Nathaniel Michael Smith’s Reviews

Nathaniel Michael Smith

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He is a Great Attorney!

    Posted by Bridget,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.

    I am a former and current client of Mr. Smith and he is an impeccable attorney. In 2011-2012 he represented me in a custody battle against my child's father and I was able to receive a parenting plan that was definitely in the better interest of my child, but also in my favor. 3 years later, I am married and my husband has primary custody over his 2 children. Nathaniel Smith represented my husband against a false allegation TPO and all I can say is that he truly fights for his clients. I would definitely recommend Mr. Smith to anyone who is seeking an attorney who is very knowledgeable about the family court system.

    GOD BLESS!

  2. Disappointed client

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nathaniel Smith.

    Although I did not keep Mr. Smith as my lawyer, during the two months I had him I was disappointed with the amount of work that was produced. After deciding to switch lawyers he was bitter and made it difficult for me to transfer lawyers by avoiding my calls and blacking out information my new lawyer needed. He was very unprofessional!

    1. Nathaniel Michael Smith

      Nathaniel Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      It's troubling to see a review like this. I'm never bitter when clients switch from me to another attorney or from another attorney to me; this happens both ways from time to time, and often is the result of nothing worse than a personality conflict or disagreement.

      My office staff and I never "black out" information unless we're going to use a document as an exhibit in court, and then it's appropriate to cover over social security numbers and account numbers.

      If this is the former client I think it is, though no name appears that I can see, I can say this. In two months, an uncontested matter can be resolved but a contested matter will only get started, with service on the Defendant and demands for documents being made, subpoenas being sent out, and so forth. That is precisely what I did for that client, whose unrepresented spouse was working for the military on the other side of the world, which does slow things down a bit -- again, if this is the former client I believe it is.

      It's a pity, and rather shameful, that a word like "unprofessional" would be used in such a callous way, and with a total disregard for, and ignorance of, civil procedure, of court procedure, and of the fact that a lawyer must act reasonably regardless of a client's bitterness and ill feelings toward the other party, because a lawyer's reputation sticks with him as he stands in front of the same judges repeatedly.

      Posted 26 days ago. Flag

  3. straight forward

    Posted by J D,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.

    If you wish to have a lawyer who will lie to you to make you feel better and let you get away with grammatical errors, this is NOT your man. He knows what he's doing and was vable to adapt with my unique childcare situation. Thanks Nate!

  4. Honest and Trustworthy Attorney

    Posted by Doyle, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Nathaniel Smith has been my attorney for the past 4 to 5 years, pretty much as soon as he was licensed. He has been incredible handling my cases from child support, child custody, alimony, and even one for my business. I have used other attorneys in the past and have always felt they were more concerned about getting my money than actually helping me. Mr. Smith, who is a family man, has always treated me like I was part of his family. His prices are more than fair and he is always willing to work with you on payments. When I say I have an attorney for life, I do. You can't go wrong with Nathaniel Smith.

  5. Wise and Caring Counsel

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My divorce was such an emotional, frightening, and confusing time - especially since there is a child involved - and Mr. Smith did a fantastic job of helping me stay grounded and focused. When I was overwhelmed with interrogatories, document gathering, and other grueling assignments, he made time to walk me through the process until I was 100% confident that everything was in place. And when I thought I would fall to pieces because of the shenanigans and persecution from my ex, Mr. Smith was there to answer my questions and advise me on how to legally protect my child, my home, and myself. His counsel during mediation and prioritizing of essential details, helped me temper my emotional responses and negotiate more effectively. He is wise, encouraging, warm, knowledge, and available. His personal attention made me feel that my case was top priority.

  6. Recommendation

    Posted by Thomas, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Nathaniel Smith provided me with excellent legal representation. I am pleased with his services. He is extremely knowledgeable about domestic law and courtroom procedures. He is personable, reasonable, and fair.

  7. Great lawyer

    Posted by LaWanda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith handled my complicated divorce case easily. He was readily available for questions or concerns by e-mail and responded to my phone calls promptly.

  8. Review of Nathaniel Smith

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Smith did an excellent job on my divorce case. What was supposed to be a pretty straight forward case became quite difficult. Mr. Smith was able to keep things from escalating out of control even further, and resolved my case in reasonable amount of time given how uncooperative the defendant and her attorney were being.

  9. Unproffesional and Unreliable

    Posted by Kellie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, my experience was very short lived because no one would answer the phones at the office. When I was finally able to get someone on the phone to make an appointment, they put it in his calendar incorrectly so his consultation call to me was extremely late. Then I made an appt. to come in and drop off my retainer fee and signed contract, and again it was written down incorrectly and my appt. was missed. I have decided to seek counsel elsewhere, and I suggest others to do the same until Mr. Smith has assistants capable of keeping a calendar.

    1. Nathaniel Michael Smith

      Nathaniel Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      This person was never a client. I offered a contract for her to retain my services but retracted that offer after her harassing treatment of my office staff.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  10. Great Representation!!

    Posted by Shane, a Internet client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nathaniel Smith.
    • I hired Nathaniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Nathaniel handled my Internet matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nathan handled my case like few attorneys do these days. He went out of his way to help me which intern showed me that he actually cares about his clients and their situations. He gave me options on how to handle my situation that other attorneys i talked to just threw under the bus. I was very impressed by his knowledge and use of the law. Its good to know that his office is in my area if anything like this ever happens again. Thank you ..Shane

Feel free to contact my office for an appointment for a free consultation.

678-849-4748