John Jeffery Scroggin’s Reviews

John Jeffery Scroggin

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Attorney You Can Count On

    Posted by Chuck, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jeff has been my attorney of choice for over 28 years. During this period Jeff has handled incorporations, estate planning, contracts and agreements and general legal advise in various areas. I've called Jeff many times seeking quick answers to minor legal questions and he has always made himself available to me. Recently Jeff has been working with my current employer on estate planning issues as well as employment contracts. My employer has been very satisfied with his work. Jeff is an attorney that I have often recommended with great success. I wouldn't use anyone else.

  2. probate

    Posted by Dennis, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jeff and his firm were extremely professional from the first day we engaged them. Unfortunately, our situation needed to be mediated and his knowledge, patience and experience kept the process moving to closure in a reasonable timeframe which ultimately minimized estate expense. I found him to be accessable and he answered all questons/concerns in a timely fashion. He maintained a professional balance in spite of a adversarial situation. I plan to use him again personally and would highly reccommend him to any of my friends.

  3. A Lawyer's Lawyer

    Posted by Ed, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I engaged Jeff to handle a very sophisticated estate matter for a long-time client of mine. This is a client and friend that I would not have trusted with just anyone. Jeff made both me and my client comfortable with his depth of expertise and thoughtful suggestions with respect to an estate that was both complicated and had a lot of emotional issues to it. Jeff was exceedingly deferential but also firm in his recommendations. The estate plan, which included a complex will, trust, power of attorney, deed and other instuments, was documented quickly and delivered in such a manner so as to make my client very comfortable. Without reservation, I would recommend Jeff to future clients of mine and, indeed, anyone in need of both routine and complex estate planning.

  4. John J. Scroggin abilities

    Posted by Herbert, a LLC client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Limited Liability Company (LLC) matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John J. Scroggin has been my business and family lawyer for over 25 years and during that period of time, he helped with many legal business decisions to be made and was most cooperative. His explanations, his expertise, his understanding of the complexities of legal matters was overwhelming. I would say that I never got 'so called' bad advice from Jeff. I conferred with him on all business transactions that I felt needed legal attention. He never failed me, my family or my company. He is currently updating my will and other matters that we are now doing at his insistence.
    He tells it like it is, simply and to the point and for that I would recommend John J. Scroggin to anyone in need of legal assistance

  5. Professional

    Posted by Karen, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff Scroggin handled a very complex tax matter for me at a very difficult time in my life. He was thorough, knowledgeable and compassionate. I would highly recommend him.

  6. Estate planning

    Posted by Bart, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jeff is one of the best estate planning attorneys I have worked with. He has a passion for complicated estate and tax planning issues and always seems to be ahead of the curve when it comes to the latest rules and regulations.
    Not only is Jeff highly knowledgeable in complicated estate/tax matters, he is timely which is a rare trait in the legal community.

  7. Outstanding knowledge and service

    Posted by Maury, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff has handled my estate planning matters for the last 10 years or so. He is an outstanding lawyer, extremely knowledgable in estate planning matters and very helpful. I recommend his services to my friends and family. I have never been disappointed.

  8. Great Estate Planning Attorney in GA

    Posted by Eric, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeff is our trusted attorney who we turn to for
    all of our legal and estate planning advice.

    There is a reason he is entrusted by many well known names in Atlanta and is commonly featured in publications like the WSJ- He is not only very knowledgeable in his areas of expertise, but he also has a great deal of common sense- able to simplify the complex.

    On top of that he is a personable guy- a true friend.

    Take a look at his website profile to view some of his
    credentials and experience:

    http://www.scrogginlaw.com/Attorneys/John-J-Scroggin.shtml

  9. Physician

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jeff has been the most knowledgeable attorney with whom I've ever worked. He explains clearly all facets of the problem at hand, and does extensive research if the facts are not always evident. Jeff has informed me and my family in most understandable terms, unusual in our previous experiences with our previous relationships with attorneys, mostly with the larger "community" downtown law firms. Jeff's billing is most fair, and I have always felt Jeff has done a lot more work for me than he bills me for. I give Jeff nothing but the highest accolades as a true professional and have recommended him to many of my associates as well.

  10. Professional

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Scroggin.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Scroggin has successfully represented me in several legal mattter for over 25 years. I have found him to be a professional of
    great integrity and compassion, with a strong commitment to stewardship.

770-884-7197