Back to Mary’s Profile

Client Review

Mary has received 9 client reviews

Your future depends on your choosing the most knowledgeable and respected attorney.

Posted by: VBM, a Divorce client 28 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

The author of the military divorce guide books mentioned Ms. Commander in an online article. That mention and the intention of a prayer group scattered across the world ensured that Ms. Commander one state and five hours away would help to secure my future. Ms. Commander was my only choice for representation. She has a calm but steely presence that served me well in an impromptu mini hearing. Read her CV, she is very knowledgeable and has ample military divorce experience. Ms. Commander has a great supporting cast that shows in her sharp paralegal who keeps you well informed. Divorce is emotionally trying, but the business end of it does not have to be. Be smart and allow Ms. Commander to help you navigate the business end of things.

Military Spouse Praise: Redeeming Qualities, An Attorney with Integrity, Commitment & Heart

Posted by: Latorial, a Divorce client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

Attorney Commander handled my disabled mother's divorce case a few years ago. When "wording and terminology" of the divorce decree caused the Office of Personnel Management to cease payments to my mother, I was very upset and worried and contacted Ms. Commander. Ms. Commander assured me that she would work hard to correct whatever issues there were and that my mother would receive compensation due to her. Today, I would like to report that Attorney Commander kept her word. She chose to correct a mistake that was continuing to cripple my mother and worry me across the miles. I thank her for her integrity and for picking back up the baton and putting in the extra time and work to see this case through. Oftentimes attorneys forget about the little people. I'm happy to say that my impression and overall outlook on the services provided by Attorney Commander and her character have been redeemed through her commitment to serve the public, her willingness to take care of my mother's legal issue. I'd like to thank her personally for the way she handled this case and for getting back in there to deal with both the Courts and the Office of Personnel Management. My mother's divorce decree has been corrected, and she has received the funds she had previously been denied. I would recommend this attorney in the future. She has proven to me that she cares and that she is committed to seeking justice for her clients. She made a promise, and she kept it! Thank you Ms. Commander.

Mary Commander did a great job for me, and I can't recommend her more highly

Posted by: a Divorce client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

Mary (and her trusty paralegal) did the impossible... They got my ex-husband's lawyer to do his job in my divorce matter. The matter drug on and on until I got Mary involved. She was aggressive and firm when that was exactly what my situation needed, instead o letting the situation drag on even further. And she shot straight with me. She's not one to mince words, and I really appreciated that, too. Sometimes a person just needs to be told when it's time to suck it up! Not only would I refer others to her, I already have!

Military Divorce and property distribution

Posted by: Remell, a Divorce client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

Attorney Commander assisted me with a very complex (in my opinion) divorce and property distribution case as a result of an unsuccessful previous attempt with another attorney. She was confident and professional in all aspects of the process with an emphasis on my concerns. I was comfortable with Her as well as her staff throughout the entire process. GREAT JOB!!!

I couldn't have chosen better

Posted by: Evan, a Divorce client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

Ms. Commander and her staff are amazing. They have been helpful throughout this entire process. Every thing was explained so I understood what was happening. When my ex-wife's attorney was being slow with the paper work, Ms. commander and Abby did every thing they could to hurry the process so I could finish before I deploy!

Outstanding attorney

Posted by: a Divorce client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I was having a difficult time with a rather unenthusiastic attorney until I found Mrs. Commander. She got things done in a couple of weeks that would take him months. She acted very promptly on any requests/wishes that I had, and offered good solid advice on every matter I brought to her. Unfortunately, my case could not be settled due to an unwilling party, so it wound up going to court, but Mrs. Commander was very impressive in the courtroom. In the end, the ruling wound up being in my favor, so much so that it would have cost me far more to settle. Throughout the entire process, Mrs. Commander and her paralegal Mrs. Kline kept me up-to-date on every single matter regarding my case. I am overjoyed with the services provided by Mrs. Commander and her firm, and would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone.

A Military Spouse Appalled by This Attorney's Services

Posted by: Appalled by This Attorney's Services..., a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Nearly three years ago, I paid Ms. Commander to help my disabled mother with her divorce. She was recommended by a friend and military spouse also using Ms. Commander for services. When I introduced Ms. Commander to my mother, we sat in her office and she seemed highly interested in helping my mother with her case. My mother sat there with disfigured hands and feet caused by rheumatoid arthritis which she had been diagnosed with in her thirties and she was seeking a divorce to escape a bad marriage. At any rate, Ms. Commander helped my mother divorce her husband (my father) and secure 30% of his retirement entitlements; however, she failed to negotiate medical benefits on her behalf. Why she didn't fight for that in my mother's condition, I still have yet to understand. I thought that was poor judgment on her part. I was even more disheartened when we landed in court and found out that Ms. Commander was friends with my father's divorce attorney. My mother received her 30% of my father's retirement for a little over a year and then the payments stopped. After that, she received nothing else. Can you imagine the stress this brought on having to make calls out of state to the Office of Personnel Management only to find out that due to the "wording of her divorce decree," her payments had been stopped? Apparently, Ms. Commander and the other attorney's negotiated divorce decree was worded in a way that guaranteed 30% of the retirement portion my father had actually paid into his own retirement. But this was not what was negotiated in court. My mother agreed to 30% of his retirement benefits for life. This is what Ms. Commander told her that she was being awarded. At any rate, the incorrect or not detailed enough wording in my mother's divorce decree caused her to lose the 30% she was getting. Once my mother contacted Ms. Commander about the error, she was reluctant to speak with her or to even help her rectify the problem. The Office of Personnel Management (after countless phone calls, a trip to the office in DC, and other communication) told my mother that the divorce decree had to be corrected, and they would release the funds to her. Ms. Commander understood this, and told my mother that they would have to go back to court. Finally, after going back and forth and playing phone tag with Ms. Commander, finally, this lawyer (Ms. Commander) pretty much lamented to my disabled mother that there was nothing else she could do for her. So she just left my mother high and dry. I find that simply unacceptable. This attorney's failure to provide services caused my mother to endure even more hardship. She negotiated the wording of the divorce decree, and she should have been the one to fix the error. As of today, my mother has been without payments from her divorce settlement for over a year. Financially, she is struggling to survive and has often felt like giving up. I realize that Ms. Commander is a professional. I realize that she is an attorney, but what I did not realize was that not only is she less concerned with those less fortunate than her, but she is not the least bit concerned about admitting or correcting her own mistakes. THIS LAWYER MADE AN ERROR, and she should have been woman enough, professional enough to fix it. My mother trusted her with her case. I trusted her with my mother. In the end, she failed us both. I would not recommend her services. In fact, the friend who recommended Ms. Commander to me three years ago is still NOT DIVORCED! You be the judge . . . A Military Spouse Appalled by This Attorney's Services

Amazing divorce attorney!

Posted by: a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

Mary is the perfect divorce attorney! She's a bulldog when she needs to be, but her emphasis is always FASTER negotiation through peaceful tactics and doing what's best for the children. She's very good at handling complicated financial and other details, and very responsive. Mary is also cost-conscious, encouraging me to use a free mediator when I had the option but always available for back-up advice. My ex-husband's attorney cost him three times what Mary charged! Most important, I left with a settlement that gave me financial security and peace of mind - and I owe that to Mary.

Excellent Lawyer In Divorce Case

Posted by: Darlene, a Divorce client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mary Commander

I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.

Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

What I liked about Mary Commander was that she knew exactly what I was talking about almost before I said it. She has that much experience with divorce situations and people. She knew what to expect from court and was able to prepare me for it. More than that, I knew that she cared what happened to me and I knew that she would be honest with me, even if I did not want to hear some of it. You need that when you are going through a divorce.