John Tyrrel Orcutt’s Reviews

John Tyrrel Orcutt

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great personal service

    Posted by Lori, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was working w/another atty for months that just made matters worst. He had given up and I was days away from losing my house. Upon my first visit to Mr. Orcutt's law office everyone did their best to help figure out the best outcome for my situation on day one. Mr. Orcutt's personal attention gave me the relief I needed and he saw it through w/me to the end. I'm proud to say, I still owe my house! Thanks to John Orcutt and his team. Awesome folks!

  2. Lyn Jennings

    Posted by Lyn, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a "nervous nellie" and the thought of having to file bankruptcy made me so all the more. But during the process, I was made to feel comfortable and all my "fears" were basically debunked. I would recommend John Orcutt to ANYONE that is need of filing bankruptcy.

  3. Horrible

    Posted by James, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Horrible experience, Filed for Chapter 13 over 2 years ago and we are worse off now then we ever have been. Our mortgage was never behind before just some other bills and our debt to income ratio was extremely high. Using the chapter 13 is what was recommended to us and it has screwed us over more then we were to start off with. We now owe MORE on our house then when we started over two years ago, Nothing has been erased as a debt. Every time I call our paralegal who handles our case she tries to blow smoke up our behinds. Trustee is completely incompetent in paying what is suppose to be paid.

  4. Great personal experience

    Posted by Ashely, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John Orcutt met with me personally because my case was very unique and involved a divorce. I knew I needed to file bankruptcy but at the time my husband who was seperated from me was being vindicitive and would not conscent to bankruptcy. Mr. Orcutt was able to inform me how it was possible to file without my husband interferring with my debts.

  5. L. Wilkins

    Posted by L, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Had to file twice.... Did not want to but life happens! The process was so smooth and easy and I did not feel like I was a failure due to having been in again.

  6. Relief

    Posted by Marylynn, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Orcutt's office helped me through one of the most difficult times in my life. They were very caring and never once did I feel judged by my circumstances. His staff was very knowledgeable and kind. I met John Orcutt and he was so down to earth. I would not hesitate to go back to his office in the future should the need arise. What a relief it was to have them on my side helping me every step of the way. Couldn't have been any easier to get the fresh start John Orcutt says I DESERVE! Thanks to the Wilson office staff at the Law Offices of John Orcutt who filed my Chapter 13. I will certainly recommend to my friends and family that may need the same help I did.

  7. My life BACK!!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    HI i filed back in Oct. 2009, Dec 2012 i was dicharged and got my life back thank you John and your staff for a job well done!!

  8. Great Job

    Posted by Lynn, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used the Raleigh office to file my bankruptcy case. I was extremely nervous but the staff was very friendly and I did not feel like they were judging me. Everything went as expected and court was not scary at all. I got my discharge right after that and I can honestly say that my life changed for the better once I filed!!

  9. M. Dickerson

    Posted by Maria, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I filed a chapter 7 bankruptcy with John Orcutt in 2002. The process was very smooth. I felt at ease with the paralegals. The experience was so much more pleasant than I thought it could ever be. I found Mr. Orcutt to be a very caring attorney. Unfortunate for me, I had to file a chapter 13 in 2008. I did not even think about going to another attorney. I was, once again, impressed with the way my case was handled and more importantly, how I was treated by the staff. I received a discharge from both of my bankruptcies and I have now reestablished my credit and doing very well. I could not have done so without the knowledge and information provided by Mr. Orcutt and his staff. I have sent several of my friends to Mr. Orcutt and they all have been just as satisfied.

  10. JJB

    Posted by Jim, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Orcutt.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We just completed our Chapter 13 using the Fayetteville NC office. Mary and Christina and the entire staff were pleasent, professional and made us feel very comfortable. Christina and Mary have kept us informed and we think they both went the extra mile for us. This was very hard for us, but we are so glad that we hired Mr Orcutt to handle our case. We also need to thank Mr Hooper for his professional and helpful assistance. Thank you

919-847-9750