Lloyd T. Kelso’s Reviews

Lloyd T. Kelso

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd 1-3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At the time I hired Mr. Kelso, I had been working to bring resolution to my child custody and equitable distribution case for almost two years. Two prior attorneys worked on my case. I regarded neither of them as trustworthy or responsive. Mr. Kelso was a breath of fresh air. He listened to my story without judgment, and he empathized with me as a father who was trying to ensure that his right to have a quality relationship with his daughter was protected. Mr. Kelso was always responsive to my phone calls and he or his paralegal Debra was prompt in communicating changes in the disposition of my case. Mr. Kelso work diligently to provide me with the best results while minimizing legal expenses including travel as my case was in the Lincoln County court systems some 3 hours away from where I work and live. In the end, Mr. Kelso, using his extensive knowledge of family law and adept negotiating skills, was able to obtain a reasonable resolution to my case outside the court system. I am pleased with the outcome. I would highly recommend Mr. Kelso’s family law services.

  2. Making sense of the wheelbarrow

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Most people when faced with obtaining legal counsel typically find themselves in unknown territory and are frightened, confused, and emotional. This was my case when I was served with papers by my ex husband in regards to alimony and child custody. I went to Mr. Kelso completely devasted by the turn of events and Mr. Kelso explained his job as one of not only legal counsel, but spiritual guidance as well. He said oftentimes his clients bring a wheelbarrow full of stuff and it is his job to try to make sense of it all and help his client make sense of it all as well. There are always two sides to every story and it always takes two to get to the point of hiring or needing an attorney, but where Mr. Kelso helped me the most was making me look inward at myself, realizing how things got to this point, and emphasizing the Christian aspect that we are all sinners saved alone by God's grace. Whatever your beliefs, this is extremely comforting when faced with the prospect of possibly losing one's children. I dealt with much evil, lying, and manipulation from those putting me through this legal ordeal, but Mr. Kelso from the beginning said we would stand on the truth and that we did. We did not go to trial and I feel like I got the best deal possible in mediation - most importantly that my children were not taken away. One of the most valuable, and yes time consuming, things Mr. Kelso had me do was write "my story". In it I wrote how I felt my marriage had been, what got me to the point of divorce, and the aftermath. Looking back at my marriage and putting it on paper had a healing affect for me - I was able to objectly look at my part in the demise of our marriage. Oftentimes you hear couples divoricng always blaming one for a specific reason and this just isn't the case...it does take two to get to that point. Mr. Kelso is extremely knowledgable in his field of family law and helped me tremdously - both legally and most importantly to me - spiritually. And...after all the legal drama is over, I believe most people would also want peace of mind and soul. Mr. Kelso helped me obtain that goal.

  3. great Attorney

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd 1-3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso handled my alienation of affection / criminal conversation lawsuit I filed against another person. He was very through and left no stone unturned. I plan on using him for my up coming divorce.

  4. Family First

    Posted by Wayne, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd 1-3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso is an excellent attorney that showed genuine concern for me, my family and my case. Mr. Kelso kept me informed throughout the entire proceedings and discussed all available options with me. I would recommend Mr. Kelso to anyone needing a competent and caring attorney.

  5. Excellent Professional Management of my concerns

    Posted by Tim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kelso has taken care of numerous legal matters for me over the years. He is always professional and has an extensive and unmatched knowledge base.

  6. Great Results

    Posted by Amy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Kelso if you are looking for an attorney. He was very knowledgeable, and great at keeping me informed. Mr. Kelso was very helpful when dealing with my financial situation as well. We were able to set up payment options that worked out great. I will continue to hire Mr. Kelso for any future needs.

  7. First Class Service, Knowledge and Experience

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Family matter.

    I have used Mr. Kelso's office for many legal matters over the past 25 years both personally and professionally. He is a result oriented person who really listens to what you have to say. I have used him to settle my divorce as well as personal injury cases and he handled my corporate legal work. I would highly recommend this law firm. Mr. Kelso wrote the book on family law.

  8. buyer beware with this one.

    Posted by Larry, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Lloyd Kelso in a child custody case in late 2010. He made mistakes, and actually did things opposite of what we discussed during our $1000.00 consutation about strategy. When I inquired as to the change of course he became very aggitated and argumentative, until I was finally able to get him to recall our original discussion. He did appologize for his mistake, but proceeded to charge me another hour's rate for taking the time to argue with me. His mistakes and non-caring attitude caused the case to drag out for months. I feel like this severly hurt my chances at getting my kids back. This lawyer charges 300 an hour to simply type (hunt and peck style) the documents for court. He told me his wife (parralegal) made so many mistakes in her typing that he would end up charging me more to fix her errors than to actually type it up himself. He constantly checks his watch while you are in his office, noting a charge every 6 minutes.
    He used every excuse to charge more time, but never gave much thought to my case unless I was in front of him and on the clock. I'm out of state and depended on him to take care of this for me. I was billed for an email I sent to him, even though he never even responded to it. He refused any sort of refund and smuggly advised me to sue him after I fired him.

    1. Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lloyd T. Kelso

      Lawyer Comment:

      The above client review contains inaccurate facts. This client objected to a continuance of the case even though the adverse party (Mother's) house burned down just before the hearing and her new husband was severely burned in the fire. The attorney did apologize for the case having to be continued. After a court date was obtained on a date and in front of a judge the client helped select, the client refused to pay fees to continue forward with the case and indicated he wanted to represent himself. The initial consultation of 15 minutes was free. Following that 15 minutes, work was performed in preparing his motion for change of custody which took a substantial amount of time to prepare. The attorney does not type in a "hunt and peck style" and in fact types in excess of 50 word per minute. He advised client that it was better that he type the documents to save the client money. He did not say the wife (paralegal) made mistakes. Rather, that by the time he dictated the document, the paralegal typed the document, and revisions were made, that it would cost less if the attorney typed the document. It also assisted the attorney in obtaining information from the client and familiarizing the attorney with all the facts of the case. The attorney uses a timer and does not constantly check his watch during interviews. Charges are based on .1 of an hour, which is a 6 minute interval. Attorney does charge for reading and responding to emails. Attorney does give refunds for the monies that have not been earned.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Christian Family Law At It's Finest

    Posted by David and Heather, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I’s search for a family lawyer started with a simple search: Christian Lawyer in NC.

    After finding his website for the Christian Family Law Association and reading his mission statement we knew that he was the one God wanted us to use.

    Our case involved an open-ended financial matter from a previous divorce. My wife and I were stationed in Korea and Mr. Kelso worked the majority of the details out with us by phone and e-mail. He worked hard to keep us from having to return to the U.S. to appear in order to save us time and money. We decided on our own to appear and with Mr. Kelso’s professional expertise and wisdom, he guided us through this difficult time to reach a solution that was most beneficial.

    His professional expertise, moral courage, and relationship with Jesus Christ make him an excellent choice for legal counsel.

    With his legal practice being his ministry, it is certain that he will do what is right.

  10. Very Pleased

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lloyd Kelso.
    • I hired Lloyd more than 3 years ago.
    • Lloyd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Kelso. Divorce/separation is wrought with enough confusion and anguish without having to wonder if you're being ably represented, as well.

    Having a capable, wise and dedicated attorney like Mr. Kelso in my corner definitely put my mind at ease. His expertise, patience and systematic approach to ensuring my protection and rights as a parent were second to none. He communicated consistently and clearly, availed himself completely to my case, and cheerfully answered what must have seemed like an endless stream of comments, concerns and questions. Rather than feeling lost, I felt like I had a distinct roadmap through what was easily the most trying time of my life.

    Just as importantly, Mr. Kelso's acumen does not stop where the I's are dotted and T's are crossed. I cannot express enough how much his kindness was appreciated. As a Christian counselor, he went the extra mile for me. Not just "me" the case, but me the person, the parent, the human being.

    It may sound cliche, but there simply aren't enough superlatives for Mr. Kelso. I now feel like I can close this unfortunate chapter of my life, and I look forward to opening the next with the hope, assurance and rights his representation have ensured.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

704-865-8684