works to his advantage and adds to his character. I found him to be quite knowledgeable as well as well-veresed! He didn't feel like a lawyer- I didn't feel like a client! We shared sympathy, empathy, and a few good laughs like a couple of old buds. I really enjoyed our conversations and the time we shared together, you truly feel like your working together and that he's not just working for you; nor that your just a paycheck and not a person! I would recommend him in a heartbeat! Every situation differs but he is accustomed. I trust him to get the job done. I feel like he's family. Who knows, maybe we're distant cousins! Money well earned, money well spent... You cannot put a price on children, you cannot put a price on piece of mind, and you cannot put a price on LOVE! Thank you sir, you truly are a blessing! I pray over your family, your business, and the many families you will help! Peace, joy, love!

  3. Best of the best Lawyers!!

    Posted by Roselyne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin 6-12 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr Porter to be my lawyer during my divorce in 2011, at the time I was going through medical school and hardly had time to deal with the school, raising a child as a single mum (since my ex-husband and I were separated at the time), and deal with divorce. Mr Porter was very professional and kind, he took up the case whole heartedly and did far beyond what I expected, he handled all the communications between my ex-husband and I, he kept me uptodate with every detail of the case, helped collect all the information needed at the court, really worked hard. I moved out of state before the final ruling and he handled all that was needed to be done. Am very pleased to have had Mr Porter as my lawyer, I truly believed God saw what I had to deal with and led me to a trustworthy hardworking person so I'd not get a breakdown. He is a great lawyer and I'd recommend him to anybody. All I can say is thank you Mr Porter!!

  4. Lost my case badly due to incompetence. Stay away from Benjamin Porter. Confused and unreliable.

    Posted by vnewman198504, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Please do not hire this lawyer. Benjamin Porter made such a mess of my case before and during trial that I lost everything - children, home and money. He kept mixing up my case information and mis-filed several important facts over and over. By the time I found out his bad this lawyer was, it was too late because we had missed the filing dates. Benjamin Porter is unreliable, and did not return my emails or calls for days at a time. I wish I had never hired this lawyer. I am starting to think that the good reviews here and elsewhere are not genuine because I don't see how he can get more than the 1 star based on my experience. I am going to file a formal complaint with the state licensing department as well as the Georgia Bar. I hope that other people can benefit from my bad experience with Benjamin Porter. Avoid this lawyer at all costs.

  5. Great Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After dealing with a terrible attorney during my divorce, I hired Ben to handle some post divorce issues. I could not believe how much more professional Ben was compared to my prior attorney. He was quick to return phone calls, charged a fair price, and handled my situation with ease. Most importantly, he handled my case with compassion. I highly recommend Ben to anyone in need of a good divorce attorney.

  6. mothergoose

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Excellent lawyer. He was very well prepared for my case at each hearing. He was knowledgeable and organized. I would highly recommend him for anyone needing legal support for custody of children.

  7. Thank you!!!

    Posted by Stephopson, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Given the unfortunate circumstances of my divorce, Ben was patient, informative, compassionate, and very knowledgeable of the process.

  8. Pleasant and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Angie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A friend referred me and I have already referred the firm to a friend because my lawyer is very knowledgeable when it comes to what one should ask for and might get out of a divorce.

  9. Destroys cases

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Benjamin Porter.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Benjamin Porter is not on top of his game, he should not be allowed to practice law anywhere in the country, literally destroyed my case, he misformed me that a crucial court order was still standing although the order had been revoked for over 6 weeks. This misinformation had an unfavorable bearing on my case. Spent unnecessary time and money based on bad advice that he gave me. His passive personality and lack of litagation skills was indicative to the way he clammed up in the corner like a scared chicken and allowed the opposing attorney dominate the hearing. i had to speak up for myself to save my case while he was sitting right beside me and wouldn't say nothing. Continued to state that he was in control of the situation but let the opposing attorney shut him down without a fight. If u expect a victory Ben Porter will not deliver. Ben Porter is not cut out for this type of work. Better off representing myself which is exactly what happened during my sixty day status conference which was August 6, 2009 at 3:00pm. Ben, if ur reading this u know who i am. Better yet let me help you out if u dont. This is Howard Harper.

678-710-9100