Robert Franklin Keefer’s Reviews

Robert Franklin Keefer

Average Rating

Based on 100 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI

    Posted by Don,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.

    My JMU daughter was involved in a serious motor vehicle accident that resulted in her being charged with DUI after having a breath test reading of .20. After finding out the penalties included a mandatory minimum 5 day jail sentence, I started searching for attorneys who specialized in handling DUI cases. Bob Keefer's name came up immediately. I wanted two opinions so we interviewed another attorney who after hearing the details of our case stated he did not think there was any way he could help us and stated we should contact Bob Keefer, whom we were meeting later that day. Upon meeting Mr. Keefer, he told us straight out that it was a very difficult case and advised us of the penalties she was facing and that there is next to no plea bargaining. But he did find that the balance tests and HGN results did not correspond to a reading that high and gave us hope that we could at least get the reading lowered and not get the 5 days in jail, which is all we were hoping for at the time. He suggested that to prove our case, we needed to hire an expert witness trained in balance test results and their effect after being involved in a serious motor vehicle accident. On the day of our court case, Mr. Keefer was attempting to get the charge reduced to a refusal, which was still very serious but did not carry jail time or put an actual DUI on her driving record. He felt it was a very long shot that this could happen. After a long afternoon sitting in the courtroom and being told by Mr. Keefer that he was trying to work with the Prosecutor to get a deal done, the last case of the day was ours and Mr. Keefer was able to do even better than a refusal and got the charged reduced to RECKLESS DRIVING!!! I know this is still a criminal charge but no DUI, no jail time, no loss of license, no ignition interlock, and no DUI insurance surcharges. We could not believe when we heard the Prosecutor state that the charge was being reduced to this and could not have been happier with the result, knowing that a young person’s mistake could have had major implications for many years to come. This result would not have occurred if not for Mr. Keefer's tireless pursuit of a fair and just rendering of our case. He worked long and hard that afternoon to get the state to reduce the charge and not punish a young college graduate any more than she already had been. If not for his efforts, the ending would have been much worse than could be imagined. I did not think he was going to be able to get the original deal but he somehow got a miracle done. When we had our first meeting with Mr. Keefer, he was friendly and pleasant and explained everything to us and already had the case file which he went over in detail with us. He returned phone calls and emails promptly. Beth Todd was an absolute dream to work with either over the phone or via email. She handled everything proficiently, quickly, and professionally. I only wish I had the opportunity to meet her personally to thank her for all her time. There were many phone calls and emails and all were answered or returned promptly. I hope I never have the opportunity to use Bob Keefer again but if for some reason I did, there would not be a hesitation. He is a great person and an outstanding attorney whose knowledge in DUI is insurmountable. It was terrific watching him work and getting a final result that I never in my wildest dreams would have thought possible. Thank you so very much. You saved a good young girl who made one college mistake.

  2. Highly Recommended! Could not be more pleased

    Posted by Joseph, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am writing this review of Bob Keefer in regard to his counsel on a Reckless Driving charge of mine. I was cited for reckless driving while driving 93mph in a 65mph on I-81. As this charge is a misdemeanor I immediately sought counsel and continually heard from lawyers that I was looking at potential jail time as I was over 90mph. As I am an out-of-state driver this was a grave concern to myself so I hired Bob Keefer. Bob Keefer’s assistant, Beth, was always attentive to my needs and ensured she had the documents and information necessary for my case. Yesterday was my court date and Bob Keefer was able to have my charge reduced to an infraction (Improper Driving). I could not be more thrilled as I was looking at possible jail time, major insurance rate hikes, and potential loss of license. Bob was able to keep all these off the table and I would highly recommend him to anyone.

  3. Keefer Law Firm

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.

    Having had experience with legal representation from various individuals in the past, for reasons ranging from a speeding ticket, to the underage possession of alcohol, I can say with absolute certainty that Mr. Keefer has been my best representation. Mr. Keefer was extremely upfront with me after I enlisted his services this year for a recent criminal charge. He laid out exactly what would be expected of me in order to have the outcome of my case result in my favor, and was persistent in his attempts to help me. He, along with his associate Beth Todd, were always a quick email away to answer any questions I had regarding my case, and due to their hard work and Mr. Keefer's legal expertise, I have recently had all charges against me dismissed. I would absolutely (and do plan on) recommending Mr. Robert Keefer to all of my fellow JMU students, and anyone who finds them self in a situation similar to my own.

  4. Defending my DUI Charge

    Posted by Bob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My employment requires me to work with attorneys on a weekly basis, so I know an excellent one when I speak to them. Mr. Keefer is professional, knowledgeable, very honest and clear in explaining the circumstances, legal requirements, and possible outcomes. I could not be more pleased in how Mr. Keefer handled my case. He kept me constantly informed as the case progressed. Mr. Keefer felt that my situation had been handled improperly in several respects and he worked diligently to resolve the charges. I could not be more pleased with the outcome and I feel that his fee was very reasonable considering the work involved.

  5. From Texas

    Posted by Chad, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    My mother was travelling through Virginia and was involved in a major accident. She was written a citation for reckless endagerment which is a criminal offense. Since she was hospitalized, I (her son) had to find an attorney. Since we are from Texas, I had to search online for an someone to handle my mother's case. I found Mr. Keefer, and am so glad that I did. He talked to me on the phone, and after I explained our situation, he consulted me on what he thought he could do for my mom. He and Beth Todd both kept me informed during each step of the case, and in the end was able to get her offense reduced considerably. His cost was very reasonable, and my mother was very happy with the results. She is still recovering, and this is one less thing that she has to worry about. If you are in a similar situation, I strongly recommend Mr. Keefer's services.

  6. Thankful I found Mr Keefer

    Posted by Dan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Life happens and so does Mr Keefer! I found myself in a potentially life changing event and I'm pinching myself pleased that I met/hired Bob to help me and consider him a friend.

    My delemma began when I had a college moment while visiting VA (i'm 50 btw). I'm from out of state, just north of the Mason Dixon line. Bob and Beth Todd were very responsive and kept me well informed re: my situation.

    This is a fact, through Bob's sound advice, guidance and action plan my charge was dismissed and will soon be expunged. I apologize for not going into detail re: my charge, but trust me as I mentioned above, it could have been devastingly life changing and I thank Mr Keefer, Beth and the rest of his team for making my holidays bright.

    The Keefer Law Firm will not disappoint!

    Thanks Bob & team

  7. Speeding 44 in a 25 and reckless driving

    Posted by Penny, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    My son got a speeding ticket for doing 44 in a 25 and, less than a week later, a reckless driving ticket. Sure that he would lose his license if convicted on both charges, I went online to find representation in the area. Based on the reviews I read, I contacted Mr. Keefer. After explaining the situation surrounding the two incidents, he told me he could help. He gave steps that needed to be taken and got the first court date delayed to allow us time to follow through. Mr. Keefer was able to get the reckless driving charge reduced to improper driving and the speeding ticket dismissed. We feel this was the best possible outcome and my son did not even have to miss one class. We could not have asked for better representation. Both Mr. Keefer and his office staff were informative, polite and a great to work with. I would highly recommend him.

  8. Reckless Driving - 85 in a 70

    Posted by V8driver, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    On a drive down to Harrisonburg to visit a friend I hadn't seen in a while, I got stopped by one of VSP's finest for doing 85. The rest of traffic was doing a steady 80, so I had to speed up to 85 in order to pass a slower moving truck by getting into the left lane. Of course, there was the trooper waiting for me. I got nailed, reckless driving by speed.

    I contacted several attorneys that promised all sorts of good results (something NOBODY can honestly and truthfully do) and promptly asked for payment. Not Mr. Keefer. He told me like it is, that I would need to attend driving school and he would do his best to try and get the charge reduced. Being the stickler for getting the most bang for my buck, I did research on everyone I could hire. I used the Virginia court system's general district court docket to see people with similar charges in the same county, and who they hired as counsel. Mr. Keefer was the name I kept seeing getting the best reductions for his clients. That, coupled with his excellent reviews on here as well as his honesty (not falsely promising any particular result) prompted me to hire him.

    I don't have a very good driving record, littered with a few speeding tickets here and there. It didn't matter though, I did just what Mr. Keefer asked of me and it paid off well in the end. My charge was reduced to Speeding - 79 in a 70. In Virginia, 1-9 mph over the speed limit is the LOWEST tier of speeding, with the least amount of points. Considering my record, and that I was doing 15 over...that truly surprised me.

    An excellent job by Mr. Keefer, and I am grateful that there are good lawyers out there with the ability to help young people like myself get another chance to do right, and get rid of a Misdemeanor charge that could affect my life drastically. I cannot recommend him enough!

  9. preview-ww

    Posted by Wen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I'm from NYC and was vacationing in Virginia with my family during the Memorial Day weekend. I was pulled over near Harrisburg on I-81 for driving 91 mph in a 70 mph zone and charged with Reckless Driving. I had a completely clean driving record before this incident. Needless to say this ruined my vacation. Because of the severe consequences of a RD conviction, which really surprised me, and the distance between NYC and Harrisburg, I knew I needed professional legal representation. After researching online and speaking to several lawyers, I decided to hire Mr. Keefer. During our initial conversation, he sounded really familiar with this type of cases. He was candid in evaluating my case and gave me a straight assessment of my options. His fee was the least expensive of the few lawyers I spoke to.

    After retaining Mr. Keefer, he gave me a long list of documents he would need (e.g. character reference letters, records of community services and volunteering etc.) and recommended me to take a driving improvement class. His staff were very responsive and helpful in guiding me through the process.

    In the end, my charge was reduced to Improper Driving with a $500 fine + $61 court fee. This was a very good outcome given the severity of my original charge. I called the court to pay the fine and was advised by the court clerk that paying by credit card would result in additional charges and I could pay by check. When I told Mr. Keefer that I would pay by check, he stronglly recommended me to pay by credit card because he had seen people sending in check and the check getting lost. This shows how responsible Mr. Keefer was in treating his client.

    Overall I'm impressed by Mr. Keefer's performance and will recommend him if anyone needs his expertise.

  10. Reckless Driving charge reduced

    Posted by Gwen, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Keefer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr. Keefer is extremely professional and competent. I had been charged with Reckless Driving in VA and he succeeded in pleading the charge down to a minor traffic infraction . I am very grateful for all he did on my behalf. Additionally, his office staff is very responsive and helpful. I highly recommend Mr. Keefer.

Call us and get the help you deserve.

540-433-6906