Grover Hamel Baxley’s Reviews

Grover Hamel Baxley

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Military Administrative Board of Inquiry

    Posted by Stephen, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 6-12 months ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In May 2014 I was required to appear before an Administrative Show Cause Board of Inquiry. I had been falsely accused of several Uniform Code of Military Justice violations. I chose Mr. Baxley as my civilian counsel and could not have been any happier. Prior to the board, he kept me informed of the process and ensured that I was thoroughly prepared. During the Board itself, he painted a clear picture for the members to see how the allegations against me were false and unfounded. He corrected the prosecuting JAG attorneys further showing his mastery of the proceedings. His closing arguments were like something out of movie - hard hitting and direct. I was fortunate that the findings of the board were as positive as possible - No Misconduct of any kind. Even if the outcome had not been favorable, I would have been completely satisfied with Mr. Baxley's performance. No one could have done a better job.

    CDR USNR

  2. Great Trial Lawyer!!

    Posted by Lyle, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover more than 3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I believe I was very lucky in retaining Mr. Baxley for my case.
    My case was odd in that it went on for four years because of delays.
    During this time Mr.Baxley would keep in touch with me whenever anything came up, he also promptly replied to my phone calls and emails, you do not know how important this is till you are panicking on a Sunday afternoon and he replies back to your crazy email and calms you down.
    I retained both Mr. Baxley and a Navy appointed JAG officer, the JAG was good, Mr. Baxley was better.

    He did a great job of finding out the particulars of my case and making sure that every T was crossed and every I was dotted.
    In my opinion Mr. Baxley is second to none in both taking care of his client and in taking care of the case.
    I would recommend him to anyone seeking a lawyer for a military trial.

  3. Recommend for Military Justice Defense

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 1-3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Two years ago, in the midst of high-profile Air Force sexual assaults, I needed a military defense lawyer because a junior officer whom I’d dated was threatening to falsely extort me for rape if I didn’t help her get a preferred assignment. She had approached me and wanted me to produce results immediately. I quickly interviewed three lawyers and it was very clear from the start that Mr. Baxley had the experience and expertise necessary to guide me through the convoluted military legal system. Within hours, Mr. Baxley formed a sound legal strategy to guide us through the political and legal battle to come. I reported this individual for her extortion attempt but unfortunately the Air Force came after me for sexual assault.

    Over the next 1.5 years Mr. Baxley represented and helped me prepare for everything to come; OSI interviews, Article 32 court proceedings, and my conduct at work. All of which proved to be instrumental to the final result.

    During the Article 32 proceedings, Mr. Baxley was able to pinpoint key irregularities in my accuser’s statements that greatly discredited her claims of a sexual assault. He was also able to bring out vital information from key witnesses to further question my accuser’s claims.

    Mr. Baxley’s remarkable handling of my case before and after the Article 32 led to a negotiation with a 4-star general that resulted in the charges being withdrawn and dismissed with prejudice.

    I could not have received a better defense than the one presented by Mr. Baxley. Mr. Baxley knew the military legal system and understood the political environment surrounding this issue. He was a flawless litigator and also perfectly navigated behind the scenes to get the best possible result. I wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Baxley when choosing a military defense lawyer. You will not find a better lawyer who will work harder for you.

  4. Best Defense on Military Law.

    Posted by USMC/E-4, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 6-12 months ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    On June 2013 I was informed by NCIS that I was under investigation for an Article 120 of the UCMJ. I contacted Mr. Baxley days later because I was looking for a civilian/Military Law defense representation. Beginning with the first time I spoke with Mr. Baxley on the phone, and I spoke with several lawyers prior to him, I noticed the professionalism and colossal amount of knowledge he had possessed. He was very engaged in my predicament and gave me several recommendations. I was only under investigation so he couldn't represent me until I was charged with the article 120 but he remained completely aware of my situation. My article 32 came on October 2013, of course I was assigned an Active Military Officer Lawyer, (a fairly new JAG Officer from what I perceived), I decided to proceed to the Article 32 with only the representation of the JAG assigned to me by the military. I called Mr. Baxley after I found out I was going to a Court Martial, fairly late I will admit. Mr. Baxley took immediate action and contacted the JAG assigned to my case, taking full charge of the situation. Mr. Baxley's knowledge and persistence towards my case resulted in the drop, and dismiss, of all charges 4 days prior to the scheduled Court Martial.
    Mr. Baxley is an outstanding Military Lawyer, very professional, and extremely intelligent on military law. He kept me informed of any changes and any decisions that he made. Mr. Baxley displayed much empathy when dealing with my case, and his profound intellect on the situation resulted in the drop and dismiss of the entire case.
    The only thing I regret is not getting his representation the first day I was charged with the Article 120 and waited until after the Article 32.
    If you are in the same situation I was in and is looking for a defense about a UCMJ or any other legal issue, don't look any further. Get Mr. Baxley on your side to defend your rights and innocence and you will not regret it. Mr. Baxley will make sure your side is heard and you get the best outcome of your case.
    I am extremely thankful that Mr. Baxley was on my side.

  5. Best Lawyer in regards to Military Law hands down!!!

    Posted by William, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 6-12 months ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.

    Back in December (now April), I was charged under the UCMJ for a positive urinalysis case. Immediately, I was called to investigation by my commands CID. When they questioned me, I informed them that I would not speak and that I wanted a lawyer. Being that I had never contacted a lawyer in the past, I had no clue where to go from there. I was looking online on the best military defense lawyers as well as asking around, when I came across Grover Baxley through a recommendation of a fellow service member. To say the least, he was the most qualified to handle my case. Over the course of the months, I was placed on hold for orders, treated no better than a criminal and told over and over that my life would no longer be the same. Throughout the case, I maintained my innocence and finally came the day of my administrative separation board. The government (as Mr. Baxley called my command) had no evidence other than the single charge they initially came up with. Every time the prosecution would attempt to persuade the board members via misinformation, Mr. Baxley was diligent in shutting them down and removing any supposed evidence they had obtained. When it came to the forensic toxicologist, he managed to get the toxicologist to concur that the government had absolutely nothing but a single test result. As a result, the board members saw the truth in the matter. Although my command continually attempted to base all findings on a preponderance of evidence, in the end they had none. Their evidence couldn’t even support a preponderance of such. Closing arguments showed that not only had I chosen the best representation a Armed Forces Member could find, but I had essentially gained relief in the fact that I was going to win my case after the most intense four months of my life. The final vote by the board members was 3-0 no misconduct and to be retained by my service. If you are searching for someone who not only represents you to the best of their ability but guides you through every step of the way than do not, and I repeat DO NOT look any further than Mr. Baxley. He will do everything in his ability to get you the absolute best outcome imaginable. In the end, the money you spend on his service will be nothing compared to what you make in your military career/contract.

  6. Urinalysis Case

    Posted by William, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 6-12 months ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.

    I hired Mr. Baxley for a urinalysis case. I am in the National Guard and had to prove my innocence at a board hearing in order to remain in the Army. He was extremely knowledgeable and did all the right things in order to convince the board of my innocence. I believe that if I had used the lawyer appointed to me by the Army I would have lost the case. I would hire him again without question.

  7. Thanks to Mr. Baxley

    Posted by Tina, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 1-3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.

    9 Months ago was the start of a scary & Long journey for my family. My son, a marine of 8 years, respected & honored by his command had been thrown into solitary confinement for 37 days after being accused of sexual assault.
    We were alone in our struggle to contact his place of confinement & find out any news. It wasn't until I found Mr. Baxley who immediately was able to SEE my son. He assured me while my son was not happy, he was safe & we would fight for his freedom.
    He made sure first he was moved out of consolatory confinement, Thank God. Then he worked to make sure my son's side was told & proven. Mr. Baxley never promised anything he could not get.
    Mr. Baxley was kind, well informative & very knowledgeable in military law. I knew when the Jag attorney told me he was honored to work with him and had sat in lectures Mr. Baxley had taught, I had made the right decision in hiring him.
    We were looking at up to 10 years if convicted for all charges. Mr. Baxley fought for & obtained a Pre-Trial Agreement. Which got my son time served at 6 months & a Bad Conduct Discharge with no pay or allowance forfeitures!
    My son can still use his GI bill for school & pursue a career. Most importantly is he can freely be involved in his children's lives because he was proven innocent on several made up charges or over exaggerated. Thank you for saving my son's life & giving him back to us but most of all to his two kids!
    It was not easy financially for me to obtain Mr. Baxley but if I could go back, I would do it again. I truly believe if not for his expertise and knowledge of how military law works, my son would still be sitting in the brig 12 hours away from home.
    Thank you from the bottom of my heart
    Thankful Mom

  8. SFC/E-7 US Army

    Posted by Ricky, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 1-3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Army E-7: If you are here because you are searching for an attorney look no further. Grover Baxley is the best in the country, especially with the court martial process. He has a proven track record and has handled multiple cases with a staggering record of success. I can personally attest to this attorney’s hard work, knowledge and representation. I am a SFC in the United States Army and just faced a Special Court Martial and Grover Baxley represented me. When I was charged, I scoured the internet looking for the best attorney and found Jag Defense. From the moment I talked to Grover Baxley he advised me of my rights and the precise way that we were going to handle my situation. Throughout the process he always made himself available and advised me every step of the way. I was charged with multiple drug offenses, general order violations, obstruction of justice and lying to agents. The government wanted to punish me severely; I was facing up to a year in jail, reduction to e-1, forfeitures of 2/3 of my pay for a year, and a Bad Conduct Discharge. Mr Baxley from the beginning of the trial to the very end controlled every aspect of the case; he was one step ahead of the government the whole time. He would explain to me what the government was going to do and how we were going to react and it worked every time. His efforts and knowledge proved successful, I was able to leave the Special Court Martial with a reprimand and a fine of 2,000 dollars. I am still in the Army, I kept all of my rank, and my career is saved. None of this would have been possible without Grover Baxley’s experience, efforts, and effectiveness at trial. If you are facing UCMJ, Court Martial, Administrative Actions, or Security Clearance issues and you want the best outcome for your legal situation, Grover Baxley is the attorney that you need.

  9. Best Military Lawyer out there, PERIOD

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover more than 3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A an E4 in the US Navy, I was charged with Larcey, Solicitation to Commit Larceny, Disposition of Government Property, and the General Article. I was facing A General Court Martial, 10 years in Jail and a Dishonorable Discharge. Mr. Baxley immediately began review my case and almost concurrently to NCIS as if conducting his own, paralell investigation of the facts. This initial, tireless effort carried through to the date of my trial and his disovery and evidenciary findings are certainly a primary factor in my not recieving ANY pre-trial confinement. Upon final judgement, the charges were reduced to Disposition of Government Property at Special Court Martial. Of the now-year sentence I was facing, Mr. Baxley expertly assited in an outcome that resulted in only 72 days of confinement served and a Bad Conduct Discharge while still maintaining my GI Bill and a majority of my veteran's benefits! Considering the overwhelming evidence against me, I am supremely confident Mr. Baxley obtained the best possible outcome given my situation and poor decision-making during my military career. Upon completion of my case, I had asked a friend and current JAG attorney to review my charges and circumstances. He was literally amazed that Mr. Baxley was able to obtain the results he did for me. Without his assistance and tireless counsel, I would not have the new start in life I despirately needed and may have ended up as a felon in my home state. If you are facing ANY kind of military conviction, Mr. Baxley will be your strongest and most relentless advocate with the overwhelming experience to back it up.

  10. Court martial for a senior NCO

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Grover Baxley.
    • I hired Grover 1-3 years ago.
    • Grover handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am in the business of knowing professionalism. I am a senior non-commissioned officer that recently went through the court martial process. I can not sum up his performance in one word. My life was on the line and he performed to the highest of standards. He let me decide how to do certain parts of my proceedings, such as picking the jury and deciding whether or not to testify. He worked tirelessly for my 3 day court martial, I can attest to the fact that that I think he only slept about 3 hours the entire time he was here. He saved my life and my family and did so with no arrogance. I wish that I had the vocabulary to explain just how amazing he really is. I am an excellent NCO and I have the evaluations to prove it. I know excellence and Grover Baxley is an excellent attorney. If you absolutely must fight a court martial, then he is the person you want in your corner