Peter Hills Acker’s Reviews

Peter Hills Acker

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Peter Acker

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.

    If you're preparing to go through immigration, are having difficulties with your case, or simply want to know more about immigration, you owe it to yourself to give Peter Acker a call. Peter is such an amazing attorney. He is extremely knowledgeable on a wide variety of visas, processes, procedures, and immigration laws. He took the time to answer each and every one of our questions. He always called us in a timely manner when there was progress in our case and told us how to prepare and what to expect during the next step. Peter is also very connected; if we ever had a question that didn't have to do with immigration (for example, tax laws) Peter would point us towards other professionals specializing in that field. To top it all off, he's encouraging, caring, personable, and truly interested in each person's case. He went above and beyond for us, that's why we recommend him to everyone we meet that is preparing to go through immigration or is facing difficulties in their case.

  2. The Best Lawyer

    Posted by Maryam, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr. Acker is the best lawyer I have ever seen. My husband hired him for my immigrant case when I was so sad and disappointed and I thought my case is in bad situation and is hard and gonna take time for ever to be solved . But Peter did every things very fast and made every things easy because he is really really really professional and he knows what he should do about each case . He is so smart and he really cares about you .
    He can speak Farsi very good so he was really perfect for me because my English is not good.
    In future if I or my family , friends need a lawyer absolutely he would be The first choice .
    He is an honest and responsible and respectful Lawyer and I am so lucky to know him and always can trust him to help :) .
    I was far away from my husband for 2 years and since Peter accepted our case it took just 6 months to I joined my husband and now we are really happy and we owe this to Peter .
    Thank you Thank you Thank you Peter :)

    1. Peter Hills Acker

      Peter Acker

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for your very kind review. I always try to do my best for my clients. I really appreciate your kind words but I feel I have to explain that I do not really speak Farsi very well. I understand Farsi to some degree and I speak a little bit of Farsi but I have a paralegal that is fluent in Farsi and helps with my Farsi speaking clients. However, you do speak English very well. Congratulations on your case again!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  3. 5 STAR LAWYER

    Posted by Mrs.Escamilla, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.

    I hired Mr. Acker in July 2013 for my husband and me for an I 285. Last month we happily received our permanent residence. I fully recommend him to anyone. He is very professional, trustworthy, and affordable. Mr. Acker is very available. He treats you like his only client and is never in a rush during appointments. My husband and I are 100% satisfied with his work. Any questions or concerns that you have, he always has the right answer for you.He isnt the type of attorney to always talk to the secretary.You ALWAYS speak to him directly. I could go on for 2 pages writting about how a great attorney he is. In one word he is a EXCELLENT ! Thank you so much for your work Mr.Acker. From now on you will defantly be the family and friends attourney . Thank you for being such an awesome human being as well that cares about families being united, and caring about our personal life problems.You always do your best to help !

  4. Honest, diligent, caring, knowledgeable and comprehensive immigration attorney!!!

    Posted by Aakash, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.

    I hired Peter as my immigration attorney for my wife's I-130 immigrant visa. My wife just moved back to Germany from her time in US as an Au Pair and was recently denied a student visa to come back. I knew I loved her and really wanted to be with her, so I decided to marry her. Before I left to propose to her I sought advice from Peter on how to proceed. Immediately I signed a retainer agreement with him as I felt very comfortable with him.

    He was a perfect fit for us. He spoke German and had experience with law in Germany as well. He was friendly, didn't feel like he pushed us to hire him, so I felt comfortable. He gave us advise regarding what information/evidence we should save for filing and after the wedding put together a very comprehensive petition. We wanted to make sure there was no doubt that our love was real and our marriage was in "good faith". It was an exhaustive effort for us and him to prepare the petition, but it paid off at the end because the final consular officer interview in Frankfurt was so easy because the evidence was insurmountable. It helps that my wife and I were organized and particular, but Peter was there to guide us.

    Along the way USCIS misplaced our file for 5 months and there was a painful amount of beauracracy and delays in our process, but Peter held our hands throughout and helped us navigate through so many hoops and finally her visa was approved a week ago. There are still some processes for her to get the conditions removed from her green card in the future, and if I didn't trust and think Peter was an honest and competent attorney, I would have chosen to do that process myself, but I'll gladly sign another agreement for him to take care of that.

    If you want an attorney that is honest, diligent and comprehensive you need Peter. If I had to have one criticism it would be that he needs to be more responsive at times, but I think I exhausted him with daily phone calls when our file went missing, so may be that expectation in unreal.

  5. Immigration I-864 Affidavit of Support Case!

    Posted by Michael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.

    I had to submit the two Immigration forms of I-864 for Affidavit of Support and G-325A to USCIS and bring my wife to the United States. Well I was introduced to Peter, my current Immigration Lawyer through my soccer teammate in Atlanta, GA. After initially meeting with Peter he laid out an overall game plan to how we were going to tackle this process and help me bring my wife to the United States. Once we agreed on the Fee (Very reasonable compared to other cases I have come across) we started filling out the forms, submitted all the documents (Marriage Certificate, Passport, Birth Certificate...) that USCIS required of us. Once these documents were sent with the fee to USCIS they responded to us within 3-6 months as Peter suggested saying the documents were received primarily and that they case was reviewed and approved secondly. Following USCIS's approval Peter helped me send 2 G-325 A forms (one for me and one for my wife) so that our case can progress to the next phase. NVC then handled the last phase of this process, interviewed we wife, Blen, in Ethiopia and in about 1 year period she is now living with me in the United States. I'm very pleased with Peter as my Immigration Lawyer because he was very clear and explained thoroughly what the process was like and how much time it was going to take. His fee was very reasonable and gave me the opportunity to pay him in 3 installments. Furthermore Peter was very responsive to his emails, texts, and phone calls. I was calling him even on weekends and nights to my shame and he still answered my call and helped me with any questions I had for him. He is also very knowledgeable about the subject matter we were dealing with and during a couple incidents he honestly said let me get back to you on those issues and took the time to do some research and gave me the answered I needed. I would Highly recommend Peter as an Immigration Lawyer since I dealt with him for the past 12 months!

  6. Great Immagration Attorney !!!!!!

    Posted by Luis, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have recently become a Permanat Resident of the United States Of America through the natauralaztion process . I owe a great amount of graditude to my Attorney Peter Hills Acker. I dicided to file my origanal paper work back in august of 2010, after about six months I recieved a notice informing me that Immigartion was hesitant on granting me my residency due to some discrepancies in my crimal history. Although only misdeamenors in any surpior court, in the Immigration way of law the offenses were questionable and seemed to be deportable . Nataurally my first reaction was OMG.. "my past has finally cuaght up with me " I assumed the wrost possible outcome-"deportation" . Being a loving husband and father to two beautiful daughters, my back was up against a wall. A really close friend of mine reccomened me to Peter. They went to school together and created a freindship that would come to benifit me very well years down the road. Once I met with Peter he assured me he would guide me through this difficult time. After I explain my complex and frustrating situation, Peter quickly convienced me that there were still options to explore . Peter seemed very knowdgleable and confiedent in his area of expertise . It took alittle over a year and a half to get to where I am now , but Peter was there every step of the way . Peter is very good at what he does, he has many other clients that he deals with. Not one time did he ever make me feel unimportant, matter of fact he made me feel like i was his number one client. He always had the right answer and was always very professional. My exprience with Peter was amazing. He was as thrilled and overwhelmed with joy as I was when we recieved the good news. So to anyone out there considering having Peter as your attorney , you'll be in great hands ..

    1. Peter Hills Acker

      Peter Acker

      Lawyer Comment:

      Luis is a true gentleman, a wonderful father, and a devoted husband. I was so happy when his case was approved. It is always wonderful feeling when your client gets approved. I was particularly thrilled when Luis' case was approved because the odds were against him but I knew who he is as a person and what he had been through. It was a pleasure and an honor to be able to help him.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. EXCELLENT LAWYER

    Posted by Ramon, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I really like this lawyer because he is a very responsable person, and during the process of my case he always kept me informed of how things were going. He has the knowledge an the experience necessary to solve any case.

  8. Client Review

    Posted by Brad, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As my lawyer, Mr Acker was on point the whole way, forwarding me documents which I would have been ignorant about, and streamlining the whole immigration process to make it as painless as possible. He is a very conscienscous and personable lawyer and treated with me the utmost respect and was always accessible during this stressful process via email or business phone. I highly recommend his services and consider him in the utmost esteem as a lawyer. After only 5 months me and my fiancee have successfully passed through all the hoops of a k-1 visa, and we are happily continuing with our lawyer, Mr Acker, through the next process towards our ultimate goal of naturalization.

  9. The best lawyer

    Posted by RV, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Acker.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Acker has been the best lawyer I have ever seen. He takes his time to elaborate/explain your options and is ALWAYS prepared and willing to assist his clients. He consumes wealth of knowledge and shares them all along with his clients. I had one of the most difficult immigration cases and Mr. Acker consistently followed up on my case and organized miracle on my situation and WON!