Matthew Vernon Silva’s Reviews

Matthew Vernon Silva

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly competent attorney.

    Posted by Vickie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Not only did Matt work fast on my issue but he took my current medical condition into consideration and gave me a affordable rate that I could work with. My inquiries were answered by the skillful staff quickly and completely. I would highly recommend Matt and his staff for any legal needs. Thank you, Matt.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Vickie. I appreciate the comment! It was a pleasure to work with you!

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  2. GREAT LAWYER!!!

    Posted by Jason, a Class Action client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Class Action matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Matt and his team treated me and my wife with respect and were great at handling our case. I felt that Matt Went above and beyond gathering the necessary evidence it took to successfully win the case.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Jason. If I can ever be of service, please feel free to contact me or the firm. I look forward to a long-lasting business relationship.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  3. Outstanding

    Posted by Brian, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Matt Silva is highly knowledgable and give sound legal a advice. I have used him from everything from divorce to corporate issues.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Brian: Thank you for the positive review. You are a great person to work with and I look forward to a long business relationship. I believe you have a strong corporate structure and will thrive in the coming years. If there is anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact my firm.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. Mattew Silva is a great lawyer

    Posted by Bryce, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Silva to represent me in Jacksonville, NC one year and seven months ago. I was charged with second offense DWI and first offense DWLR. I was facing fairly serious charges with serious consequences so I knew I had to hire the best lawyer I could. I talked to Mr. Silva in person shortly after I called his office. After reviewing my file he informed me that will try his best to win this case. Mr. Silvia's prior background in procecuting cases makes him a great defense lawyer. My case lasted a year and seven months and I only had to appear one time. This was a huge benefit since I am a marine. Mr. Silva was able to get both of my charges dropped completely.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Bryce:

      Thank you for the positive feedback! I wish the trial could have happened sooner, but the result was worth the wait. If you ever need anything again, please do not hesitate to contact me or our law firm.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  5. Highly recommended

    Posted by Trista, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Silva in 2012 for DUI charges. He was very easy to work with. Very friendly and knowledgeable. I would not recommend anyone else for this type of case. I was very happy with the service he provided.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very happy at the outcome of your case. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let us know!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. Meet expectatons through adversity

    Posted by Kamal, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Silva was excellent about explaining my situation to me. My only complaint about Silva's service is that since I live 3000 miles away I was not properly informed. This problem I think was caused by lack of communication. Through this miscommunication Silva advocated for my to be seen by a judge during a trial that was in progress. Overall I was pretty satisfied with his service.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Kamal: I am sorry that you felt you were not kept informed. The problem with criminal charges is that the law requires the Office of the District Attorney to provide trial/docket notices ten days prior to the actual date. As such, our office must anticipate when you will have to travel. The Firm knew you would have to be present for your last court date ten days prior to the date. I wish we could have given you more time, but we were limited to what the law provides. In any event, your case is going to be dismissed . . . so I hope that makes up for the problem of communication.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  7. THANK YOU!!!

    Posted by MOISE, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was in Jacksonville North Carolina one year ago. I was traveling to visit friends and drove from NY to NC on a short period of time. I pulled into a driveway after hanging with my friend to put directions in my phone and next thing I know a random woman pulled-in behind me speaking on the phone to someone, long behold it was the sheriff department. I had no idea what was going on, the police officer proceeded with DUI/DWI procedures with me and I was not happy with it at all. I have been pulled over before, at least not while I am not driving the vehicle or in the vehicle, I had out-of-state license plates and not aware of my surrounding, so because I refused the Alcohol Breath Test he arrested me. I was so confused and needed some help on what just happened and what was I going to do from this point. I returned to NY in the next few days and like most, I received lots mail from other Attorneys mailing me asking to represent me. I called many of them in that town, they did not have a set price and some did not make feel confident as if they would have my best interest at heart. I finally spoke with Mr. Silva’s office which he made me feel like my situation was unique and he wanted to represent me and offered me a set price for my case not a penny more. I chose him base on his knowledge, years of experience as prosecutor and he was very up front and was willing to talk to me about the case for while without charging me for anything. I had a long hard year of this case, but I couldn't be more pleased with the outcome. Mr. Silva has been nothing short of amazing, professional throughout the whole process, his legal teams are the best; I was always greeted with a wonderful greeting on the phone and great service by Amber and his staff. I would highly recommend Mr. Silva. Thank you!

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Moise, I cannot say how happy I am that your case was dismissed. You were a pleasure to work with. I had a strong belief, in the beginning, that the case would have a positive outcome, but there are always uncertainties. Thank you for choosing my law firm and allowing us to represent you. If you have any other needs in NC, please do not hesitate to call! Sincerely, Matt Silva.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  8. Simply Amazing !!!

    Posted by damaris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was stationed in North Carolina in the Marine Corps and was arrested and charged with 5 felonies,although he was never in any previous trouble the degree of the charges were extreme and he was looking at mandatory jail time. We live in Florida and when we looked into lawyers in North Carolina Mr.Silva had great reviews,we called him and he was honest about the situation and what he could do for us ,we put our faith into him from states away knowing nothing about north Carolina laws, when we met at the jail in person he gave me hope and spoke truthfully about the case, he was extremely nice to us and our son making sure my son was okay daily while he was in jail and very knowledgeable about my son's situation, my son had a 250000 secured bond and only spent 3 weeks in jail and was released at 1200 dollars bond, Mr.Silva took care of our legal issues without us having to return to North Carolina ,his charges were dropped to misdemeanors and only received unsupervised probation and court fees, my son almost lost many years of his life for a childish mistake ,so to us Mr.Silva was a true blessing and we are truly grateful to him for his hard work, we will never forget him and believe he is worth every penny...he is the man to have on your side......THANK YOU MR.SILVA !!!!!

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for this review! I enjoyed working with you and your family and I hope nothing but the best for you in the future. I am very pleased that this situation was resolved with a positive solution. If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to call. You are a valued client and I will always be willing to help.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  9. Recommendations

    Posted by Ammar almaraisi, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    He is the best when you talk to him he make you fell that he is the best and star work you case right a way with consedration more then you self he will be the best Attorny in town ever

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much, Mr. Almaraisi. I will do my best to help you with any legal matter. You are a valued client and I look forward to building a long business relationship.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  10. Would HIGHLY Recommend-Best I dealt with

    Posted by Brian B,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Silva.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had dealt w/ a few attorneys concerning the same matter and he demonstrated more competence and sincere desire to help than any others. He provided us some comforting but realistic expectations for our potentially devastating situation and educated us on the process and how the court system works. I would highly recommend Matt for any legal matter for which he could represent you for.

    1. Matthew Vernon Silva

      Matthew Silva

      Lawyer Comment:

      Brian:

      I really appreciate the positive feedback. I know that it was a tough situation and I know it was an incredibly difficult road. I hope you and your family have found some measure of relief now that it is over. If you ever need anything in the future, please let me know.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag