John Dennis Duncan’s Reviews

John Dennis Duncan

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professional, reliable, respectful, and talented

    Posted by Probable Cause and TPO Client, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired John to represent me at a probable cause hearing and a TPO hearing. During the initial consultation and through the entire process he was very professional, and clearly described the process and what to expect. He came across as very knowledgeable and honest. I never got the feeling he was telling me what I wanted to hear. In the court room he was confident and commanding which lead to a favorable outcome. I will definitely use John again if the need arises and I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

  2. Highly Not Recommended!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney John Duncan does not communicate with his clients. He makes empty promise after promise and tell one lie after the other. He sells himself very well, but does absolutely nothing after you hire him. I would not recommend him to anyone. I am still married and i hired him 2 years ago for a divorce that should have been final in 6 months at the most!!!!!! He has created a serious financial hardship for me. Don't waste your time.

    1. John Dennis Duncan

      John Duncan

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not believe the person that wrote this post is or was my client. I have spoken with the person to which these statements apply, and he denies having made the report. In any event, the party paid the initial engagement fee in full one year ago, and after several court appearances, negotiations, and mediation, the case is awaiting final signatures to complete the process. Unfortunately, sometimes civil litigation takes longer than expected and cannot be pushed any harder. I am sorry this person feels the way that he/she does, but I have and continue to do my best to finalize his case.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  3. If you need a good Attorney, Hire the Best

    Posted by Patricia, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John, thank you for your gracious professionalism, clear and precise communication and speed in which you handled my needs.

    Living with cancer is a constant unknown. When my husband suddenly became very ill we realized we needed to have a Power of Attorney and Will drawn; I felt overwhelmed. I had never had the need to hire an attorney and knowing that time was of the essence I needed a good attorney.

    John took a lot of pressure off my husband and me. He provided me shelter from the storm so that I could focus on my sick husband and maintain our daily life. I was blessed to have an excellent attorney as John Duncan to care so much for our needs.

    John, it is people like you that make this world a better place and I am proud to know you and to be able to share my experience with others.

  4. John Duncan

    Posted by James, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Duncan for a speeding ticket (87/70). I don't recall the exact fine, but it was several hundred dollars and three points against my record. Neither of which, I could afford. Once I contacted Mr. Duncan, he suggested I take a defensive driving course before I went to court. The actual court date was quick and painless. After a short discussion with the judge, Mr. Duncan had my fine reduced to $100 and no points. After adding up the fine, the driving school and Mr. Duncan's fee, I still payed less that the original ticket. I will definitely hire Mr. Duncan again if I ever need legal help.

  5. John Duncan

    Posted by Christopher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was going through a divorce and did not know the process or how to go about getting it started. I contacted Mr. Duncan who talked to me on the phone and guided me step by step on how the process worked.

    He handled my divorce very quickly and efficiently. He also answered my phone calls everytime I called and kept me informed on the details of my divorce.

    Mr. Duncans pricing was extremely reasonable and I would recommend him to anybody. I did alot of research looking for divorce attorneys before I found Mr. Duncan. Mr. Duncan charged me about $400.00 less than anyone else I could find.

    I am a police officer and my schedule is very hectic. Mr. Duncan was the only attorney I found that would work with my schedule. He even offered to meet me on his off days so I could sign the appropiate paperwork.

    Having Mr. Duncan as my attorney I did not have to worry about anything. He took care of everything very effectively and efficiently in a timely manner.

    I will be calling Mr. Duncan again in the future if I ever need an attorney and I definately recommend him. Five stars.

  6. A Lawyer who Listens

    Posted by Tracy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Duncan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired John Duncan as my lawyer after I "fired" my other lawyer who was abrasive, distant, and unresponsive. Mr. Duncan was courteous, thorough, and quick to respond to calls and e-mails. In addition, he was sensitive to my concerns and feelings while still maintaining an objective and strong approach to my case. He was the strength that I didn't have while going through my divorce. I highly recommend Mr. Duncan as an attorney if you want someone who will look out for your best interests. I will continue to call upon Mr. Duncan whenever I am in need of legal assistance.