Emily Gail Sumner’s Reviews

Emily Gail Sumner

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. EB2 greencard

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 1-3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Emily for my EB2 greencard. Throughout the process, Emily and her assistants were very prompt and responsive. Everything was completed in a timely manner. She is very reliable and was able to answer any questions that I had during the process. I hope that many people can have chance to work with her since I had great experience with her.

  2. Thank you to Emily upon obtaining permanent residence (Green Card!)

    Posted by Yun, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 6-12 months ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    To whom it may concern:

    As a client, I have known Ms. Sumner from her immigration seminar at my university at last year. At that time, literally I had no idea or direct for what I have to do to obtain regal status to stay in US, as an Asian single professional woman. However, she helped me to obtain my green card with her professional work and dedication. One of the most impressive her abilities is that she always showed a positive attitude throughout all the process. And I felt extremely at ease working with her at all times, so I can have my life without too much concern and frustration in the long process.

    I got my green card actually in my hand in last week (less than 10 months working with her). When I found the official US government envelop including my green card in my mail box, it was one of most relief and happiest moment of my life in US. :D

    Thank you so much Emily for all her hard work and positive thinking to help to obtain my green card to regally live in US. Without her it would never have happened.

    Great appreciation to her again from the bottom of my hearts....

    Best regards,
    Yun

  3. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Naeem, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 6-12 months ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.

    We hired Ms. Sumner's firm to file my Green Card application. Ours was not a complicated case but our decision to hire an attorney was to ensure that we completed all the paperwork (there were quite a few forms including one that we were not aware of because it was not listed as such by USCIS) as required. After reading the reviews of attorneys at AVVO, we went for Ms. Sumner because of the reviews and her work experience with Indians or people of Indian origin.

    Ms. Sumner and her para-legal were courteous, very prompt in communication, knowledgeable, flexible and reassuring throughout the pre- and application process. We met only twice even though we communicated frequently via email but everything went smoothly including the interview.

    Three months after hiring Ms. Sumner, I received my Green Card. We highly recommend Ms. Sumner.

  4. Best Highly Recommended Employement Based Immigration Lawyer

    Posted by Ramandeep, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily more than 3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.

    I am working with Emily when she was working with Challa Law. She has great knowledge and understanding of Employement Immigration matters. She helped and guided me on each and every step when i got RFE on my H1 B renewal. She prepared all the documents and responded to USCIS queries which result in quick approval for my H1B. She clearly knew her trade well and aware or urgency.The best and most important part with her is she respond to the EMAIL within a day. I would highly recommend her srevices for Employement based Immigration applications.

  5. Extremely knowledgeable, reasonable fees and quick response time make her the best immigration lawyer I've ever dealt with.

    Posted by Edgar, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 6-12 months ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.

    Let me start by saying I've heard of people filing their own immigration paperwork with disastrous results. If you have an immigration matter pending, lawyer up. plain and simple. (You wouldn't perform open heart surgery on yourself would you? So why gamble with your future?).

    I was an H4 visa holder and my spouse an H-1B at the time I decided to hire Mrs. Sumner. We were expecting our priority date for adjustment of status (greencard) to become current in 2015 or 2016, and all of a sudden in September 2013 we realized against all odds, our priority date had become current and we needed to apply for adjustment of status immediately. We had previously been working with another lawyer who although did produce results had 2 very unappealing characteristics: He always took forever to respond to my emails or to call me back, and his fees were really high, so I decided It was time for a change. I found Emily Sumner and her firm Sumner Immigration Law through avvo.com. I live in the middle of nowhere. There are no immigration lawyers here, let alone good ones. So I needed a lawyer that could handle my case exclusively via email. I searched avvo.com for lawyers in the general Maryland / Virginia / D.C. area and something caught my eye about Mrs. Sumner: Even thou all their reviewers praised her and gave her nothing but high marks and 5 stars all the way, her avvo score at the time was 8.8 instead of 10. It was then that I understood that even if a lawyer gets 5 stars in all his/her reviews, avvo won't give them a 10 most of the time because they factor in some other internal scores of theirs like industry recognition. It was then when I realized for all intents and purposes, I was looking at a 10 out of 10 lawyer and probably one I was not gonna have to pay and arm and a leg to hire. Just a knowledgeable lawyer, with an outstanding track record to work on my case. Exactly what I needed. So I gave her a call, and left a message with her paralegal. To my surprise, she personally called me back within the hour. Every question I asked her (out of a gazillion questions I had, mind you) she answered with the same level of professionalism and enthusiasm for the law that she answered the first. She also assured me she was used to handling cases via email and that not only she had customers in the Maryland / Virginia area but all over the country. Finally came time to talk about money. Have in mind, I was not expecting any of this to take place until 2015 at the earliest so when all of a sudden I'm told I have to pay uncle Sam over 2 grand just in filing fees and on top of that, pay my lawyer, to say I was put in a tight spot would be an understatement. Mrs. Sumner's fee structure was very reasonable. Her fees were fair, and when I explained my situation, she graciously offered me the option to pay her fee in 3 installments and I could even use my credit card. I was sold. The process from the get go was extremely fluid. Every email I wrote was answered almost immediately and she kept me in the loop every step of the way. Every payment I made to her firm was made through Google wallet which was super quick and easy and you don't even have to share your credit card number with anybody. They just send you an email with a link and you enter your credit card information on a secure website yourself. I even received a dreaded request for evidence from USCIS in the middle of the process due to an error on USCIS part and Mrs. Sumner handled it like a champ, resubmitting the necessary documents in less than 24 hours. Exactly 2 months after I first contacted and hired Mrs. Sumner, I had my greencard in my hands. Of course, your particular case might differ, some greencards take up to a year depending on the particulars and nature of every individual case (family based greencards vs. employer sponsored ones, etc) so your mileage might definitely vary, but what I can assure you is hiring Mrs. Sumner will be one of the best decisions you ever make.

  6. The Best Lawyer of all time!!

    Posted by Binayak, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 1-3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Family matter.

    Emily is one of the best lawyer in town. We filed for my wife I-485 based on marriage as I already have my GC. It took less than 3 months for the whole process...starting from sending our documents to USCIS till my wife got her GC. I panicked so many times during this process, but Emily was always there for us to calm us down and give us the positive vibes. One of the example when the interviewer didn't ask any question such as where you meet? how you meet? Nothing. The interviewer told us she will review our case. That's it.So we were confused and scared at the same time even though there was nothing to hide as our marriage is genuine. She helped us prepare for the interview, pointed out our weak points and how we can improve it and make it our strength. I can't stress this enough, but if you are looking for a lawyer who is knowledgeable and help you in your GC processing, she is the one.

  7. I highly recommend Emily Sumner for Employment based Immigration Services

    Posted by Saravanan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily more than 3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.

    I knew Emily Sumner since 2005 when she used to work for another Richmond based Attorney Firm. She filed my H1B, H1B Extensions, Green Card Labor and I-140 (Petition for Alien-worker) while she was with another firm. Honestly speaking, I never received any inquiry (aka RFE) from USCIS on any of my petition that she has filed. I always noticed, she is very careful and thorough when filing the petitions and answering my questions. When I had to take a big decision on changing my employer, I strongly felt that I should change my attorney and move to Emily as I did not like few things from my previous attorney. Since it was an important milestone for me to change my job and get through the final step of my Green Card process, I approached Emily and she gladly took my case again. Now, I changed my Employer and the Great News is: "I am a Green Card Holder". I am so glad, I found Emily again!!! Thanks Emily. I highly recommend Emily Sumner for any Employment based Immigration matters.

  8. Excellent Immigration Attorney

    Posted by Sumit, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 1-3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.

    Working with Emily was a very pleasant experience. I didn't have to think twice before calling or dropping an email to Emily if I had any questions whatsoever. And the best part was that Emily was always so responsive and detailed in replying to all the questions I had. Overall, I would definitely recommend her as an immigration attorney.

  9. Emily Sumner= Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Rachel, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 1-3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband hired Emily to help me file for immigration (I-130 Petition/I-485 Application for Permanent Residence) and she was very professional and efficient. I was extremely impressed with how fast she was to respond to any question that I had (email or phone). She really knows the immigration laws and kept me informed of the process/timeline and how things were going to happen step-by-step. It all happened the way she said it would: we filed, I got my Employment Authorization Card, I had an interview, and then I got my green card. Overall she made the immigration process uncomplicated and headache-free for me.

  10. Knowledgeable Immigration Attorney

    Posted by DerekM, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emily Sumner.
    • I hired Emily 1-3 years ago.
    • Emily handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with a lot of immigration attorneys in the past for various needs for family and friends. I have not had to find a new attorney since I got in touch with Emily. I have known her since her early days as an attorney and she was the best one at her job in that office. It was only natural that with continued success with DHS and USCIS, and recommendations from all her clients, that she started her own firm. The best part of it is that she is even more accessible now and with her expertise in the immigration field, she is able to help out quicker than ever.
    She worked with me and helped customize my solution to my issues ( as all of you know, immigration rules are the same, but each situation is different). She is very approachable and quick to follow up. You can rely on her advice and she will do everything within the rules of the law to help you succeed.
    Apart from being good with what she does, she is a good human being and a delight to deal with.
    I wish her all the success in helping others figure out this complex immigration system.