Keith Alan Royal’s Reviews

Keith Alan Royal

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Helped Me Through A Difficult Time

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Another lawyer referred me to Mr. Royal because my ex accused me of violating the court order for our children. Initially, I did not think Mr. Royal was as responsive as I would have liked, but his assistant, Kelly Williams was great and kept me from panicking on more than one occasion. Come to find out, Mr. Royal was attempting to negotiate with my ex's attorney, to try and prevent us from having to go to court. We still wound up going to court, but Mr. Royal successfully represented and defended me. And because he presented to the judge his attempts to settle our case without going to court, Mr. Royal was able to convince the judge to award me all of my attorney's fees.

  2. Fought for My Children and Me

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Royal helped me win custody of my children! I kept him abreast of matters going on with my ex, and he decided when it was a perfect time for us to petition the court for custody of my children. We worked together and created my case. My funds were limited at the time, but after I paid the initial retainer, Mr. Royal worked with me.

    With my dealings with attorneys, I think you get what you pay for. If you spend a lot of money, you will get more thorough, detailed action; but if you have financial limitations, your lawyers has to choose wisely how to spend your money. Mr. Royal did that with me, which is why we worked together. I took responsibility for some of my case preparation by asking what I could do to help his assistant, Kelly, and him. I felt we all had a vested interest in my case and not just for the money. I honestly felt he and his staff felt my children belonged with me and were representing and fighting for me because of that. As a result, we won!

  3. Satisfied Customer Who Didn't Win

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Royal based on the recommendation of a co-worker. I specifically asked for "a very good, very ruthless lawyer" and, if I could, would thank her everyday for the recommendation. I had prior dealings with an attorney who did little for me other than draft paperwork, decide for me that mediation was the best option, and set up for me a child support obligation that was approximately 25% of my income.

    Unlike my prior experiences, Mr. Royal immediately took an aggressive approach to my case in response to my needs regarding my custody situation. While he does not come cheap, I would still say his rates were comparable to others I contacted. It took me a while to accept the realization that I was not Mr. Royal's main priority everyday. Sometimes, he was not available when I needed to talk about my case, but he would call or email me in a timely manner, with any information I may have needed. He also explained to me the concept of 'billable hours' and how it pertains to the potentially expensive cost of legal representation.

    Mr. Royal and his associate prepared me for my court date. To no fault of Mr. Royal's, the outcome of my case was not exactly as I had hoped; but I left the courtroom in a much better state than I was when I entered it. While I would have preferred a more favorable ruling, I do understand a lawyer, including Mr. Royal, is no miracle-worker and was satisfied with the ruling.

  4. Compassionate Bulldog- He fought for me when I was at my lowest point and helped me not to settle for less then I needed.

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-6 months ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Keith when I was broken, hurting and angry after spending 5 years doing all I could to make my 25 year marriage work. I never thought I would get divorced but it was time, my husband had moved on. Keith advised me with compassion and knowledge. He explained the advantages of filing instead of waiting for my then husband to file. Then he spent a lot of time with me making sure he understood my situation and desires. I am so glad I had him and his assistant Kelly to walk with me thru the year long process of my divorce. (Unfortunately, my ex dragged it out). During that year, Keith was available to answer all my questions and explain all my options. He always called me back promptly and responded within 24 hours to any email correspondence. With Keith on my case, I could go about the business of building a new life without worrying, knowing all the details were getting taken care of. He was my support and advocate thru the difficult process of mediation. He helped me fight when I had no fight left. When I got tired and wanted to settle for much less alimony then I needed to survive, he fought for me and I ultimately got a great settlement. I am so thankful he did! I have been divorced for a year now and my ex-husband has not complied with some of the items in the settlement. After my many attempts to kindly ask him to comply have failed, Keith is back fighting for me again. It is wonderful to have an attorney who not only is a master at his craft but is compassionate and caring toward me! I would highly recommend Keith if you have to go thru the emotionally and mentally draining process of divorce.

  5. Goes above and beyond!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Prior to meeting with Keith, I met with another Attorney, whose fees were much higher, and who gave me a much bleaker outcome. Keith on the other and, consistently counseled me as to the less expensive choices throughout my case.
    Several times I wanted to settle and take the easier way out. Keith wisely counseled me on what he thought we could attain if I continued forward. Today, I am so thankful for his foresight. I am also thankful for his patience and encouragement with me, while he was also a bulldog to the other side when it was very needed.
    Keith determined that a Forensic Accountant was needed to give him accurate information regarding the vast amount and complicated financial accounts invoked. Once again, this was invaluable in obtaining the best possible outcome for me.
    Keith has been the best of the best for me.

  6. truthful, responsible, dependable!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Keith Royal to represent me in my divorce in 2011. Mr. Royal guided me through every step of this difficult process with extreme professionalism and more personal attention than I could have ever imagined. My divorce was contested, emotional and very bitter. However, Mr. Royal was able to negotiate effectively on my behalf and bring the case to swift and very acceptable conclusion. He was able to negotiate in such a manner to keep my case out of the courtroom, saving me the cost of additional legal fees, and for this I am extremely grateful.
    Keith Royal is a good man, and a very good attorney. I would highly recommend him to anyone!

  7. Great Attorney!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 6-12 months ago.
    • Keith handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have been a paralegal for 25 years and have met a lot of lawyers in that time who practice in the field of family law. My dealings with Mr. Royal have always been positive and professional. When it came time for my own son to utilize the services of an attorney, the first attorney I called was Mr. Royal. I had seen for myself the results he gets for his clients and wanted him on my son's side!

    Mr. Royal handled my son's divorce several years ago. He knew my son had limited funds, as did his then wife. He handled the divorce for a very reasonable amount of money and my son was divorced in less than three months with agreed upon terms. He did exactly what he said he was going to do regarding my son's divorce case and was very professional throughout the case. It was very easy to get in direct contact with him and he was good in that he took the time to speak with my son numerous times during the divorce process to answer any questions my son had.

    Two years later he handled my son's custody modification action. Again, Mr. Royal handled the case for a reasonable amount of money and was very helpful throughout the entire process. He kept my son informed every step of the way and again and he was very good about returning phone calls and/or e-mails to him regarding the case. My son was able to get a very favorable result as a direct result of Mr. Royal's expertise and professionalism.

    In April of 2014 my son found himself in a family violence situation involving my granddaughter. As family violence actions move very quickly through the system my son needed a lawyer to go with him to court 3 weeks after the action was filed and was very apprehensive and nervous about the process itself. Mr. Royal explained what would happen at court in great detail which eased my son's nervousness. They went to court and came out with an amazing result in my son's favor! Mr. Royal really helped us in making sure my granddaughter was safe!

  8. stay away

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    This attorney is truly about himself (his pockets) and not the best interest for his clients. I paid almost $20,000 for a divorce, which was final the first of 2013, i'm currently still fighting for somethings that wasn't completed at the time of finalization, such as ex-husband walking with 6 figures in his pocket, i receive nothing, i had proof of my ex-husbad's adultery which wasn't use for my divorce case, i wasn't given the opportunity to receive alimony.

    1. Keith Alan Royal

      Keith Alan Royal

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have only recently been made aware of this issue. My lawyers and staff pride themselves on providing all of our clients excellent legal representation, and I believe we have done so, particularly given the thousands of satisfied clients we have had the privilege to represent over the years. No case, including this one, gets settled unless and until the client has been fully apprised of all terms, fully understands those terms and agrees to those terms. As a result, we have had very few client complaints in my practice. I am, as always, more than happy to have a direct conversation with the client to answer any questions he or she may have about his or her case.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  9. Just kept dragging on, not proactive, more worried about golf game...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Handled my divorce case that ended up lasting 10 months. He, nor my ex's attorney were proactive at all. I swear they were trying to see who could run up their bill more! Asked the same questions multiple times, took forever to respond and was always on vacation. I thought that it would get handled swiftly since I knew him, but I was beyond wrong. I not only took a hit in the divorce, I took a 5 figure hit in the wallet too! Look elsewhere unless you have time and money to waste...

    1. Keith Alan Royal

      Keith Alan Royal

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have only recently been made aware of this issue. It is part of my firm's general philosophy to resolve cases as quickly and as expeditiously as possible, exercising the highest legal and ethical standards, and within the parameters of the court's procedures and schedules, the cooperation and reasonableness of the client, opposing party and opposing counsel. Our goal is to always obtain the best possible result for the benefit of the client whether it be through trial or a negotiated settlement. Clients are always kept up to date with the status of their case and all the decisions affecting the client are made only after full consultation and discussion with the client. We realize how important it is in these types of cases for the client to have a full understanding of these critical issues affecting them and their children, the decisions to be made regarding the satisfactory resolution of those issues, as well as the short term and long term impact the final resolution will have on them and their children. As a result, we have had very few complaints from among the thousands of clients we have been proud to serve over the years. I am always willing to discuss these matters with you personally to clear up any remaining questions you may have.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  10. Disappointing

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Royal.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Royal handled my divorce and I was very dissapointed. He was asking me questions about my case/situation that I had already answered several times, and the worst part was that he was asking these questions as we went into the court room. I'm not sure if this had to do with his bid for public office or this is normal for him. I would like to give him the benifit of the doubt, but I'm having to go back to court for issues that should have been straight the first time. He may be great at the paperwork, but his advice and lack of proactive action cost me a lot more than just the sizable bill.

    1. Keith Alan Royal

      Keith Alan Royal

      Lawyer Comment:

      This issue has only recently come to my attention. My lawyers and staff very much understand the importance of being available and responsive to clients going through a difficult personal time. All terms of settlement are always discussed in great detail with the client, who ultimately makes the final decisions to accept or reject those terms of settlement. We also believe it is highly important to be fully prepared for all court appearances, and we are. I am more than happy to discuss whatever remaining issues you may have in an effort to resolve those issues for you. I encourage you to call me directly to discuss those matters. personally.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

770-814-8022