John R.C. Bowen’s Reviews

John R.C. Bowen

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Competent Representation

    Posted by James, a Maritime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • John handled my Admiralty / Maritime matter.

    Mr. Bowen and I have worked on numerous maritime cases over the years. We have had cases in Florida and Mississippi and at all times I found him competent, skillful and knowledgeable. I have no doubt that if a maritime matter arose in South Carolina I would either associate with Mr. Bowen or refer it to him directly.

  2. John Bowen is not only a good reliable attourney, but an honest and fine gentleman.

    Posted by Robert, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    First and foremost John Bowen has always had knowledgeable advice as to how to proceed in any situation. He has handled a contract dispute and a construction situation for me successfully. His follow through is right on time. I never need to worry that my litigation is being attended to. And in addition he is a sincere and honest fine man.

  3. RECOMMENDATION FOR MR. JOHN BOWEN

    Posted by Paul, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I never had the need for an attorney until I retired in 2006 and planned a move to South Carolina. At that time needing legal help I contacted a friend who recommended Mr. John Bowen. John has acted as my attorney and counseled me on several personal matters since 2006. John has an amazing grasp of the law and is intimately involved in the details of every case. He is also a very practical person who understand human nature and how best to resolve an issue. He is able to see thru the chaff and attack the root of the problem. John is a very courteous person who treats everyone with the utmost of respect but that persona belies a steely resolve. It is only due to John’s intellect and tenacity that my legal problems were successfully resolved. I strongly recommend Mr. Bowen to anyone desiring a very accomplished attorney.

  4. John Bowen review

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Bowen is currently handling a case for me and several others re: employment termination. He is very responsive, aggressive, diplomatic, informed and professional. I believe he wants a wrong to be acknowledged and righted. He is complimented by a very supportive staff. I have nothing but confidence in him.

  5. An Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Paul, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As president of a non-profit SC Horizontal Property Regime for dock slips, over the past 3 years I have turned to Mr. Bowen to resolve 3 foreclosure situations (2 handled directly by our regime versus a bank). Other work included a drawn out rules violation case and successful resolution including a large legal fee reimbursement for this. A recent minor rules action was successfully and expeditiously handled by Mr. Bowen. We recently made Mr. Bowen our SC Registered Agent.

  6. Litigator

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We met Mr. Bowen in December of 2006 under extreme and infuriating circumstances. My husband's sister at 87 years of age had her house and financial ability to sustain her living in the position her late husband left her taken away by unscrupulous relatives and their attorney. Mr. Bowen took this case and lived it 24 hours a day for over one and a half years with us until he achieved a complete restoration of all assets in a very complicated case. We have known a number of attorneys over the years but never someone so determined and knowledgeable using every ability that this man gained over the years to help a family in distress.
    We are not only grateful to him but if asked we would advise anyone if they had a need of a great attorney call Mr. John R.C. Bowen.

  7. ATTORNEY WITH A CONSCIENCE

    Posted by Paul, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Bowen has represented me on several personal and business issues over the past 15 years. I have watched Mr. Bowen not only represent me but other people and the one thing that sticks out is John will Always treat Every case like it is his Only case putting the needs of his clients First. John is the only "Attorney With a Conscience" that I have ever dealt with and would Highly recommend his firm the next time you need professional advice or help. If Mr. Bowen doesn't think he can help you better than anyone else he will refer you to someone that can...Period. Do not expect that from most firms. John Bowen is a highly respected and well know attorney who seems to "know everyone"...
    John has represented me in Business Law, Maritime Law, Real Estate, Personal Injury, Licensing, and Disputes.

  8. Stroud vs Wells Fargo

    Posted by Mark, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Bowen has been one of the most professional and informative individuals that I've ever had the chance to work with. I feel blessed that he has my case.

  9. Jack H. Biel, Esq. review of John R. C. Bowen

    Posted by Jack, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have known John Bowen for many years as a fellow member of the bar but never got to really know his ability as a lawyer until he was my lawyer in a case of first impression in S.C. As a plaintiff we were in litigation for over ten years beginning with mediation through the circuit court, appellate court & ultimately to the S. C. Supreme Court. I cannot say enough to express how good he was in his knowledge of the law, his ability in manuevering through the various levels of the court system & his knowledge of the various tools we had available to adequately present my case. He was truly devoted to my case, kept me informed & was always available to discuss potential decisions we had to make to advance my case to it's successful conclusion. I would highly recommend John & his partner Drew Laughlin to anybody needing high quality litigation skills.

  10. His service was excellent.

    Posted by Clifford, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Bowen.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have known John Bowen for years and he has proven over and over his ability, his efforts, his fairness, his responsiveness, his resourcefulness, and his professional ethics. I would highly recommend John R. C. Bowen to anyone seeking quality, experience, and a defender of their legal rights. It has been my experience that John is a true legal professional and a gentleman. His service was excellent.