Richard Allen Friedman II’s Reviews

Richard Allen Friedman II

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Happy!

    Posted by Linda,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.

    Although the experience I was going through was awful, I found Rick and his staff to be so kind and feel like they definitely had my best interests at heart. They seemed to have a way of making calm out of madness and had a way to relay that to me and make me feel at ease with the whole divorce process. They were knowledgeable, efficient and caring. They were also always available and responded quickly to any concern I had. I really appreciated their overall concept of doing the right thing. I feel they are the #1 law firm. I will miss them.

  2. Excellent Attorney and Law Firm

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.

    Rick and his firm were extremely attentive to my needs and they were extremely knowledgable. Even more importantly, we WON! I send many referrals their way because it's so important to find an attorney who actually cares!

  3. Terrible and untrustworthy

    Posted by Bobby, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I just read a review on this site from Bobby, who hired Mr. Friedman to handle his custody case with a difficult ex. My name is Bobby and I hired Mr. Friedman. Perhaps there are 2 clients that have the same name with similar cases at the exact same time. Mr. Friedman was terribly unprepared and did not even show up for one court date. I paid him over 30,000 dollars and lost every aspect of the custody case, and the divorce is still not settled. I have hired a new attorney and would not recommend Mr. Friedman to do anything.

  4. Great job

    Posted by Bobby, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Friedman helped me get divorced and did a great job with my ex who was being very difficult.

  5. Very good lawyer

    Posted by Sean, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Friedman helped me out in my custody case. I have two children that were being treated bad by my ex-wife. He helped me get custody. He also got attorneys fees awarded to me.

  6. I would have to agree with the poor reviews.

    Posted by Phillip, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I do not know the "in's and out's" of the other cases that gave you poor ratings. They did not pertain to mine, so I cannot verify nor assert anything against you regarding those.

    However, in my experience you talked a big game but did not deliver what you said you would nor an accountability for what I was I was charged for which I asked for numerous times. There does seem to be a pattern.

    I understand that sometimes clients are not happy with the result and take it out on the attorney. That is unfair to the attorney and just sour grapes IMO.

    That being said, you expect effort and proof of results that you are paying thousands of dollars for and billed with no action plan.

    Your firm cost me more money than simply resolving the issue one on one with my ex-wife's counsel. That is why you now have a warrant in debt against you on my behalf.

  7. Poor service. Not recommended.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Friedman.

    Richard was lazy counsel in my opinion. He did not do his do his due diligence.

    Appearing before the judge, with him as my counsel, he did not even know the facts of my case which had been provided him months prior to the scheduled court date. His lack of knowledge of the case tripled my cost when, in my opinion, Richard should have had proper familiarization of the material facts in order to properly present the case. As such, eliminating the need to incur subsequent legal expenses.

    When billed, I asked numerous times for proof and results of what I was billed for via mail. I never received a response.

    1. Richard Allen Friedman II

      Richard Friedman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Anonymous,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I truly wish that these comments were not anonymous so we could address the issues with reviewers who claim to be clients. Sometimes we feel like reviews are created by opposing parties who lose to us in Court. There are a lot of those as we prevail often - ask a real client.

      This review is unlikely written by a client of ours. I, Rick Friedman, have never been called, 'Richard" as referenced above. Further, anyone who knows our firm would never use the word "lazy" to describe me or anyone at our firm.

      Additionally, we ALWAYS respond to questions from clients whether it is about their case or about billing issues.

      If this is a client, please call me as soon as possible to discuss any issue at 804-717-1969 or rfriedman@friedmanlawva.com.

      Sincerely,


      Rick A. Friedman, II

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Highly Recommend Mr. Friedman!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Friedman has helped me on a couple different occasions with child support. He was always on top of what was going on and worked proactively to resolve the matter before having to appear in court. Him and his staff were great to work with. Everyone I interacted with was very compassionate and sensitive to my situation which helped me to be at ease with what was going on. We were able to work with the opposing attorney and settle out of court. He is someone I truly trust to and is determined to do what is best for the situation. I would highly recommend Mr. Friedman to anyone looking for an attorney who takes a vested interest in their clients.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Christine, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been a client three times in the past ten years, and Mr. Friedman always did an outstanding job.

  10. Very professional and effective. Top tier for family matters in VA.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Friedman.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rick handled our case professionally and got me the results I was hoping for. His firm handled a family law case recently for me and having worked with other lawyers on business matters, I truly appreciated his knowledge and ability to resolve the core issues quickly and maintain focus on my desired outcome. Lawyers are never "cheap", but the firm made every effort to resolve the case, rather than string things along. I was also impressed with his office staff and associates. I really felt that they genuinely cared about my interests and did a good job keeping me informed and calm throughout the whole ordeal. I would definitely recommend Rick to anyone looking for a great family law attorney that can get things done!