Cory Earl Yager’s Answers

Cory Earl Yager

Atlanta DUI / DWI Attorney.

Contributor Level 10
  1. I got a speeding ticket for 60 in a 45 but there was no calibration info, can the ticket be fought?

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Cory Earl Yager
    2. Keith Samuel Hasson
    2 lawyer answers

    Your question does not provide the state in which you were stopped or the type of speed detection device that allegedly measured your speed. Depending on the state in whch you were stopped and the type of speed detection device (ie: LIDAR (Laser), Radar, Vascar, Stopwatch, Pacing) the answer to your question would be different. For example, in the State of Georgia, a speed detection device (Radar, or Laser) must be checked for accuracy when the device is put in service at the beginning of...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  2. I got a ticket for expired lisence. It is actually not. It says so on the ticket. But i missed the court date. what can i do?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Matthew C Simon
    2. Cory Earl Yager
    3. Johnny Ramirez Castaneda
    3 lawyer answers

    the case is likely in recorder's court. Call the Dekalb Recorder's Court and see what you need to do about pulling the case out of failure to appear / bond forefeiture status. Getting the case back on a calendar is crucial. Once this is accomplished, speak to the Prosecutor on the court date and show them proof of the expiration and see if they will dismiss the charge.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  3. Should I fight my "failure to yield ticket?"

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Allen Rust Knox
    2. Cory Earl Yager
    3. Keith Samuel Hasson
    4. Jack Ira Klein
    5. James Lawrence Yeargan Jr.
    5 lawyer answers

    A driver making a left turn has an absolute duty to yield to all other traffic on the roadway. In this case, I would go to court and see if the prosecutor will help you out and maybe amend the Ticket to a no points charge like basic rules 40-6-180. In the alternative, you may want to plead nolo contendere to save points being assessed by DDS to your license and to not admit fault for civil purposes.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  4. I received a dui several years ago (2003) and was so impressed with my lawyers that I started a dui school!!! How can I share?

    Answered almost 5 years ago.

    1. Cory Earl Yager
    2. Drew D. Ledbetter
    3. Linda Medeiros Callahan
    3 lawyer answers

    The State of Georgia has an approved schools list and this is definitely the place to start. Make sure that your school is on the approved list. Additionally, you may want to consider ways to make your school stand out as different from the others. Many clients want a two day as opposed to three day curriculum. You may want to speak with the state and see if this is a possibility. Additionally, you should get out there in the community and attempt to show how your school benefits the...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  5. DUI

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Phillip Darrell Kimbrell
    2. David Howard Goldstein
    3. James Wrixam McIlvaine
    4. Cory Earl Yager
    4 lawyer answers

    In the State of Georgia, the minimum fine on a DUI is $300.00 plus court costs and the maximum is $1000.00 plus court costs. In addition there are many other serious statutory terms of sentence that would be imposed including Driver's License Suspension. This is a case that you need to consult a DUI Attorney on prior to taking any other actions. A reduction to reckless driving could be a possibility in your case depending on the individual facts and circumstances surrounding your particular...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  6. What happens if on probation for marijuana less than an ounce and get arrest again but in another county?

    Answered almost 5 years ago.

    1. Cory Earl Yager
    2. Arturo Corso
    2 lawyer answers

    You definitely need to speak with an attorney to discuss the exact timing and sequence of your arrests and probation. If/When Douglas County discovers the Cobb County Arrest, you will probably be facing a probation violation. Depending on whether the Douglas County case was a conditional discharge, a nolo conviction or a guilty plea (which would have triggered a license suspension), the new arrest may cause the conditinal discharge to be withdrawn and a guilty plea entered triggering a...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  7. I recently received a violation of driving license restrictions citation but I wasn't in the vehicle, or driving it. Legal?

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Cory Earl Yager
    1 lawyer answer

    In general, in order to make out this type of case the State of Georgia would need some type of evidence to show that you were driving the vehicle while in violation of your limited driving permit. This type of evidence generally comes from the first hand observations of the police officer issuing the traffic citation. If in fact the vehicle was inoperable (out of gas and flat tire), and the officer and no other State witnesses can put you in operation of the vehicle, then generally the State...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  8. My brother law came into my house and we had words, he headbutted me

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Andrew Frasier Wehunt
    2. Cory Earl Yager
    2 lawyer answers

    From your posting it is unclear what type of caase you are referring to. From a criminal law standpoint, you should consult with a lawyer about the possibility of criminal charges against you. You may have liability for aggravated assault. This is a serious felony. Conviction for this type of charge could have very unfortunate consequences. You may have defenses including an affirmative defense of self defense. Before speaking to the police, you may want to consult an attorney.

  9. Is it possible to beat a Failure to obey traffic control device in Atlanta, Ga?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. James Lawrence Yeargan Jr.
    2. Cory Earl Yager
    2 lawyer answers

    You should definitely go to court. Font just pay the ticket. If in Municipal Court of Atlanta then ask for PTIT traffic which will cost you less and will result in a dismissal of the charges. If you are in Fulton County then ask to speak to the solicitor and ask for a basic rules violation instead of the moving violation.

  10. How can i get my name removed from the national drivers registry??

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Justin Spizman
    2. Cory Earl Yager
    3. Noel H. Benedict
    3 lawyer answers

    Once you are listed on the registry, only the state that placed you on there can remove the record. You need to call the DMV in that State and see what their process is (if any) for removal of these types of records.

Free Consultation. Phones answered 24/7. Several fee options. Credit cards accepted.

404-567-5515