Douglas E. Portnoy’s Reviews

Douglas E. Portnoy

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Taffic Ticket? Hire Douglas Portnoy! You won't be dissapointed.

    Posted by Matt, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 1-6 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Absolutely fantastic!!! Mr. Portnoy reduced my traffic violations so that I received no points against my license or my insurance. He reduced my DWLR to NOL and then reduced that to PJC. He also had my expired tag violation dismissed. In addition, he reduced my Failure to Appear to "20 day Failure to Appear sent in error". Great job!!
    The price was reasonable and the service was GREAT! His legal assistant, Mary, was super! She kept me informed during the whole process from beginning to end. He is lucky to have her as an assistant. I am very satisfied with Mr. Portnoy and his team and would highly recommend them for your legal needs.

  2. Great legal team and very helpful

    Posted by Joy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.

    I called regarding my son's 2 traffic tickets 2 days before court and they had no problem helping him.
    both of his tickets were in one month of each other and they were able to get one dropped and the other a prayer for judgment so it is not going to affect his insurance! they were extremely reasonable, kept us informed the whole time and i would highly recommend him.

  3. Efficient and effective transaction

    Posted by Cari, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After experiencing a traffic infraction (Failing to Stop-Steady Red Light), we looked for an experienced lawyer to help us. As out-of-towners, we conducted our search online. We found Douglas' firm and had a good experience, despite never once meeting anyone at the firm in person. Our entire transaction was conducted via phone and email, which turned out to be quite a time-saver. Our office point of contact, Mary, was knowledgeable and efficient. She explained the process, collected necessary info, and advised us that Douglas would handle our case. As hoped, he got us Prayer for Judgement. The whole process was smooth and painless. I think the only improvement I'd recommend is improved communication from their end. Why? When our court date rolled around, we didn't hear from Mary immediately. After a few days of waiting, I emailed her. She was immediately responsive, emailing a disposition letter for our records. I would have preferred to hear from her the day following the court date. I would have also liked to receive a courtesy contact from Douglas early in the transaction (even via email). Trust-building is so essential, particularly in virtual transactions. Overall, though, I would recommend this attorney and his firm.

  4. Excellent Service

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I could not be more pleased with the way Attorney Portnoy handled my 16 year old son's traffic case. His Legal Assistant, Mary, was always quick to return my calls and emails and answer any questions I had. Our case was dismissed, which kept us from having any points on our insurance and his license. I would highly recommend him!

  5. Truthful and Reliable

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr. Portnoy accepted my case and gave detailed information on what he intended to do and what to expect. Upon completion there was quick and detailes communication on the outcome. Services are highly recommended.

  6. Couldn't ask for more!

    Posted by Terri, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr Portnoy handled my traffic case perfectly without my having to appear in court and promptly notified me of the disposition.

  7. feedback on Douglas E. Portnoy

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr. Portnoy was able to dismiss my speeding ticket completely, I was given no insurance or license points. I will recommend this attorney to my friends and co-workers and definitely will use his services in future if needed.
    The whole experience of very easy: his legal assistant explained me everything in details on a phone, guided me through the process. I just received an e-mail from her stating that the ticket was dismissed without a delay on the very date of court.

  8. Never had a chance to speak to Doug

    Posted by Chris, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I hired Doug to represent me for my speeding ticket. I was hoping to at least speak to him about the ticket because there was no radar reading and I felt the officer "guessed" at how fast I was going. The officer cited me for going 10mph over on an insterstate.

    I am not sure if this is how they usually handle speeding tickets, but I never got to speak to Doug directly. The only person I spoke to was his secretary. Doug continued my case twice but was only able to get 5mph off my ticket and a $10 reduction in costs. I was disappointed in the result. Next time I will probably just pay the fine and move on.

    If there was one recommendation I have for Doug it is to at least give your customers a five minute phone call to explain things and answer any questions the customer may have.

    1. Douglas E. Portnoy

      Douglas Portnoy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I apologize for not speaking personally about your ticket. This out of character for me not to communicate about what direction or strategy I plan to take on an individual charge. In your case the district attorney's office changed their office policy regarding these low speeds - which formerly could be dismissed with community service or a driving school. In your particular case there wasn't much to be done rather than continue the case for an indefinite duration without any guarantee of success. I should have informed you of this situation and for this I sincerely apologize.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  9. A GREAT ATTORNEY AND A MAN OF CHARACTER

    Posted by Bill, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Litigation matter.

    Doug Portnoy is a man of character and presents himself and his client in nothing but a professional way. I found his drive to represent me as his client to be nothing short of exceptional. He is well informed and beyond being a good attorney he is also a good person of fine character. He is honest, forthright and sensitive to the legal needs of the client. Iwill be hiring him again as the need may arise.

  10. Real Estate Closings

    Posted by John, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Portnoy.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my Real Estate matter.

    I use Doug for all my real estate closings. He gets the job done in a timely manner and is great with my real estate clients.