J Thomas Spiggle’s Reviews

J Thomas Spiggle

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Counsel for Government Discrimination Dispute

    Posted by Dianne, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-3 years ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Discrimination matter.

    I highly recommend Tom Spiggle for representation on a variety of legal disputes, ranging from employment law, discrimination, family medical leave act, and human resource disputes regarding equitable benefits administration. I contacted Tom in a hail mary pass situation, where a legal remedy was my last option and time was of the essence. I wish I would have contacted him first as I'd have spared months of stress and anguish. Tom has a vast understanding of the law and its application, especially on employment and discrimination issues. Tom also made himself available and was flexible with client meetings, in efforts to save me missed time from work and commuting time.

    I have to say I disagree with Shakespeare's plea to kill all the lawyers! Tom's fairness, flexibility, legal prowess and empathy saved me from considering desperate employment options without legal remedy. And he is kind, courteous and very empathetic to his clients' legal situation.

  2. Outstanding Employment Attorney

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-6 months ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Tom was an extremely calm presence in the midst of a terrible personal storm! During a particularly turbulent period with my employer, I reached out to Tom for counsel. He reviewed my situation and offered me solid advice while I was overtly emotional. He helped me remain calm and collected and I firmly believe that due to his advice, my job was saved. He was attentive and available exactly when I needed him and I sincerely appreciated that considering how fast these situations move. Do yourself a favor and consult with Tom first. He is an outstanding employment attorney!

  3. Review for J Thomas Spiggle re: employment law

    Posted by S. Moore, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-6 months ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    During a time of high emotion and frustration, Tom responsive and knowledgeable. I was impressed and surprised by his accessiblity. I appreciated his time, candor, and experience!

  4. Skilled Negotiator

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.

    I met Tom during a challenging time in my career. He helped me negotiate a reasonable severance package and took a great amount of stress off my shoulders in the process. Transitions rarely are easy and typically present significant (unanticipated) hurdles. Tom helped me clear as many of them as possible by keeping me informed throughout the ordeal, and I am very grateful. I would highly recommend his services.

  5. Tom is an outstanding employment lawyer

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 6-12 months ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Tom guided my wife through a difficult work situation arising from her hospitalization for complications during pregnancy. Tom impressed me with his legal knowledge and sound strategic advice, which helped my wife protect her legal rights without triggering retaliation by her employer. It was obvious to me that Tom has had considerable experience in similar situations, and that he understands workplace realities. Beyond his technical skills, we were grateful for Tom's warmth and empathy at a difficult time. I highly recommend Tom.

  6. Responsive, knowledgable, and sound advice

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 6-12 months ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Tom was gracious, knowledgable, savvy and experienced in helping me to negotiate a severance package and resignation. He provided sound advice and was generous in responding to follow-up questions, as well as regularly checking in with me as negotiations progressed. He provided cost-effective service, yet kept me from making mistakes I would have made without his advice. His assistant was very gracious and responsive as well. I'd be glad to recommend him and his firm to anyone looking for similar help.

  7. Top Notch Attorney!!

    Posted by Mike, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 6-12 months ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I recently consulted Tom Spiggle regarding an adverse employment/personnel action. Right from the start Tom recommended courses of action that eventually resulted in an outcome that was favorable to me. He was spot on about what to do and what not do, and, just as importantly, his support and advice gave me the confidence I needed to deal with a difficult situation. I highly recommend Tom Spiggle for handling employment matters. He was very understanding of my situation and was highly responsive to my needs.

  8. Excellent attorney!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-3 years ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Tom Spiggle is a terrific attorney and I cannot recommend him enough. He is knowledgeable, dependable, and honest. During a particularly difficult time when I really needed an attorney, Tom's counsel and advice put me at ease. The entire time that Tom represented me, I knew he had my best interest in mind. I felt comfortable knowing Tom was negotiating on my behalf and was pleased with the outcome. Since representing me, I have continued to use Tom's services. Tom is a trusted resource I will continue to use and recommend to others in the future.

  9. I Strongly Recommend Tom Spiggle

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-3 years ago.

    Tom was a great asset to me and helped me achieve a good outcome for my situation. He was very responsive, upfront, available, and a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend Tom.

  10. wins and great to work with

    Posted by richard, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J Spiggle.
    • I hired J Spiggle 1-3 years ago.
    • J Spiggle handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tom is fantastic to worth with. Think iron fist with velvet glove. Alternately put, his Southern charm belies the pit bull underneath. For example, I had a contractor who literally took the money I gave him towards materials on my home renovation and used the funds for his own home renovation. Since I used used Tom on another case, I knew the drill. Assemble the facts and put together a draft of the complaint. Then Tom looked this over for me and coached me on the legal machinations. These included trying to get an initial settlement before going to court; options for courts to file in if initial settlement doesn't happen; serving the defendant; encouraging me to play hardball such as calling my contractor's real estate agent and telling the agent about the impending legal issues with the contractor and how that could put a cloud on the contractor's house title resulting in prevention of the sale of contractor's house; evaluating settlement proposal from real estate agent and title company; consummating the settlement deal including times of signing the settlement papers and validating the terms of receiving the monetary compensation such as receiving my funds as proceeds from the closing of escrow from the sale of contractor's house. (In my earlier case with six figures on the line, Tom did all this as the stakes were much higher). Hence Tom is not only good at winning, he is good at helping manage his client's legal costs of winning!

Call us or contact our business manager, Jo Anne Blackmon, joanne@spigglelaw.com

202-449-8527