Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.’s Answers

Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.

Wilmington Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 11
  1. What should I do to have a drug paraphernalia charge and possession of spirituous liquor dropped from my record?

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    1 lawyer answer

    You should absolutely get a lawyer to help you. There are first offenders programs that may be available to you to keep your record clean. An attorney will be in a better position to negotiate a favorable disposition with the District Attorney.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  2. If i do the 90 day program at Dart Cherry, will that time come off my 6 month sentence?

    Answered 12 months ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    2. Anthony Michael Solis
    2 lawyer answers

    Yes. Dart Cherry is a custodial program. It will count towards your 6 months.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  3. Motion for appropriate relief for speeding misdemeanors.

    Answered 12 months ago.

    1. Mary Guy Mendini
    2. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    3. Stephen Ross Cohen
    3 lawyer answers

    It really depends on the position of the District Attorney, and whether you actually have legal grounds for the MAR. One reason would be that you did not have an attorney and did not sign a waiver of counsel. Some DA's will consent to setting aside a plea of this type, while others never do. It would benefit you to hire an experienced lawyer that might be able to get you in front of a good DA and good judge.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  4. Suspended liscence with not one but two FTAs.

    Answered 12 months ago.

    1. Kimberly Ann Olsinski
    2. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    3. George Wilmarth Nickel III
    3 lawyer answers

    The DMV restoration fee is separate from the court fines and FTA fee. You should bring proof that you sold the car when you go to the courthouse. If you are able to speak to an ADA, they might dismiss it since the car was sold. If not, I would hire a lawyer to try to get it dismissed for you. The attorney's fee should be less than the fine, costs and FTA fee. Then all you would have to pay is the DMV reinstatement fee.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  5. Do i Need a lawyer and what should I do for speeding 75mph in a 35 mph w/ reckless driving in North Carolina?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    1 lawyer answer

    You do need and attorney. Both charges are criminal offenses in NC. They also could result in a revocation of your license. In some counties, jail would be a possibility.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  6. I need an attorney to advise me on what i can do?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    2. Christian K. Lassen II
    3. Lars A. Lundeen
    3 lawyer answers

    The state where the accident occurred will have a significant impact on whether an attorney will take your case. North Carolina is one of only a few states in which contributory negligence is a complete bar to recovery. That means that even if you were only partially at fault, you cannot recover. If the accident occurred in another state, you may have a better chance of recovery. Consult an attorney in the state where the accident occurred immediately.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  7. Is improper equipment a preferred reduced charge vs requesting a PJC? Caught on radar @ 70 in a 55 zone. Clean record > 3 yr

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. William Lee Percise III
    2. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    3. Kellie Chappell Gonzalez
    3 lawyer answers

    Mr. Percise is absolutely correct. Improper equipment should be the first option, followed by 9-over. There are many courts that will chastise a parent that shows up in place of a son or daughter. I would highly recommend hiring an attorney if the driver is unavailable. It is usually not a good idea to try to call before the court date. There are simply too many cases in the system for the ADA's to deal with them in that manner.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  8. Is it legal for a 16 year old boy to have sex with a 24 year old???

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Tony E. Rollman
    2. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    3. Matthew Vernon Silva
    3 lawyer answers

    The age of consent in NC is 16, so it is legal.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  9. Any merit in MAR due to ingestion of Xanax, Klonopin, Trazedone at time of plea?

    Answered 12 months ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    1 lawyer answer

    If the defendant's plea was not knowing and voluntary due to impairment, then it may be possible to set it aside. You should be aware that answering the questions in the plea transcript falsely could subject the defendant to additional charges.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  10. I had a first time DUI. completed my community service and all but one alcohol class. Time has passed. what do I do?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Dennis H. Sullivan Jr.
    2. Randall Ross Howell
    3. F. "Bill" William Powers
    4. Charles Elwood Soechting Jr.
    4 lawyer answers

    If you did not complete the treatment in a timely manner, then you will need to have a new assessment and start the treatment over. You will not be eligible for a license until you have completed everything and the 508 form is sent to DMV from the assessing agency. Any limited privilege you have had expires one year from the date of your conviction. It CANNOT be extended while you complete the classes, so you are not eligible to drive after it expires.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful