Laura Leigh Thompson’s Reviews

Laura Leigh Thompson

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Grandparent rights

    Posted by Amy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-6 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Laura Thompson is a wonderful Attorney. Since my sons death I was having problems seeing my granddaughter so hired Laura. I was on edge a lot and she is very confident and energetic. We won of course!! My family is so grateful to you. Thank you so much!!

  2. Laura Rocks!

    Posted by Donesha, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-6 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nov. 2013 I was served by my ex husband to change modification of custody, after a couple of months of not having a lawyer things became too complicated and I found Laura! I've spoked to quite a few lawyers just to get a feel of their background and personality and with speaking with Laura and her assistant Keri I chose them! Even with her being young I had faith in her and went with my gut feeling.From day one I was kept informed of everything that was going on, when I was freakin out Laura and Keri was always there to calm me down and always assured everything was going to be ok. Laura knew she was going to win this case and I liked that about her she was honest and didn't tell me just what I wanted to hear, she had my back! Even now that my case is over she is still handling things so I would recommend her to anyone she is great and I will forever be in her debt she won my case and I was able to keep the most precious thing which is my daughter! THANK YOU LAURA AND KERI LOVE YOU GUYS :)

  3. Stepfather Adoption

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-6 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Adoption matter.

    Mrs. Laura Thompson was very personable and listened to our needs. She communicated and explained all options. She knows the laws of child custody and adoption very well. Our case went to trial and she won the case by being very prepared and presented the case in a very professional and proficient manner. A++ Attorney that truly cares about her clients!

  4. Excellent Attorney!!

    Posted by Krystal, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-6 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Laura is very kind!! And my opinion is that she actually cares about her clients and well being!! She's not in it just for the paycheck!! I've never had to have an attorney so this is my first experience and she has been great to me!!

  5. Laura Thompson and Child Custody Case

    Posted by Jan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Child Custody matter.

    Ms. Thompson just helped us win a child custody case. We were out-of-state, dealing with Georgia laws that we were not familiar with and had several complications. We tried to hire several attorneys before we ran across Ms. Thompson and we are so happy we hired her. We were not denied by any attorney, but the others were slow to get back with us and gave us nearly zero information, so we went with Ms. Thompson. She was clear about what she could do for us, what results we might expect (both good and bad) and what she needed from us. There was no guessing about what was going to happen or when. We especially appreciated that she was personable and compassionate about our concerns and gave us concrete suggestions about what documentation we needed, how to handle ourselves in court and with other court employees. On several occassions during breaks, I saw her get her phone out to check citations that the judge mentioned and she promptly made sure to ask us questions so she could see in what ways to compare our case or what ways to establish the case should not apply to our situation as was needed, which made me very comfortable that she had the most up-to-date way to use the information to help in our defense. One surprising piece of information to us was that Ms. Thompson is a relatively new attorney (we found out after our case was over.) We would never have guessed that. She "peformed" in the courtroom as well as any seasoned veteran. She did not appear to be nervous in court and she asked good, concise questions that really helped the judge hear what we wanted him to hear. She was persistent in her questions to the other party without being overly agressive and obnoxious and she was very thorough in covering each area of discussion. Ms. Thompson did her absolute best to keep expenses and costs down. There is nothing cheap about hiring an attorney and she did everything she could to keep the expenses reasonable. Since we are out-of-state, it would have been very easy for her to charge us for things that didn't happen. I did not feel that there was anything padded about her billing and as I reviewed it did not wonder why we were charged for anything. Her billings were timely and easy to follow. While I won't say I'm excited about paying legal fees, I will say I will gladly pay them because of her integrity and her professionalism. Of course, the fact we won doesn't hurt either! I would highly recommend Ms. Thompson to anyone looking for someone to be fair, compassionate, professional and honest. Also, I feel strongly she did her absolute best to help. Had we lost, we would definitely have been disappointed, but it would not have been because of any lack on her part, but because of the situation itself. Everyone should have the confidence to know their attorney did everything they could to help their client and Ms. Thompson certainly did not disappoint us in this regard.

  6. Excellent Family Lawyer

    Posted by octavia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Laura helped me with my divorce which would have been quick, however, my ex made it very difficult and caused the process to be drawn out almost an entire year! Throughout this entire time span Laura was patient and understanding. She was able to mediate through some of the smallest issues that we had and for that I am truly grateful. In the end we were able to compromise and settle outside of court. She is very trustworthy and reliable. If ever again I am in need of a good lawyer I would definitely call her first.

  7. Property Dispute

    Posted by Nicholas, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

    I hired Mrs. Thompson to resolve a property dispute with a family member that turned a little ugly. Instantly she and her staff took over putting my mind at ease. She was very professional and got me the result I was looking for. I definitely recommend her to anyone. Great firm and top notch service. You won’t be disappointed.

  8. Don't Know Which Way To Turn? Call Laura McCook Thompson!

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Do you have an abusive spouse? Maybe they don't hit you with their fist but hit you with vulgar, hateful words. They convince you that everything is your fault and your world seems to be crumbling down around you. I'm talking about a person who is evil and enjoys inflicting mental pain on you. Just when you are at your lowest you discover Laura. You tell her your story and when it's over you discover you not only have a great lawyer to guide you but someone who genuinely cares about you as she does all her clients. We've never had much dealing with lawyers so we didn't know what to expect. Laura returns your calls with questions that you might have. With her you will have peace of mind knowing that she's got your back. I highly recommend Laura and will never call anyone else.

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by LeeAnn, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    Laura McCook was more helpful in handling my case than I could have asked for! She always responded quickly to any questions I had and kept me updated every step of the way. I recommend Laura 100%

  10. Excellent service

    Posted by Shannan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Thompson.
    • I hired Laura 1-3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Child Custody matter.

    Laura was reasonable about pricing for redoing custody paperwork. If we had any questions she responded quickly and was able to get our paperwork updated as soon as possible.

770-683-3663