Bert W. Cohen’s Reviews

Bert W. Cohen

Average Rating

Based on 82 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding Performer

    Posted by Michael, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I have needed legal assistance several times in my life and my experiences with lawyers and the legal system have been very challenging. I have found that selecting the right attorney for your case is the winning key to being successful at protecting your interests. My last experience proves this point, as I found myself in need of legal assistance for my son, whom found his way into a high point, high fine and a potential jail sentencing outcome. After speaking with 2 other attorneys, we were referred to Mr. Bert Cohen by a trusted family friend. On our first meeting with Mr. Cohen, he was inquisitive of the detailed events that led up to my son’s charges, presented us with several potential courtroom scenarios for this type of case, requested supporting photos and documents that would assist him in defending the case, then provided solid recommendations for community service programs, defensive driving school and other activities that would prove to be favorable to the court.
    Throughout our legal process, I found Mr. Cohen responsive to my emails and calls. Mr. Cohen would regularly update us on his progress. He was punctual and organized as he maintained and managed our documents. Mr. Cohen led us through this process with confidence and knowledge.
    His strong communication skills, proven courtroom experience and professional relationships was the highlight of our experience with Mr. Cohen. The day of our trial, Mr. Cohen maneuvered around the courtroom engaging in conversations with all segments of the courtroom staff. Mr. Cohen kept us in the loop of his dialogs and ultimately negotiated a very favorable outcome to my son’s legal dilemma.
    Again, having the right legal counsel on your side is imperative to a positive legal outcome. This was reinforced by the Judge overseeing our case. She directly stated to my son, “Make sure that you thank Mr. Cohen for presenting your case as he is the reason that you are experiencing your favorable outcome”. To that, we owe our thanks to our lawyer, Mr. Bert Cohen.

  2. Outstanding lawyer.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Cohen provided much needed and hugely appreciated knowledge, understanding, and professionalism in his defense of my case. In an unfamiliar and serious situation, my family and I had the comfort of faith in my legal representation through Mr. Cohen. I owe the overwhelmingly positive outcome of my situation to his extraordinary service.

  3. A criminal defense client

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We hired Bert to handle serious charges related to a traffic accident. This was our first experience with the criminal justice system. Bert was able to alleviate much of the stress associated with the situation. He was always available to respond to any concerns or questions. His knowledge of the law and ability to work well with other members of the local justice system enabled us to receive a favorable outcome.

  4. 5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend Bert Cohen.

    Posted by Brooks, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Bert Cohen. Having been arrested for the first time in my life, I was understandably very worried and stressed out at first. Having Mr. Cohen as my lawyer helped exponentially.
    There are a number of qualities that he carries that make him a 5 star attorney:
    - Very knowledgeable. Was able to answer any and all questions regarding my case and how to proceed.
    - Very competitive price of service. For my type of case at least, (DUI) Mr. Cohen offered a better price for his services than others that I've heard of AND he was a far superior lawyer. Bang for you buck is a good way to describe.
    - Very accessible. I was almost always able to get a hold of him when I contacted him., and even on weekends and during nights. On the rare times he didn't answer immediately, he was always quick to respond.
    - Very effective. Mr. Cohen was always on top of the court dates, processing all evidence, defending my innocence, keeping me updated on what I could do to help my case, and much more.

    Mr. Cohen was able to get one of my charges dropped, kept my penalties to an absolute minimum, kept me from receiving jail time, and saved my license. I chose to accept the very generous plea deal that Bert had arranged with the prosecution. However if I were to have taken my chances and fight for my innocence in court, I'm very confident that my chances to succeed would have been high, as this was a circumstance that he had prepared for as well. It goes without question that Bert Cohen has a vast amount of legal experience. He covers all bases, and defended my innocence and rights with class and professionalism.

    5 out of 5 stars.

  5. Trustworthy, professional and upfront

    Posted by Berry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I could not have hired a better lawyer, Mr. Cohen is knowledgeable, professional and upfront. I felt very comfortable with Mr. Cohen. I never had to hunt him down for updated information. Mr. Cohen returned every call and responded promptly to emails. Mr. Bert Cohen made me feel like I wasn't in this alone. In the end all charges was dismissed! I could never thank him enough. If your looking for a trustworthy lawyer call Bert Cohen.

  6. Dependble & Reputable!!!

    Posted by Erica, a Internet client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Internet matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot express the gratitude I have for Mr. Bert Cohen and his practice. Mr. Cohen has helped me in the past and proved favorable. I have now requested his assistance once again as it relates to my past. I've found my mug shot being posted on the internet, which many people are finding. Though my earlier charges were reduced/dropped, this is still damaging to my professional career. I've enlisted his assistance and I'm happy to say that my mug shot has been removed. Throughout my years of maturing I've heard many stories of friends/colleagues who have also encountered there own troubles as we stumble through life, living and leaning thru our mistakes. I've heard horror stories of how their lawyer did not "fight" hard enough for them, will not return phone calls, as it relates to their expenses. I can say that you will never feel this way toward Mr. Cohen, as he will do whatever he can to help all of his clients. He is fair and trustworthy. His quit-wit and aggressiveness will assure you on your very first meeting. If your looking for help, you must look twd Mr. Cohen.

  7. Great Criminal Defense

    Posted by Linda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son was facing First Offender Probation violation in Cobb county due to multiple felony charges from another Georgia county. Even though the felony charges from the other county were very serious, Bert Cohen was able to convince the court to that my son needed treatment. Mr. Cohen was able to keep my son out of prison and sentenced to rehabilitation and probation. Mr. Cohen was able to accomplish this because of his personal dedication, professional ability and, most of all, his tenacity. He is detail oriented, extremely thorough and willing to go the extra mile. His integrity is without question and he is well respected by the Cobb County judicial system. I was particularly impressed with his quick responses to any and all questions. He is the type of criminal lawyer who gets results for his clients. You won't go wrong with Bert Cohen. I highly recommend him

  8. Crimiinal Defense

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    To anyone needing a criminal defense attorney, I highly recommend Mr. Bert Cohen. He represented me in an aggravated DUI case and was able to negotiate an excellent deal. He was thoroughly prepared, both in his representation of me and knowledge of the current law, as a result of which he was able to reduce my fine by $700. Though I was very nervous about going to court, Mr. Cohen was extremely supportive and his extensive experience gave me confidence. At the hearing, he seemed to be on very good terms with both the solicitor and judge, Throughout the entire ordeal, Mr. Cohen treated me with kindness and respect, unlike some other attorneys with whom I have had to deal. Most importantly, he was patient, always available when I had any questions and seemed genuinely more interested in being a good advocate than making a fee. Although I hope I never need the services of a criminal defense attorney again, if I should, it will be Mr. Cohen.

  9. Daughter's DUI charge and possession charge

    Posted by Barry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My seventeen year old daughter found herself with a DUI and possession charge(misdemeanor) shortly after high school graduation along with her friend. Unfortunately my daughter was driving and had the more serious charge. We searched out an experienced attorney and Mr. Cohen was our choice. He let us know up front what to do immediately to preserve my daughter's license until a possible court date if it came to that. Mr. Cohen was to the point and matter of fact, but his patience was what I feel helped us get the best settlement with a judge without having to go to trial. Considering how my daughter could have ended up I am very grateful to Mr. Cohen for his expertise.

  10. Great Lawyer, couldnt have find better

    Posted by Mama, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cohen Got me out of a situation that I really thought was gonna be way worst. He managed to negotiate a deal for me that was very much appreciated. I didn't think it was gonna be this easy but he made it happen, I only had to show up in court once, when the all deal was reached He saved me a lot of time and hassle. If you have an issue , I ll def advise you to call him

404-641-8959