Jeffrey E. Marshall’s Reviews

Jeffrey E. Marshall

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great attorney!

    Posted by Jacqui, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently used Jeff Marshall to settle my drawn-out and contentious divorce and custody cases, and found him to be extremely helpful. He took his time to get to know me and my situation, helped me make decisions moving forward, gave me great advice on things that I could do that would limit the time he needed to spend on the case (thus dropping my bill), and represented me quite well during my custody hearing. Having Jeff as my attorney was, in my opinion, critical to positive outcome I received from the custody hearing.

  2. Was Left Hurt/Betrayed/Robbed

    Posted by Tarun, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    No honesty in commitment to client . All about money. Made promises he could not keep. Manipulated to delay my case settlement for 4 months to drain my retainer while allowing me and my family/kids to suffer. I was totally betrayed in my trusting him when it came to getting results/taking action when a settlement offer came knocking on my door by the opposition counsel asking to make an offer to settle when I hired him. He delayed the settlement for four months knowing my family/kids had been suffering for long time being separated unnecessarily. He totally ate up almost all of the retainer just to get a questionnaire filled out that he sent with 100 questions that he himself did not read before meeting the opposition counsel. He came to meetings not knowing the details of documents sent pertaining to the case details. He was always too busy and unreachable when I needed most to get answers to my questions. When confronted he asked if he could get out of the case just before my hearing date. How is this ethical? He had me pay for additional mediation (mediator and his time during mediation) charges to reach a unreasonable settlement offer after the same opposition counsel asked for same settlement offer 4 months before and used up the entire mediation to come up with terrible custody arrangement that betrays common sense and that I am still awaiting finalization. Unreasonable and Unnecessary charges such as an example:- > $47 for filing medical records of my son in his office after I gave him a copy for record were billed to me. He manipulated by his delays to settle when it was offered months before and we ended up loosing my time and my children's time together forever for trusting this man doing the right thing on time. Please decide to choose someone who puts your trust above his bank account balance.

    1. Jeffrey E. Marshall

      Jeffrey Marshall

      Lawyer Comment:

      Tarun, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that you were not pleased with the legal services provided to you. Your review took me by surprise as I have not heard a response like yours in the 18+ years I have been practicing law. I take great pride in the work I do for each and every one of my clients and work with integrity and honesty through the entirety of their case. I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you to address your specific concerns. Sincerely, Jeff.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  3. Extremely Knowledgeable and Trustworthy

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    I retained Mr. Marshall to assist me when I was going through my own divorce. I had known Mr. Marshall previously as we had opposed each other on several cases in the past. When I was faced with personal separation and divorce issues, Mr. Marshall was my first choice with out hesitation. Mr. Marshall is one of the most knowledgeable and well-respected attorneys in North Carolina. He is also undoubtedly one of the most genuine and companionate individuals I have ever met. When I went through my own separation, I felt rest assured that Mr. Marshall would deliver excellent results and he actually exceeded my expectations. I was fortunate to have Mr. Marshall on my side and I will be forever indebted to Mr. Marshall for his superior skills as an attorney.

  4. Great lawyer!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff Marshall has been a great attorney during a difficult life event. He always responded to my questions and concerns in a timely manner and was great at making me understand the process from start to finish.

  5. Thanks Jeff

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Realizing that you have to go through Separation/Divorce sucks. Before getting an attorney, all the emotional and legal confusion were overwhelming. Jeff Marshall and his staff helped me to navigate a very difficult time in my life. He provided very good legal and personal advice that put me in not only excellent legal position, but also helped to get my life back on track. Jeff understood that I was unfamiliar with the process and made sure I understood the different sides of the decisions through each step of the process - and was always responsive to my questions. He's the guy you want on your team.

  6. Invaluable Advice

    Posted by Daniel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff has always been my go to attorney when it comes to family law. He is unbiased and fair and has a great interpretation of the law. Divorce is not a fun process and sometimes following advice of someone other than yourself is hard to do. Looking back Jeff was spot on. His advice has saved me thousands of dollars!

  7. The very best family law attorney in Raleigh

    Posted by James, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    Jeff is the rare combination of attorney that is extremely knowledgable and skilled but also possesses the ability to relate to people, clients, opposing attorneys and judges. He will guide you through the entire process and takes the time to explain all your options. He is very responsive to phone calls and emails, is more organized than anyone I know and I felt like he knew more about my case than I did sometimes. I have been in the legal profession for over 15 years and worked with dozens upon dozens of attorneys - when I needed an attorney for my custody case I wanted the very best., I chose Jeff and have not regretted my decision for one second.

  8. Very Satisfied Customer

    Posted by MJ, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff and his team helped me with my seperation and divorce. I was very happy with my settlement and the way they were able to just focus on the buisness at hand which was to protect my interests. Most of this process was conducted while I was living in another state, but Jeff and his team kept me informed throughout the process. I would recommend him without reservation.

  9. Thank you Jeffery!

    Posted by Travis, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    I will forever be in dept to Mr. Marshall! He was always on top of my case. He made sure to keep me informed at all times of what was happening with my case. He also really helped me feel comfortable during trial & during my testimony. Mr. Marshall knows the law & he fought very hard to win my case for our family. Marshall & Taylor will have my business from here on out.

  10. Unprofessional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was given very bad advice that would have put me in harm's way. There were mistakes and important details were left out of the separation agreement. I kept receiving other clients' legal documents from his office. He found the most expensive ways to deal with my case rather than being conservative. After I spent $18K and then hired another attorney, I found out just how much I would have lost if had I stayed with Mr. Marshall.

    1. Jeffrey E. Marshall

      Jeffrey Marshall

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with my firm. This matter does not sound familiar, and we strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns and I will do my best to address them and resolve them for you.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

919-833-1040