Robert Keith Prater’s Reviews

Robert Keith Prater

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing service!

    Posted by Heather, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He made the divorce process easy. A few years later I needed a duplicate document and Keith was lightening fast on getting the information to me.

  2. Estate Planning

    Posted by newnanxchange,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.

    My Wife and I went to Mr. Prater to have our wills prepared. Mr. Prater was very professional and courteous. Being my first experience with a lawyer he was very helpful and took the time to explain everything. He even tied our wills with ribbon and sealed them with wax "the old school way" . We actually enjoyed the experience as odd as it seems. If we ever have other legal needs we will be calling on Mr. Prater again.

  3. posted before.. Update

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Prater, has been my lawyer, that took my case on because he believed in the injustice I was being put through, not because of money.. as he knew, my accounts had been wiped out by the ex, I have been a stay at home mom for 13 years, and because of my circumstance I am on food stamps. He has, gone above and beyond what another lawyer, that I was able to pay monthly did for me. He is strong, knowledgeable and it my case grace filled. I bug the crap out of him ha ha. He is fighting for attorneys fees and most lawyers really don't even try. He is quiet on his tactics, but get him in court and he is a rapid fire gun. He is a man that CARES about the children in the case, and victims of abuse. I owe Keith Prater my sanity during this over yearlong court battle. I only hired him back in March, so I doubt it would have gone on that long if I had him from the start. If I could promote him, as in its not legal to generate sales for lawyers( I think that's it), I would be on the street with a sign.. This guy is whip smart, efficient, and kind. He is what lawyers should be, concerned about the merits of the case, the fight against injustice, and brave is an understatement. I highly recommend Keith, the secret weapon, fighting the good fight, and he has all of my respect, and the respect of my friends and family as they know in my case, he is sacrificing, and gambling on winning my fees, and truthfully although I have read a lot of courts don't award attorneys fees, I am confident, he will get them. I wish I could rate my husbands lawyer because there is not a dust particle of integrity in her system. She is all about winning at all cost. and has a reputation of fighting dirty, not complying, and is in fact the one that advised my husband wipe all of my access to money, knowing I am the sole caretaker for the children, and have been for 13 years. She, has piled up unjustified motion after motion, lack of compliance, and completely ignores, factual evidence, like recordings of him abusing me. Instead she turns a blind eye, and says, oh no torture the mother of your children. It makes me ashamed that she is a female. I didn't trust men, no offense men, but abuse creates that. I never thought I would hire a male lawyer. NOW, it is the best choice I ever made and he is the only one that took me, knowing right now I am penniless... Please people unless you want me to post recordings of my husband abusing me, don't think this is a man vs women issue. Its is a victim of abuse, for years, that finally has an advocate, so I praise the men out there, that aren't doing what a mother/women is doing to me, in the face of evidence her client is cruel.

  4. AN Excellent, intelligent, kind and fierce Lawyer

    Posted by Meshelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Keith took on my extremely complicated contested divorce two weeks before the final. He has only charged a retainer, and I have surly blown through that by now. He isn't pushing me for more money right now because he knows my situation. Which shows he cares and no just about money!!!! He has always gotten back in touch with me immediately, late at night, on the weekends. He has filed tons of stuff already, met with my witnesses, and every-time I met with him he is more and more passionate about my case, as I have been the victim of years of abuse. HE FREAKING cares..he is interesting, disciplined, and I know is going to wow the courts, as I have seen him do in the past. EVERYONE that needs a lawyer that will listen and care about your concerns, needs to call this man. Integrity and kindness, are an understatement.

  5. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Tonya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Keith Prater did an excellent job on my Divorce. He truly cares for his clients, He was very prompt in returning my phone calls and e-mails. He walked me through the process with compassion. I would highly recommend him.

  6. Warning...do NOT hire this Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    DO NOT...I REPEAT..DO NOT waste your time or money on lawyer. He went to court unprepared, was fighting for something I already had in my posession BUT DOESNT LISTEN! He was my divorce/custody Atty; yet he could not remember how many kids I have while in the courtroom in the middle of talking to the Judge. (And I only had 2 kids). $5000 dollars later still nothing and nowhere in my case. I fired him.

    1. Robert Keith Prater

      Robert Prater

      Lawyer Comment:

      My partner and I were in this crazy woman's case for all of 5 weeks during which we had 2 negotiations/mediations and two formal hearings because the negotiations were unsuccessful. In the hearings we successfully got Maggie Steed everything she asked the Judge for in the hearings, including custody of her children, a large child support and a large amount of alimony and the right to leave the state with her children, and more. She refused to pay our very first bill and finally hired new counsel only when her husband's lawyer wanted another hearing. We filed a lien for the money she owed; while represented by new counsel she reconciled with her husband; at a hearing on the matter she paid our smalll lien [small compared to the work we did]. Then she and her husband dismissed their divorce for at least te second time. I can only gurss that she has recently had yet another fight with her husband and that he probably cut her money off again, and so she decided to take it out on whomever came to her mind late at night. What a pitiful joke this woman has become. Here are the the two public record documents proving the above. The Temporary Order was drawn after the hearing in which I represented her but after I quit representing her - she "fired" me after I told her that to continue representing her would require payment of her outstanding bill. The second document is the dismissal showing that she and her husband "got back together". Before I wrote this I asked her nicely to withdraw the false light she has cast on me and she responded that she would if I would refund her the money she paid for the legal services we provided her in her time of need. What a sadsack conwoman. Based on her beserk post she is obviously under a lot of stress and might need to consider taking a leave of absence from her job and it appears get some serious counseling. Here are public documents that memorialize the truth and falsity of this former client's vitrol: False AVVO Reviewer - the truth by pdcrkp

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Robert Keith Prater

      Robert Prater

      Lawyer Comment:

      The Truth: http://pratlaw.blogspot.com/

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Clark Raines Client

    Posted by Clark, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Keith is one of the best lawyers I've ever had. He is professional, extremely knowledgeable and efficient. Not only do I appreciate his talents, I appreciate his character as well. My shopping for a lawyer days are over, I will use Keith for any and all my needs for representation.

    1. Robert Keith Prater

      Robert Prater

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Clark!

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Attorney who cares

    Posted by Marsha, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Several years ago I was on the receiving end of a law suit. Having never been sued before I was not familiar with the process and was quite anxious. Keith Prater took the weight of the potential litigation off my shoulders. My case was handled swiftly and settled favorably prior to going to court. He kept me well informed throughout. If, in the future, I require legal assistance I would not hesitate to retain Keith again.

  9. Mr. Prater Got Me Justice

    Posted by Annie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first came to Mr Prater's office, I was impressed with his knowledge of the law and the clear way he outlined my injury case and how we would proceed with it. His office kept me in the loop throughout the whole process of preparing my case and when we went to court the case he presented for me was straightforward and effective. I have used Mr Prater's services three times for different matters and he has delivered every time. I consider him my attorney and will definitely bring all my future legal matters to him. I recommend his services.

  10. Took my money and ran

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Prater.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this con from cross country to handle a child support matter. I paid him $1500 up front. This was in Feb of 2012. Now 10 months later he still hasn't filed a modification and says he only will if I pay him more money, leave him a review on this site saying he s the best attorney of the 21st century! Said good luck getting my money back!

    His original excuse was he has had too many vacations this year to handle all his cases!!!!

    Take your business elsewhere. I'm reporting him to the GA board...

    1. Robert Keith Prater

      Robert Prater

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is a total fabrication. I was hired by a fellow in California to DEFEND him in a Modification action that I succeeded in having dismissed in August, 2012. I told that guy that to file an action for him would require more money and that guy told me that he didn't have any more money. He then threatened me with false reviews if I did not do the free work for him. That guy called or emailed me on Friday nights on the few times he did contact me, I presume after he was good and drunk as his messages were always garbled and did not make sense, and when I responded the following Monday or Tuesday, was always aggravated that I had gone to Florida for the weekend instead of working - though he doesn't work at all! If you are a drunk or drug addict, a liar or a crazy person, like this guy, please do take your business elsewhere.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

770-253-7778