Bert W. Cohen’s Reviews

Bert W. Cohen

Average Rating

Based on 74 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent defense attorney !

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 6-12 months ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Cohen. He was very responsive to all our concerns and took the time to meet with us, when we had questions. He is extremely sharp and knowledgable regarding the law. He is very familiar with the Cobb County system including the judges and prosecutors. I feel very confident that we got the best defense possible.

  2. DUI - Refusal to blow case dismissed and not guilty!! Excellent attorney with a great relationship with local courts! it showed!

    Posted by Joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    To anyone seeking a DUI/DWI or Defense Attorney Mr. Bert Cohen I would recommend him without a second thought. In February of 2013 I was pulled over for a traffic stop because of a tag light being out after pulling out of a bar and having a couple drinks. The police officer questioned me about being drunk, I told him I had a few drinks but felt fine. He told me to get out of my vehicle and performed a field sobriety test on me without asking me anything else. He then requested that I blow and because I felt I was not guilty and would not be over the legal limit I refused to blow hoping I would be given a blood test. The police officer arrested me, took me to jail without offering a blood test, and I was booked for DUI- refusal in the City of Kennesaw. Immediately upon getting out of jail I began to seek a good attorney, interviewing probably 4-5 over the phone and two in person. After speaking to Mr. Cohen, hearing about his years and experience, and his knowledge of the local court systems plus his favorable relationships with the local judges and prosecutors I felt like he could represent me best.

    Mr. Cohen went to my ALS hearing and saved my license by presenting a good defense and the police officer not showing up. He then arrived on time and early to my second hearing where he changed the venue to the county seeking a better outcome. On my third court date I had the date confused and Mr. Cohen ALWAYS called me before my court dates so he saved the day by reminding me of the correct date and as usual he was on time and put my case on call to be heard.

    Mr. Cohen spent the last several months getting me prepared by requesting I complete community service, a DUI course, and a psychological evaluation to help in my defense. He also studied the video from the police car, studied my medical history and found a back problem I had forgotten to mention to the police officer that would affect the field sobriety test, and went over other details to insure he knew everything he could before possibly going to trial.

    On my final court date Mr. Cohen arrived early, spoke with the state prosecutor who acted very arrogant and refused to make any kind of plea bargain or deal. The prosecutor wanted to delay the trial due to him being unprepared and Mr. Cohen said "No, we are prepared for trial now". The judge ordered we go to trial and Mr. Cohen requested the evidence be suppressed. The police officer was running late and due to him not being available the court granted my attorneys motion to dismiss my case.

    Mr. Cohen was timely, reliable, always calm, and truly I feel that he saved my career and my future through his decisive actions and constantly being on top of everything! One more thing, I have carried this weight and burden of a possible DUI on my shoulders for this entire year. I have been extremly nervous at every court appearance but Mr. Cohen would explain everything in detail that was going to happen and what had happened after every appearance. He also stayed very calm regardless of my nervousness which made me feel much better. I have a stack of cards for any friends that may get in trouble in the future and I can't thank Mr. Cohen enough. I would never call another attorney after this experience although of course I hope I never have to.

  3. Outstanding Performer

    Posted by Michael, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I have needed legal assistance several times in my life and my experiences with lawyers and the legal system have been very challenging. I have found that selecting the right attorney for your case is the winning key to being successful at protecting your interests. My last experience proves this point, as I found myself in need of legal assistance for my son, whom found his way into a high point, high fine and a potential jail sentencing outcome. After speaking with 2 other attorneys, we were referred to Mr. Bert Cohen by a trusted family friend. On our first meeting with Mr. Cohen, he was inquisitive of the detailed events that led up to my son’s charges, presented us with several potential courtroom scenarios for this type of case, requested supporting photos and documents that would assist him in defending the case, then provided solid recommendations for community service programs, defensive driving school and other activities that would prove to be favorable to the court.
    Throughout our legal process, I found Mr. Cohen responsive to my emails and calls. Mr. Cohen would regularly update us on his progress. He was punctual and organized as he maintained and managed our documents. Mr. Cohen led us through this process with confidence and knowledge.
    His strong communication skills, proven courtroom experience and professional relationships was the highlight of our experience with Mr. Cohen. The day of our trial, Mr. Cohen maneuvered around the courtroom engaging in conversations with all segments of the courtroom staff. Mr. Cohen kept us in the loop of his dialogs and ultimately negotiated a very favorable outcome to my son’s legal dilemma.
    Again, having the right legal counsel on your side is imperative to a positive legal outcome. This was reinforced by the Judge overseeing our case. She directly stated to my son, “Make sure that you thank Mr. Cohen for presenting your case as he is the reason that you are experiencing your favorable outcome”. To that, we owe our thanks to our lawyer, Mr. Bert Cohen.

  4. Outstanding lawyer.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Cohen provided much needed and hugely appreciated knowledge, understanding, and professionalism in his defense of my case. In an unfamiliar and serious situation, my family and I had the comfort of faith in my legal representation through Mr. Cohen. I owe the overwhelmingly positive outcome of my situation to his extraordinary service.

  5. A criminal defense client

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We hired Bert to handle serious charges related to a traffic accident. This was our first experience with the criminal justice system. Bert was able to alleviate much of the stress associated with the situation. He was always available to respond to any concerns or questions. His knowledge of the law and ability to work well with other members of the local justice system enabled us to receive a favorable outcome.

  6. 5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend Bert Cohen.

    Posted by Brooks, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Bert Cohen. Having been arrested for the first time in my life, I was understandably very worried and stressed out at first. Having Mr. Cohen as my lawyer helped exponentially.
    There are a number of qualities that he carries that make him a 5 star attorney:
    - Very knowledgeable. Was able to answer any and all questions regarding my case and how to proceed.
    - Very competitive price of service. For my type of case at least, (DUI) Mr. Cohen offered a better price for his services than others that I've heard of AND he was a far superior lawyer. Bang for you buck is a good way to describe.
    - Very accessible. I was almost always able to get a hold of him when I contacted him., and even on weekends and during nights. On the rare times he didn't answer immediately, he was always quick to respond.
    - Very effective. Mr. Cohen was always on top of the court dates, processing all evidence, defending my innocence, keeping me updated on what I could do to help my case, and much more.

    Mr. Cohen was able to get one of my charges dropped, kept my penalties to an absolute minimum, kept me from receiving jail time, and saved my license. I chose to accept the very generous plea deal that Bert had arranged with the prosecution. However if I were to have taken my chances and fight for my innocence in court, I'm very confident that my chances to succeed would have been high, as this was a circumstance that he had prepared for as well. It goes without question that Bert Cohen has a vast amount of legal experience. He covers all bases, and defended my innocence and rights with class and professionalism.

    5 out of 5 stars.

  7. Trustworthy, professional and upfront

    Posted by Berry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I could not have hired a better lawyer, Mr. Cohen is knowledgeable, professional and upfront. I felt very comfortable with Mr. Cohen. I never had to hunt him down for updated information. Mr. Cohen returned every call and responded promptly to emails. Mr. Bert Cohen made me feel like I wasn't in this alone. In the end all charges was dismissed! I could never thank him enough. If your looking for a trustworthy lawyer call Bert Cohen.

  8. Dependble & Reputable!!!

    Posted by Erica, a Internet client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Internet matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot express the gratitude I have for Mr. Bert Cohen and his practice. Mr. Cohen has helped me in the past and proved favorable. I have now requested his assistance once again as it relates to my past. I've found my mug shot being posted on the internet, which many people are finding. Though my earlier charges were reduced/dropped, this is still damaging to my professional career. I've enlisted his assistance and I'm happy to say that my mug shot has been removed. Throughout my years of maturing I've heard many stories of friends/colleagues who have also encountered there own troubles as we stumble through life, living and leaning thru our mistakes. I've heard horror stories of how their lawyer did not "fight" hard enough for them, will not return phone calls, as it relates to their expenses. I can say that you will never feel this way toward Mr. Cohen, as he will do whatever he can to help all of his clients. He is fair and trustworthy. His quit-wit and aggressiveness will assure you on your very first meeting. If your looking for help, you must look twd Mr. Cohen.

  9. Great Criminal Defense

    Posted by Linda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son was facing First Offender Probation violation in Cobb county due to multiple felony charges from another Georgia county. Even though the felony charges from the other county were very serious, Bert Cohen was able to convince the court to that my son needed treatment. Mr. Cohen was able to keep my son out of prison and sentenced to rehabilitation and probation. Mr. Cohen was able to accomplish this because of his personal dedication, professional ability and, most of all, his tenacity. He is detail oriented, extremely thorough and willing to go the extra mile. His integrity is without question and he is well respected by the Cobb County judicial system. I was particularly impressed with his quick responses to any and all questions. He is the type of criminal lawyer who gets results for his clients. You won't go wrong with Bert Cohen. I highly recommend him

  10. Crimiinal Defense

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bert Cohen.
    • I hired Bert 1-3 years ago.
    • Bert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    To anyone needing a criminal defense attorney, I highly recommend Mr. Bert Cohen. He represented me in an aggravated DUI case and was able to negotiate an excellent deal. He was thoroughly prepared, both in his representation of me and knowledge of the current law, as a result of which he was able to reduce my fine by $700. Though I was very nervous about going to court, Mr. Cohen was extremely supportive and his extensive experience gave me confidence. At the hearing, he seemed to be on very good terms with both the solicitor and judge, Throughout the entire ordeal, Mr. Cohen treated me with kindness and respect, unlike some other attorneys with whom I have had to deal. Most importantly, he was patient, always available when I had any questions and seemed genuinely more interested in being a good advocate than making a fee. Although I hope I never need the services of a criminal defense attorney again, if I should, it will be Mr. Cohen.

404-641-8959