Bert W. Cohen’s Reviews

Bert W. Cohen

Average Rating

Based on 74 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Daughter's DUI charge and possession charge

    Posted by Barry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My seventeen year old daughter found herself with a DUI and possession charge(misdemeanor) shortly after high school graduation along with her friend. Unfortunately my daughter was driving and had the more serious charge. We searched out an experienced attorney and Mr. Cohen was our choice. He let us know up front what to do immediately to preserve my daughter's license until a possible court date if it came to that. Mr. Cohen was to the point and matter of fact, but his patience was what I feel helped us get the best settlement with a judge without having to go to trial. Considering how my daughter could have ended up I am very grateful to Mr. Cohen for his expertise.

  2. Great Lawyer, couldnt have find better

    Posted by Mama, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cohen Got me out of a situation that I really thought was gonna be way worst. He managed to negotiate a deal for me that was very much appreciated. I didn't think it was gonna be this easy but he made it happen, I only had to show up in court once, when the all deal was reached He saved me a lot of time and hassle. If you have an issue , I ll def advise you to call him

  3. Very knowledgeable, experienced , and disciplined lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was facing some very serious Felony charges and looking heavy jail time and fines, but after looking and consulting with other lawyers, I decided to go with Mr. Cohen. He showed a lot of care and knowledge when I talked to him about my predicament He was very engaged and listened to the facts. Mr. Cohen offered his advice and was optimistic about the outcome. Before the case went to court, Mr. Cohen was able to get the charges dropped in a favorable manner to me without jail or any fines.

    Furthermore, if I and/or any family/friend need help or consultation, Mr. Cohen will be getting a call and referral. His experience on legal matters is second to none.

  4. A Lawyer you can count on

    Posted by Scott, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bert Cohen is an exceptional lawyer. He always kept me informed of the situation. Trustworthy and knowledgeable
    in criminal law and very open and honest in what he does. I was able to get a dismissal in my case, and was very pleased with the results. He kept me out from court time and possible jail time. I would recommend Bert to anyone who may have a criminal case.

  5. Amazing Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bert exceeded my expectations on what a lawyer can do for a client. His knowledge and expertise for my situation was incredible. What he didn't know immediately he researched and found out as soon as he could. I had never been in a legal situation before but thank god I found Bert through his amazing reviews. He got my felony reduced to a misdemeanor when there were many obstacles in the way that should have made this feat impossible. I am so grateful to have had him and I know he did more than what others would have done. He is a great man and very knowledgeable lawyer. I will be grateful the rest of my life.

  6. Professional all the way

    Posted by Nancy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert more than 3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bert exceeded our expectations every step of the way. There were many twists and turns in this situation and at every juncture, he was professional and informative. There were a few situations where we called late at night or on weekends and Bert returned the calls. He even called us back on a Saturday morning when he was out of town. We highly recommend him to anyone who wants a lawyer who will consistently go above and beyond.

  7. AMAZING!!... ONE OF A KIND!!!

    Posted by Rich, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had the honor and privilege to be represented by Bert Cohen. Bert's experience is clearly evident in dealing with judges and court officials and can command a courtroom. His assertiveness greatly changed the dynamics of my DUI case as it was reduced down to reckless driving and I was able to keep my license. Bert has a sensitive ear in listening to my case and understanding all details associated with it and provided a clear and concise approach to it.. I could not imagine not having Bert represent me and I would not be in best place I am in today. I would highly recommend Bert to anyone who is need of top notch representation and high morale.

  8. Super lawyer/Awesome man

    Posted by C.S., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were stationed overseas when our family crisis happened. I initially found Attorney Bert Cohen on the internet and called another lawyer to ask if they knew him. He came highly recommended. After a couple of years working with Bert Cohen, he did not disappointed us.

    Mr. Cohen alleviated the height of the stress that a family can go through especially when you are a far distance away from where you need to be to take care of your family. He listened and advised in a manner that made us feel comfortable. A FEW descriptive words for Mr. Cohen would be trustworthy, honorable, responsive, dependable, knowledgeable, competent, thorough, understanding, caring, and disciplined.

    He knows the legal system and works well with others on your behalf. Our legal matter has been resolved and the favorable outcome had a LOT to do with the lawyer in Bert Cohen and what he brings to the table to work on your case.

    It was the best decision we have made in selecting an attorney. If you are looking for an attorney to handle criminal or juvenile matters, Bert Cohen is the choice. I highly recommend him.

  9. Great Experience!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After living in Cobb County for only three years, I found myself on the wrong side of the law on two separate occasions. I hired Bert the first time to fix the kinks my previous lawyer made, he was able to work that out for me. Throughout this second challenging court process, Bert Cohen, has made my life much easier and worry free, again. Knowing that my lawyer was going to work to the highest caliber to help my case gave me the reassurance I needed to get through it all. I was given multiple charges, ranging from DUI, speeding, to marijuana possession. Bert's persistence and diligence led to a very successful plea agreement. I walked away with just a reckless driving charge. I would highly recommend Mr. Cohen's services, he has been a great asset in helping me with my legal woes.

  10. No worries

    Posted by Lisa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Mr. Cohen here on Avvo due to all the great reviews and he really does live up to them. He had genuine interest in my case from day 1 and was willing to offer me a discounted fee since I was struggling financially.

    I had a very complicated case. I was facing prison for my 4th DUI and I was pregnant with my first child. Mr. Cohen advised me to enter treatment and I did. Thanks to treatment, Mr. Cohen, and some luck, I got a minimum sentence (roughly a week) to serve in Cobb County jail and my probation fees and one of my fines waived.

    I would recommend Mr. Cohen wholeheartedly.

404-641-8959