Kenneth W Harrell’s Answers

Kenneth W Harrell

Charleston Workers' Compensation Lawyer.

Contributor Level 8
  1. I was injured at work I got a lawyer to represent me the insurance compan settled and my lawyer advised me to take the 1st offer

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Mishka L Marshall
    3. Bobby L. Bollinger Jr.
    4. Tatiana Kadetskaya
    5. Charles Joseph Michael Candiano
    5 lawyer answers

    Most likely not. I assume you're asking if you have any recourse against your attorney since you certainly have no further recourse in your workers' compensation claim if you've signed a release. I don't handle legal malpractice claims but it would take an egregious set of facts to make such a claim work based on your summary. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your settlement.

    Selected as best answer

  2. Do my employer still have to pay me when workmans comp is involved?

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Ryan S Montgomery
    3. John M Connell
    4. David J. McCormick
    5. David J McAuliff
    5 lawyer answers

    Based on your summary, you should be paid workers' compensation benefits for your missed time. Weekly disability benefits are paid in South Carolina when your injury results in physical restrictions which your employer is unable to accommodate. The weekly benefit paid would be 2/3rds of your pre-accident average weekly gross wages. For example, if your average weekly gross wages before the accident were $600, your workers' compensation weekly check would be $400.

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  3. Slip and fall at work while pregnant and it been almost 6 months can I still sue.

    Answered about 2 months ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Ryan S Montgomery
    3. Daniel Nathan Hughey
    4. John Michael Phillips
    5. Scott M. Anderson
    5 lawyer answers

    As long as your employer received notice (and it certainly sounds like they did) of your work injury within 90 days of it occurring, you can still bring a workers' compensation claim as the statute of limitations for the same in South Carolina is two years. Those are the two primary time deadlines for an injured worker in SC (notice within 90 days of the accident and the filing of a claim within two years).

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. I got hurt on the job i have no health insurance and my employer does not have workers comp

    Answered 2 months ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Ryan S Montgomery
    3. Heather A Lottmann
    4. John M Connell
    4 lawyer answers

    First question - does your employer regularly employ four or more people? If so, your employer is subject to the Workers' Compensation Act and you can prosecute your case with the Uninsured Employers Fund. If your employer is not subject to the act, your employer could consider helping you with your treatment costs but it would be a purely charitable action as I don't see any legal basis for requiring them to pay the same unless your employer (or a co-worker) did something negligent to cause...

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Slip and fell on a wet floor at work 2011. received workers comp 2012 did not work at all. neck and back disc bulging. hurting

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Ryan S Montgomery
    2. Kenneth W Harrell
    3. Christopher Daniel Leroi
    4. Brett A. Borah
    4 lawyer answers

    First, if you had a lawyer representing you, you need to call him or her to get input on this. I don't feel comfortable giving a definitive answer on this based on a short summary although it sounds like it is unlikely that you can "re-open" your case, at least when it comes to getting more disability benefits. SC workers' comp case are typically settled in one of two ways - per a clincher (which is a final release ending the claim) or on a Form 16 (which does allow you to file a change of...

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. I was injured on the job and the doctor prescribed medication I must take for the rest of my life ,will workers comp pay this?

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Ryan S Montgomery
    3. Alton Lamar Martin Jr.
    4. Christian K. Lassen II
    4 lawyer answers

    Whether the workers' compensation insurance carrier will pay for this treatment in the future will depend on two primary factors. These are: 1) how strong the medical evidence is of a causal connection between your original work injury and the subsequent conditions you developed (from your summary, it certainly sounds like such a connection exists) and 2) how you settle your claim. On both of these factors, you would benefits from legal representation. I would urge you to speak with an...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  7. I settled a workers comp. case where the idemnity was settled but he medical was open for life. I have recently been awarded my

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Kenneth W Harrell
    2. Bobby L. Bollinger Jr.
    3. George Ellis Corson IV
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with Bobby. The "release" the carrier wants you to sign is most likely an authorization form allowing it to obtain records from Socual Security confirming the nature of your Medicare coverage. Tread carefully with the resolution of your medical coverage and, if you had a lawyer for your claim, seek his or her input. The insurance carrier would have to establish a Medicare set-aside account which you would use to pay for your treatment related to your work injuries. Medicare will not...

    Selected as best answer

  8. How many months can workers comp temporary total payments last? Is there a maximum set time limit?

    Answered 3 months ago.

    1. Ryan S Montgomery
    2. Kenneth W Harrell
    3. Robert F. Goings
    4. John R McCravy III
    5. David Brian Snyder
    5 lawyer answers

    You can receive up to 500 weeks of temporary, total disability benefits. This is the maximum amount recoverable for all indemnity benefits under South Carolina law (including permanent disability benefits) unless you qualify for lifetime benefits due to a physical brain injury or paralysis (including partial paralysis). If you end up totally and permanently disabled, the insurance carrier will receive a credit towards the 500 weeks of maximum compensation for all weeks of temporary, total...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. Is a lawyer allowed to take a portion of back pay in a workers comp claim in south carolina?

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Ryan S Montgomery
    2. Kenneth W Harrell
    3. Charles Joseph Michael Candiano
    4. David J McAuliff
    4 lawyer answers

    It depends on the contingent fee contract but in most cases, the answer would be "yes." Our law firm's fee contract states that the contingent fee applies to any lump sum recoveries, including a payment for back-owed benefits. However, we use our judgment on when to charge a fee on this amount. As Mr. Montgomery noted, a lot of it depends on how much work we had to do. If it was a denied case and we had to try the case (or come close to a hearing) to get the carrier to pick up the claim, we...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. Can I still report my former employer to OSHA and file a lawsuit for not giving me workers comp 11 months after the incident?

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Ryan S Montgomery
    2. Kenneth W Harrell
    3. Alton Lamar Martin Jr.
    4. David J McAuliff
    4 lawyer answers

    You should still be able to file a claim based on your factual summary. There are two time requirements for a workers' compensation claim in South Carolina. The first is that you must give notice of your claim to your employer within 90 days. It sounds as if you satisfied this requirement. Second, there is a two-year statute of limitations, which are are well within. You may see the employer try to fight the claim contending that they did not receive proper notice (it wouldn't be the first...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer