Matthew Vernon Silva’s Reviews

Matthew Vernon Silva

Average Rating

Based on 47 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Man, The Myth, The Silva

    Posted by Rex,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Mathew Vernon Silva is by far the best attorney to ever have on this planet. The man takes care of you. Makes sure you are understanding of the actions he is going to take before, during, and after everything is all said and done with. He is extremely professional. My experience with Mr. Silva as my legal representative was outstanding. He broke down everything to me that I could understand. When we took trial he had me well prepared to everything the D.A. was going to try to use against me. We won the case and I busted out into tears. The man single handedly helped me salvage my life back into control and made sure my military career was saved with a honorable discharge. I EXTREMELY recommend his legal representation for DWI's and any other legal issues. He's a go getter and takes your matters very seriously and is flat out incredible. He is flat out a good dude and takes his job to new professional heights.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Rex: Thank you so much for the great review. I know this situation felt like a million pounds with all the pressure the military was putting on you. I am happy that you can move on with your life and future endeavors. If you ever need anything, or know someone who needs help, please contact us! Remember to keep in touch.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. Better than the best of the best!

    Posted by William,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    I had Matt represent me in a criminal case involving some rather outrageous allegations made against me. He was recommended to me by another well respected attorney in the Onslow County, NC area. Matt was always highly professional, accurate, timely, and genuine in all of his interactions with me. He ended the fight before it even began, and the charges were dropped before the trial ever even took place.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      William: Thank you for the great review. I wish this case could have been dismissed a long time ago. I am happy that you can move on with your life without this situation bogging you down. If you need to have this taken off of your record, give us a call! Best of luck in all your future endeavors!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. Thank You!

    Posted by Colleen,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Thank you Matt for helping us during this difficult time. I highly recommend your services as you were completely professional!

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Colleen:

      It was a pleasure working with you and your family. If there is ever anything I can do for you or your family, please let me know!

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Matt is Awesome!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    I was charged with 20+ felony charges and Matt was able to get them all dropped!! I didn't end up having probation or anything! I don't know how he does it but he knows what he is doing! He is a very confident lawyer and was very attentive to my questions and concerns! If you need legal assistance don't use anyone else!

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      You didn't leave your name, but I have a pretty good idea who you are. Thank you for leaving the positive review. I am happy that all of your charges were dismissed . . . I know it was a long and stressful road for you but at least you can move forward with your goals and dreams. If you ever need anything, please feel free to contact me.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  5. AMAZING LAWYER!

    Posted by Adrianne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Matt literally saved my butt as my pen was hitting the paper!
    Having previously decided against a lawyer, having never had one before and being un educated, I thought that with how short of notice I was giving them that price would be out the roof. That being said, I decided to bite the bullet and take whatever was coming my way (which would have resulted in outrageous points on my license, extreme increase in insurance and if I was not able to pay the 600$ in fees the day of- a suspended license. And all of this because I forgot to go to traffic school! I know Matt from him and his colleagues coming into my restaurant for lunch some days, so I was familiar with him and the type of work he does. I literally was about to sign my name for a payment plan of fees after my court date, HOPING I could get it paid off before my license revocation arrived. Matt pops up behind me, tells me not to sign it, we talk briefly, and he takes on my case. With a continuance (which also allowed me to gain the funds in whole), Matt got EVERYTHING taken care of. No points on my poor little license, no increase in insurance, no suspension (which would have increased my insurance AGAIN), and all my worries completely out the window. His secretary Melissa is awesome in answering questions and helping however she can and helped make this process painless. I would suggest Matt Silva to anyone looking for a lawyer in the area. He really did save my butt and made the process entirely painless. Thank you Matt!!!

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Since you didn't use your name, neither will I. Thank you for the opportunity to help you out. I am glad we got your situation resolved and I am glad that I happened to be there before you signed your license away! If we can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to call! Sometimes, having an attorney is cheaper than handling a matter yourself! See you at the restaurant!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. BEST ATTORNEY EVER!!!!

    Posted by Andrea,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Matthew Silva is the most AMAZING attorney. He worked very hard for me and my case. He was very professional and great to work with. Mr. Silva got all my charges dismissed very quickly. He seemed to work very well with the District Attorney. i made the best choice by choosing him for my attorney and was well worth the money. I would recommend him to anyone. from the smallest of charges to as big as first degree murder! Anyone would be lucky to have him represent you. sincerely, Andrea Gordon

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I enjoyed working with you and your family. Now that this has been dismissed, I hope you can return to your plans! If you ever need anything, please feel free to contact me or my office. Best of luck in all of your future endeavors!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  7. Mr. Silva and his firm will take OWNERSHIP OF YOUR DILEMMA unlike NO OTHER

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Mr. Silva and his firm will OWN your dilemma and fight with TRUE LOYALTY, as opposed to the standard "Go through the motions" attorneys who simply take your money and play the game as the system demands, Working with such a "system" lawyer will insure that your fate is indeed pre-determined due to everybody, including your lawyer, playing their normal role in a scenario oft repeated ad nauseum.
    The previous lawyer who was helping me "fight" the questionable accusations put forth by the local law enforcement and assistant DA was a CLOSE FRIEND OF THE DA AND THE COPS THEMSELVES! It is impossible to gain headway going against the agenda of the cops and the DA if the attorney himself is in league with these very same people!
    This is where Mr. Silva and his firm contrast with all others. He has demonstrated his fearlessness in bucking the system, such that your need for justice is paramount, regardless of the number of feathers he is forced to ruffle in the status quo "Good ole boy network" that most hapless victims, such as myself, find themselves in. In other words, in contrast to virtually ALL attorneys having allegiance only to this very system where they have forged their day in day out work world, Matt will have his allegiance and loyalty only for YOU, his client. Not only that, but he compassionately uses his calm and soothing professional manner to fully explain all aspects of your case such that your overwhelming feelings of helplessness and victimization dissipates and begins to be replaced with hope. He is always willing without hesitation to answer your questions and address your concerns to your satisfaction, often sacrificing his own personal time to insure that your needs are met.
    With such an unfailing demonstration of character and integrity, I am now proud to call Matt my friend.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for this terrific review. I have always been happy to represent you and I will be happy to represent you in the future. I hope that you never need a lawyer again and I hope that all of your other litigation ends swiftly. I know this was a terrible two years, but you kept your integrity and character intact when so many others would have fallen short. I look forward to seeing you again soon - on a social level!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  8. Expect to be ignored.

    Posted by Tiffany,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Silva.

    I went with these guys because they were inexpensive, and seemed friendly enough. I forked over my entire payment in full all at once, and then I never heard from them again. Every time I called to ask about driving classes I needed to take, it was "I don't know and I don't have any information for you, let me have them call you back" from the receptionist (the Jacksonville location has nice receptionists, their other location, not so much). Almost 6 months later, I'm reaching my deadline, and one of the receptionists magically has the information I need all of a sudden after I've called them back (with no return calls or updates) for what feels like the fiftieth time. She emails me some info and tells me that no one ever needed to call me back after all. I'm livid. I'm frustrated. With all the wonderful reviews, I felt a false sense of security choosing them to represent me, and now I feel overwhelmingly let down.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Tiffany: I am sorry that you had a bad experience, but I did not represent you. If an attorney at my other location represented you, please call and speak with me and I will resolve whatever issue you had with that attorney.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  9. Matthew is the one for any difficult legal needs.

    Posted by angel.2day0912,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    Don't need a lawyer at present but if I find myself in another situation I know who to call.
    Matthew is the best at what he does and very compassionate to his clients as well. He will go out of his way to be helpful in any way he can. So Please if you find your self in a bad situation, where you need a great lawyer call Matthew and tell him Donna sent you. You will NOT be sorry I promise. I know he has made his family and loved ones proud of his work for others. Can't say enough GREAT!!! Attorney.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Donna: Thank you for the positive review. I have watched several people find themselves in terrible situations and I hope I helped alleviate yours. If there is anything I can do for you or your family, please let me know.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  10. Best attorney ever for your needs

    Posted by Donna,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.

    This lawyer took a very difficult case to trial for my daughter. He kept us informed at all times of what was happening. He was in constant contact with us through out the trial. He was helpful in any way possible with needs and emotions through the trial. He has a wonderful caring personality to others.
    I would recommend him to anyone that needs a great attorney.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am glad your daughter was found not guilty of all charges. It was a difficult case and I am very pleased with the outcome. If you know of someone in need of legal services, please send them to my office. Thank you for sticking with her for the duration of the trial!

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

910-333-9833