Stephen Lee Coxen’s Reviews

Stephen Lee Coxen

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Around

    Posted by Bill, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As we know time is of the most important when incarcerated. Stephen was very quick and very well prepared for everything that came up. He was easily accessable and kept me and my family imformed of everything that was going on. He was also very helpful even after the charges were dismissed in helping tie up all the lose ends. I would recommend Stephen to anyone for any type of case. He is an endless worker who will do everything in his power to yield the best results possible for any given sitution.

  2. By far the best!!

    Posted by Bill, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen is by far the best around. When I thought there was no way, he found a way and was able to resolve my custody and divorce case w ease. Giving me the upper hand throughout the whole ordeal. Very knowledgeable and he is dedicated to winning a case! I will always consult with him before anyone else!

  3. Father wins custody of son.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Coxen was very professional and went to bat for me in Rockdale County. He ultimately aided in my blessing of winning custody of my son.

  4. Ian

    Posted by Ian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen is the best didn't milk the clock and got what I wanted

  5. 27 years of Hard Labor

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After our first consult, I decided to use Mr Coxen for my divorce. Scared and unsure of my future, after 27 years of marriage (hard labor) Mr Coxen eased most of my fears with his knowledgeable anwsers and explained the process of my divorce. This process was slow as I now come to realize, the court system is overwhelmed with cases. When I would call with questions, he always replied in a timely manner. In the courtroom, I was pleased to see that he was professional, prepared, and respectful. The outcome of this divorce went in my favor. Mr Coxen did a wonderful job. I will call on him in the future. Thanks for all you do.

  6. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Patrick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen is a very professional and knowledgable lawyer. He also excels at comforting his clients and effectively communicating every step of the legal process to them. He is punctual and well-spoken, two qualities every lawyer should have.

  7. Great DUI Defense Lawyer

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In fall of 2009, I was charged with a DUI in the Athens area. I "failed" the field sobriety test as administered by the police officer. Additionally, I took the Intoxilyzer 5000 (the court admissible breathalyzer) and was well over the legal limit.

    Mr. Coxen kept me updated on the status of my case and kept me educated about the legal process. His office sent reminder letters before every court date reminding me of the upcoming date and time that I was to appear in court.

    Despite being out of his home court in Covington, Mr. Coxen worked diligently over a year's time to skillfully negotiate a plea bargain. In the end, my case was reduced to "reckless driving." I was extremely pleased with the outcome. Mr. Coxen is an excellent negotiator and attorney. I would highly recommend him to anyone.

  8. custody case

    Posted by Daniel, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Coxen handled a custody case for us in the state of Georgia a few years back and since we were from out of town and state, we had a challenge since the opposing party knew the Judge and were known. But, with wisdom and patience, Mr Coxen made it known that we would win inspite of the uphill battle. But in the end we were victorious and it was Mr Coxen's ability to use knowledge and in being calm during the day in court. Mr Coxen, helped us win the case even though the odds were stacked against us. Good Job Mr Coxen!!!

  9. Good Attorney

    Posted by Terrence D., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When getting legal advice, or getting ready to hire a good lawyer you always want to go with the older guys to handle your case. Well when I met Stephen I asked myself is he still in school, I mean he’s still a kid, and I was thinking that there was no way I’m going to let him handle my divorce, well I was wrong. You can't judge a book by its cover. However giving him the benefit of the doubt, I stuck with him, and gave it a shot. I knew I was putting my case on the line, but I left it in Stephen’s hands to do what he had to do, and still till this today I don’t regret it at all. I was glad that I stuck with him, and didn’t go anywhere else, even though I didn’t like the law firm that he was working for, I stayed with him. I really overcame my fears the first day in court, I really felt at ease when he was speaking to the judge, as well as the opposing attorney. Before getting on the stand to be questioned he coached me, talked me through some things, and assured me that I would be fine. He kept me posted of everything that was going on with my case rather we were in, or out of the court room. If I had questions, and couldn't reach him, and had to leave messages, he would call back immediately. If ever in a situation again where I need legal help, and I hope not, then Stephen is the man for the job. What’s great about him is a year or so after my divorce was final I saw him at a local restaurant, I approached him, spoke and without me telling him who I was, he said my name and we talked as if we’ve know each other for years, one thing for sure he doesn’t forget his past clients which is good. .

  10. Custody Battle Over My Own Two Daughters

    Posted by Toby G., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Coxen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was actually battling court in Kentucky when the case got transferred to Georgia. I called and Hired Stephen Coxen then met him when I got to Georgia. We dicussed my case, he took it. We went to court Several times, Honestly, I had my doubts in the begining, due to the fact that it was my sister we were fighting for My Own 2 Children! But At the end... Stephen Proved me so wrong!! Stephen worked very hard on my case, Long and tiresome hours he worked to win my case. He presented my case to the judge and it turned out to be One Glorious Rewarding Day!!! :) I got my children back! Stephen Coxen Did All The Work, Prepared My Info and My case, Presented it to the Judge, We WON!!! For all the hard work and devotion that Stephen put into my case... It all paid off!!
    You know sometimes you have these lawyers that just have a straight strickly Professional relationship with their clients, where both the client and the lawyer are almost completely uncomfortable even being in the court room together! When I hired Stephen Coxen, I hired him out of Trust and Faith over the phone! When I met him a few days later in Covington, Georgia and we discussed my case, He felt for sure that he could handle it... And... He Did Just That!!
    It's nearly been 4 years since Stephen Coxen won my case and I am Happy to say that He and I are Still Friends!!!! So, Not Only did Stephen Win Me Back My Children... I Won A Friend!! He is A Really Guy Lawyer!! :) I am Very Happy with the out come of my case and so my children. Its not that often a client finds a Great Lawyer and a Great Friend! I do consider myself lucky!! :) :) :):)