Matthew Edward Ballard’s Reviews

Matthew Edward Ballard

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great attorney who actually cares about you.

    Posted by Austin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used attorneys in the past and they have seemed to just not care and wanted to get me to take a plea deal and get it over with. Matt looked at every possible defense and and was completely straight forward about the details and what could happen. In the end i believe Matt got me the best possible outcome with how bad my case looked to the prosecution. I have referred him to 2 other friends and they both had awesome outcomes. Besides being a great lawyer Matt is a even greater person and i think he genuinely cared about me and wanted me to succeed.

  2. Knows How to Get the Job Done

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been represented by Mr. Ballard twice with awesome results both times. I have also referred several friends to him and they were extremely pleased as well. Great office staff with good customer service!

  3. Simple Assault

    Posted by Marc,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Ballard defended me on a simple assault charge that seemed impossible to defend, but nonetheless he went the extra mile and provided genuine remorse to those affected while getting the best results on my behalf. As a client who was in distress, Mr. Ballard was completely on my side and was more than fair in my defense.

  4. driving on suspension dui related

    Posted by Miguel, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Matt is a great attorney I was sure I was going to jail he had other ideas I walked out with no jail time an a smile on my face I plan on useing him again to help me get my license I would recommend him to anyone I know

  5. Impressive

    Posted by Jayne, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    It is my immense pleasure to recommend Mr. Ballard, as an outstanding attorney. I’ve had the preference, on multiple occasions, to have Mr. Ballard defend me in court. Mr. Ballard always had excellent communication, is well organized, and impeccably judicious. All cases were in my favor. I know, without a doubt, Mr. Ballard will continue to be an admirable attorney.

  6. Awesome

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matt represented one of my co- workers in a DUI case . I was with my co worker for support. The day of the free consultation was the day she decided he was the one. Because of his vast knowledge and strong will she and I both felt confident in his ability to get her the results needed. He was quick to ask questions and answer them as well. Matt never let us down and every time we called he reassured us of that. Matt was always professional and on the day of the court hearing Matt was by her side every step of the way. This is the lawyer for you and you won't be disappointed.

  7. Extremely Satisfied Client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matt represented me for a DUI 1st offense/Reckless Driving. There was alot of evidence the police officer had that Matt was able to fight and get dismissed. Matt and I both had our doubts but Matt fought until the end and all charges were dismissed 100%. Matt had a determination about him during the whole process. The first consultation was all I needed to know that Matt had the expertise needed for my case. Matt knew what questions to ask me and gave me straight forward answers that I appreciated very much. Everytime I called his office I was always able to speak with Matt and he answered any of my questions. Even after the case was won in court, Matt sat down and gave some more of that expert advice. I will recomend Matt in the future to anyone and everyone who has need for a lawyer. If you are pending any of these charges, I can assure you that Matt is the way to go and you will get your money's worth! Thank you Matt.

  8. AMAZING

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Ballard not only was attentive to any question or need I had, but actually cared about my case. I see so many people get brushed aside by their attorney's; not with Mr. Ballard. If I called he would either speak with me or if he was absent would return my call promptly; if i needed to see him, he'd make me an appointment. He also got my DUI reduced to reckless under horrible circumstances with my behavior to the trooper along with totalling a rental car! I'd definitely hire him again!

  9. T.POE

    Posted by POE, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had the pleasure of knowing Matt Ballard for quite a long time. The moment I received a traffic violation I knew exactly who to call:) Matt Ballard is a person of good character, hard working, efficient, courteous, & very professional. I was very impressed by his attention to detail & strong work ethic. I can honestly say I strongly recommend hiring him if ever in need of a great attorney. I definitely felt lucky to have Matt Ballard on My Side. . .

  10. Well worth it!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Ballard.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Represented in DUI 1st offense. Was willing to help as much as needed. Very fair pricing, and works in one of the most repected law firms in Hampton Roads. Strongly suggest seeking his council.