Jeffrey E. Marshall’s Reviews

Jeffrey E. Marshall

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Job!

    Posted by Elaine, a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-6 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    MR Marshall prepared my Premarital Agreement for me. I am extremely pleased with the results. He provided excatly what I asked and more. I would highly recommend Mr. Marshall to anyone needing his services.

  2. Pressure, Pressure, Pressure to settle after paying for trial prep that was never done in a custody case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Marshall.

    Do not hire this attorney. If you believe that your case has a good chance of settling out of court, then hire a mediator, and by all means, settle. Save yourself time, money, and energy. If your ex has exhibited very bad behavior, and there is little chance of settlement, and a judge needs to hear what has been happening so that you can get a order that protects you and your children, then hire an attorney who is willing to take your case to trial. I paid over $30,000 for trial prep that didn't happen, as evidenced by Jeff's refusal to even look at important documents that I had brought to him. His trial prep consisted of going over (and over, and over) a questionnaire that I spent hours on myself. Then when an offer for settlement came to us 10 days prior to trial, Jeff put a great deal of pressure on me to settle, which would have been detrimental to me, and my child. It became evident to me that Jeff had never intended to go to trial with my case. I did not cave, fired Jeff, and found another attorney who was willing to take the case with less than 1 week left to prepare. Before I fired him, Jeff admitted that "95% of his cases settle out of court." If I had been told that upfront, there is no way I would have hired him, given the circumstances of my case.

    1. Jeffrey E. Marshall

      Jeffrey Marshall

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ms. L.B. (name withheld for confidentiality purposes),
      I am very sorry that you feel this way about your case. It is important to me to clarify my intent with your case. Over the course of working together for just under a year, you communicated your goals for resolution of this case. My goal was to work honestly and transparently with you, while at the same time doing everything in my ability to protect you in this legal matter. We did have a court date scheduled and I was fully prepared to represent you at trial. Prior to going to trial we received an offer that I felt was very close to what you had previously communicated to me that you hoped for as a resolution. My intent was absolutely not to pressure you to settle. However, it is my job to ensure you at least understand the offer, the risks of it and responding accordingly. Additionally, I wanted you to understand that not responding to an offer, especially a good offer, and then proceeding to trial came with a risk. Because this risk involved potentially losing custody of your daughter, it was my job to make sure you understood this.

      In custody situations, it is very common for clients at times to be clouded by emotions about the decisions they make (rightfully so) through the process, especially when it involves a difficult ex. My job is to be objective, ensure you are protected when it comes to the law and help you see through the emotional decisions. When cases go to trial, judges do not typically make their decisions solely on "bad behaviors" of a single party. Instead, they look at the whole picture to see what is best for the child. I help my clients through these situations from an impartial and realistic standpoint in an attempt to reduce (and hopefully eliminate) the risk that a judge misinterpret a client's anger and resentment towards and ex and then holds it against the client.

      After you refused to respond to the offer (that I felt was very close to what you previously told me you wanted), I suggested that you obtain a second opinion and fortunately you did. Upon my invitation, your new attorney came to my office and I spent a good amount of time meeting with him and helping him get up to speed on your case. I went through your file with him in detail (you may recall it consisted of many bankers boxes so this was no small task) and made sure he understood what work had been done so that he was not duplicating work, and so that he would be able to represent you to the best of his abilities. He commended me on the work I had done in preparing your case for trial. He specifically told me that he would not have commented on my trial preparation unless he was thoroughly impressed. Specifically, he repeatedly told me that the file was organized, detailed and the work was "excellent."

      I pride myself on the integrity I have for the work I do and truly cared about the result of your case and how it affected your family. Even after you hired a new attorney, I spent this kind of time to properly transfer your file and ensure that your new attorney was as prepared as he could be.

      My practice consists of litigation (trial work), arbitration and mediation of family law and family law related cases. I believe that any family law practitioner who knows what they are doing would tell you that 95% of their cases settle and that the goal is always to try to obtain a favorable settlement if possible, rather than having a complete stranger (a judge) decide your outcome. Please do not confuse this statistic with my willingness to go to trial for my clients. When all settlement possibilities are exhausted I absolutely go to trial as an advocate for my clients. I tried to communicate this to you and I apologize if it was misunderstood. I do wish you the best of luck and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further in person if you would like to do so.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. Great attorney!

    Posted by Jacqui, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently used Jeff Marshall to settle my drawn-out and contentious divorce and custody cases, and found him to be extremely helpful. He took his time to get to know me and my situation, helped me make decisions moving forward, gave me great advice on things that I could do that would limit the time he needed to spend on the case (thus dropping my bill), and represented me quite well during my custody hearing. Having Jeff as my attorney was, in my opinion, critical to positive outcome I received from the custody hearing.

  4. Was Left Hurt/Betrayed/Robbed

    Posted by Tarun, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    No honesty in commitment to client . All about money. Made promises he could not keep. Manipulated to delay my case settlement for 4 months to drain my retainer while allowing me and my family/kids to suffer. I was totally betrayed in my trusting him when it came to getting results/taking action when a settlement offer came knocking on my door by the opposition counsel asking to make an offer to settle when I hired him. He delayed the settlement for four months knowing my family/kids had been suffering for long time being separated unnecessarily. He totally ate up almost all of the retainer just to get a questionnaire filled out that he sent with 100 questions that he himself did not read before meeting the opposition counsel. He came to meetings not knowing the details of documents sent pertaining to the case details. He was always too busy and unreachable when I needed most to get answers to my questions. When confronted he asked if he could get out of the case just before my hearing date. How is this ethical? He had me pay for additional mediation (mediator and his time during mediation) charges to reach a unreasonable settlement offer after the same opposition counsel asked for same settlement offer 4 months before and used up the entire mediation to come up with terrible custody arrangement that betrays common sense and that I am still awaiting finalization. Unreasonable and Unnecessary charges such as an example:- > $47 for filing medical records of my son in his office after I gave him a copy for record were billed to me. He manipulated by his delays to settle when it was offered months before and we ended up loosing my time and my children's time together forever for trusting this man doing the right thing on time. Please decide to choose someone who puts your trust above his bank account balance.

    1. Jeffrey E. Marshall

      Jeffrey Marshall

      Lawyer Comment:

      Tarun, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that you were not pleased with the legal services provided to you. Your review took me by surprise as I have not heard a response like yours in the 18+ years I have been practicing law. I take great pride in the work I do for each and every one of my clients and work with integrity and honesty through the entirety of their case. I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you to address your specific concerns. Sincerely, Jeff.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  5. Extremely Knowledgeable and Trustworthy

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    I retained Mr. Marshall to assist me when I was going through my own divorce. I had known Mr. Marshall previously as we had opposed each other on several cases in the past. When I was faced with personal separation and divorce issues, Mr. Marshall was my first choice with out hesitation. Mr. Marshall is one of the most knowledgeable and well-respected attorneys in North Carolina. He is also undoubtedly one of the most genuine and companionate individuals I have ever met. When I went through my own separation, I felt rest assured that Mr. Marshall would deliver excellent results and he actually exceeded my expectations. I was fortunate to have Mr. Marshall on my side and I will be forever indebted to Mr. Marshall for his superior skills as an attorney.

  6. Great lawyer!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff Marshall has been a great attorney during a difficult life event. He always responded to my questions and concerns in a timely manner and was great at making me understand the process from start to finish.

  7. Thanks Jeff

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Realizing that you have to go through Separation/Divorce sucks. Before getting an attorney, all the emotional and legal confusion were overwhelming. Jeff Marshall and his staff helped me to navigate a very difficult time in my life. He provided very good legal and personal advice that put me in not only excellent legal position, but also helped to get my life back on track. Jeff understood that I was unfamiliar with the process and made sure I understood the different sides of the decisions through each step of the process - and was always responsive to my questions. He's the guy you want on your team.

  8. Invaluable Advice

    Posted by Daniel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff has always been my go to attorney when it comes to family law. He is unbiased and fair and has a great interpretation of the law. Divorce is not a fun process and sometimes following advice of someone other than yourself is hard to do. Looking back Jeff was spot on. His advice has saved me thousands of dollars!

  9. The very best family law attorney in Raleigh

    Posted by James, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.

    Jeff is the rare combination of attorney that is extremely knowledgable and skilled but also possesses the ability to relate to people, clients, opposing attorneys and judges. He will guide you through the entire process and takes the time to explain all your options. He is very responsive to phone calls and emails, is more organized than anyone I know and I felt like he knew more about my case than I did sometimes. I have been in the legal profession for over 15 years and worked with dozens upon dozens of attorneys - when I needed an attorney for my custody case I wanted the very best., I chose Jeff and have not regretted my decision for one second.

  10. Very Satisfied Customer

    Posted by MJ, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Marshall.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jeff and his team helped me with my seperation and divorce. I was very happy with my settlement and the way they were able to just focus on the buisness at hand which was to protect my interests. Most of this process was conducted while I was living in another state, but Jeff and his team kept me informed throughout the process. I would recommend him without reservation.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

919-833-1040