Cherie T. Barton’s Reviews

Cherie T. Barton

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I would not recommend Ms. Barton as a defense divorce attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would not recommend her as a defense divorce attorney.. She was not proactive. I did not feel she fought for me. She allowed the Plaintiff to reign over all the decisions. It's as if she was distracted and not totally engaged in my well being. I felt there were meeting unneeded as she was unprepared, yet she charged $250.00 per hour.

  2. Separation/Divorce

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I consulted with Cherie a number of times regarding my divorce. Her assistance was invaluable in the navigation of a potentially very messy divorce. In the end her advice and solid consultations resulted in a fair and amicable separation and divorce that benefitted myself and my children.

  3. Cherie T. Barton

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cherie represented me in a divorce/child custody case. She always conducted herself in a professional manner. In addition, her staff was responsive to my inquiries. She was excellent at keeping me informed and abreast of my divorce proceedings. She provided me with a reasonable level of expectations and did not make promises she could not keep. She was well connected, well informed and knowledgeable. I would recommend Cherie to others in my situation, and would not hesitate to use her again.

  4. Best Lawyer in Town !!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie more than 3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cherie is a great attroney and I would recommend her to anyone. She was up front and honest with us on everything and didn't sugercoat it. She also told us what she expected from us and we did everthing she asked. Again I would recommend her and sing her praises.

  5. Cherie Barton

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    She seemed to be more about the Money, than about helping me.
    Her legal writing skills were so poor that in the end she cost me significant grief in the loop holes she left in the writing of the Divorce Decree. She was certainly NOT worth the money she charged!!!

  6. Great attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have been divorced, and used a different attorney. I was so dissatisfied with his service, I sought a new lawyer when it came to terminating my ex's rights. This is a very complex case, and I will say that Cherie has her stuff together. We are only half way through this process, but I most certainly trust Cherie, and feel that she will do the best job.

  7. satisfied client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie 1-3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Ms. Barton on a referral from a friend who had been very satisfied with her concerning divorce. I knew nothing about the divorce process and as it turned out had a very complicated situation. She was very informative with me from the beginning and was always willing to answer my many questions. The whole process was very hard,but I found that my choice of an attorney made things much better for me. Ms. Barton was always available to speak with me and would return my calls even on the weekends. I feel that she represented me in the best fashion possible and I have been very satisfied with the completed divorce settlement. This is not a situation that anyone wants to find themselves in, but I found the process much easier to navigate with a good attorney

  8. Terrible

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cherie Barton.
    • I hired Cherie more than 3 years ago.
    • Cherie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cherie was constantly stressed out and distracted, didn't understand my particular divorce situation and did not keep me in the loop. She overcharged me to set up a POA and a will and did so little on my divorce that I ended up going with another lawyer. Though he was more expensive, I learned that you get what you pay for. I will say that Cherie appears to be trustworthy but the poor service she and her office provide (or don't provide in this case) far outweighs any good she might do.