Lloyd T. Kelso’s Reviews

Lloyd T. Kelso

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.

    Lloyd Kelso proved to be an exceptional divorce lawyer. It is obvious that he has years of experience and is extremely knowledgeable. He was continually looking for ways to minimize the cost of representation for me without compromising quality.

  2. Spent thousands thanks for absolutely nothing!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd 1-3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I spent thousands. My son is 8 years old & i still dont get child support. Single mom ripped off & i get no child support unless i spend thousands more. My custody order isnt even finished. Thanks loyd i will not pay you bill in which you sent me requesting even more money even though i have gotten nothing from you!

    1. Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lawyer Comment:

      Client refused to cooperate and discharged attorney prior to completion of services and refused to pay for services rendered in violation of fee agreement that was signed by client.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd 1-3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At the time I hired Mr. Kelso, I had been working to bring resolution to my child custody and equitable distribution case for almost two years. Two prior attorneys worked on my case. I regarded neither of them as trustworthy or responsive. Mr. Kelso was a breath of fresh air. He listened to my story without judgment, and he empathized with me as a father who was trying to ensure that his right to have a quality relationship with his daughter was protected. Mr. Kelso was always responsive to my phone calls and he or his paralegal Debra was prompt in communicating changes in the disposition of my case. Mr. Kelso work diligently to provide me with the best results while minimizing legal expenses including travel as my case was in the Lincoln County court systems some 3 hours away from where I work and live. In the end, Mr. Kelso, using his extensive knowledge of family law and adept negotiating skills, was able to obtain a reasonable resolution to my case outside the court system. I am pleased with the outcome. I would highly recommend Mr. Kelso’s family law services.

  4. Making sense of the wheelbarrow

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Most people when faced with obtaining legal counsel typically find themselves in unknown territory and are frightened, confused, and emotional. This was my case when I was served with papers by my ex husband in regards to alimony and child custody. I went to Mr. Kelso completely devasted by the turn of events and Mr. Kelso explained his job as one of not only legal counsel, but spiritual guidance as well. He said oftentimes his clients bring a wheelbarrow full of stuff and it is his job to try to make sense of it all and help his client make sense of it all as well. There are always two sides to every story and it always takes two to get to the point of hiring or needing an attorney, but where Mr. Kelso helped me the most was making me look inward at myself, realizing how things got to this point, and emphasizing the Christian aspect that we are all sinners saved alone by God's grace. Whatever your beliefs, this is extremely comforting when faced with the prospect of possibly losing one's children. I dealt with much evil, lying, and manipulation from those putting me through this legal ordeal, but Mr. Kelso from the beginning said we would stand on the truth and that we did. We did not go to trial and I feel like I got the best deal possible in mediation - most importantly that my children were not taken away. One of the most valuable, and yes time consuming, things Mr. Kelso had me do was write "my story". In it I wrote how I felt my marriage had been, what got me to the point of divorce, and the aftermath. Looking back at my marriage and putting it on paper had a healing affect for me - I was able to objectly look at my part in the demise of our marriage. Oftentimes you hear couples divoricng always blaming one for a specific reason and this just isn't the case...it does take two to get to that point. Mr. Kelso is extremely knowledgable in his field of family law and helped me tremdously - both legally and most importantly to me - spiritually. And...after all the legal drama is over, I believe most people would also want peace of mind and soul. Mr. Kelso helped me obtain that goal.

  5. great Attorney

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso handled my alienation of affection / criminal conversation lawsuit I filed against another person. He was very through and left no stone unturned. I plan on using him for my up coming divorce.

  6. Family First

    Posted by Wayne, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso is an excellent attorney that showed genuine concern for me, my family and my case. Mr. Kelso kept me informed throughout the entire proceedings and discussed all available options with me. I would recommend Mr. Kelso to anyone needing a competent and caring attorney.

  7. Excellent Professional Management of my concerns

    Posted by Tim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso has taken care of numerous legal matters for me over the years. He is always professional and has an extensive and unmatched knowledge base.

  8. Great Results

    Posted by Amy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Kelso if you are looking for an attorney. He was very knowledgeable, and great at keeping me informed. Mr. Kelso was very helpful when dealing with my financial situation as well. We were able to set up payment options that worked out great. I will continue to hire Mr. Kelso for any future needs.

  9. First Class Service, Knowledge and Experience

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.

    I have used Mr. Kelso's office for many legal matters over the past 25 years both personally and professionally. He is a result oriented person who really listens to what you have to say. I have used him to settle my divorce as well as personal injury cases and he handled my corporate legal work. I would highly recommend this law firm. Mr. Kelso wrote the book on family law.

  10. buyer beware with this one.

    Posted by Larry, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Lloyd Kelso in a child custody case in late 2010. He made mistakes, and actually did things opposite of what we discussed during our $1000.00 consutation about strategy. When I inquired as to the change of course he became very aggitated and argumentative, until I was finally able to get him to recall our original discussion. He did appologize for his mistake, but proceeded to charge me another hour's rate for taking the time to argue with me. His mistakes and non-caring attitude caused the case to drag out for months. I feel like this severly hurt my chances at getting my kids back. This lawyer charges 300 an hour to simply type (hunt and peck style) the documents for court. He told me his wife (parralegal) made so many mistakes in her typing that he would end up charging me more to fix her errors than to actually type it up himself. He constantly checks his watch while you are in his office, noting a charge every 6 minutes.
    He used every excuse to charge more time, but never gave much thought to my case unless I was in front of him and on the clock. I'm out of state and depended on him to take care of this for me. I was billed for an email I sent to him, even though he never even responded to it. He refused any sort of refund and smuggly advised me to sue him after I fired him.

    1. Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lawyer Comment:

      The above client review contains inaccurate facts. This client objected to a continuance of the case even though the adverse party (Mother's) house burned down just before the hearing and her new husband was severely burned in the fire. The attorney did apologize for the case having to be continued. After a court date was obtained on a date and in front of a judge the client helped select, the client refused to pay fees to continue forward with the case and indicated he wanted to represent himself. The initial consultation of 15 minutes was free. Following that 15 minutes, work was performed in preparing his motion for change of custody which took a substantial amount of time to prepare. The attorney does not type in a "hunt and peck style" and in fact types in excess of 50 word per minute. He advised client that it was better that he type the documents to save the client money. He did not say the wife (paralegal) made mistakes. Rather, that by the time he dictated the document, the paralegal typed the document, and revisions were made, that it would cost less if the attorney typed the document. It also assisted the attorney in obtaining information from the client and familiarizing the attorney with all the facts of the case. The attorney uses a timer and does not constantly check his watch during interviews. Charges are based on .1 of an hour, which is a 6 minute interval. Attorney does charge for reading and responding to emails. Attorney does give refunds for the monies that have not been earned.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

704-865-8684