Karin Riley Porter’s Reviews

Karin Riley Porter

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Virginia Wreckless Driving

    Posted by Richard, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 6-12 months ago.
    • Karin handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I was pulled over by Police while driving to Dulles Airport to return home to California. I was shocked that I was issued a ticket for "wreckless driving" for going 80 mph. I was even more disturbed that it required a court appearance back in Virginia and possible jail time an a misdemeanor. Karin provided me a free consultation and explained how she could help me. She is an expert in these types of cases. I hired her and she was able to represent me such that I did not have to personally appear in court. She was able to get the wreckless driving reduced to a simple infraction which was a great relief to me.

  2. Great

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 6-12 months ago.
    • Karin handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    She was great and I highly recommend her. 82/55 reckless driving reduced to simple speeding. Perfect outcome for me and she made the process as low-stress as possible.

  3. Highly recommend Karin Porter

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 6-12 months ago.
    • Karin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Karin Porter was extremely helpful in assisting with my case. She was knowledgeable, professional, and responsive. I called Karin for a free consultation after finding the office on the web. I spoke to Karin on the phone and she was very helpful, giving me more information than I had expected for a free consultation. I chose to go forward with her because she seemed very knowledgeable and professional. Knowing that she had taken cases similar to mine in the past and that she understood the court system helped in my decision to retain. The outcome was great. We got the best outcome possible as all of my pending charges were dismissed before I even had to go into the courtroom. I would absolutely recommend her. .

  4. Great lawyer for any traffic case!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.

    When I was given a speeding ticket, I was referred to the managing partner of Price Benowitz LLP, Seth Price, who took some information about my case. He put me in touch with Defense attorney Karin Porter. Karin gave me the lay of the land as far as the seriousness of the traffic violation and gave me a realistic depiction of what I could expect. She told me what I needed to hear. I went with Karin to court, and her demeanor was very professional. I was very satisfied with the results of Karin’s work. She was able to get me off with a fine. I would definitely recommend Karin to anyone in need of a traffic attorney.

  5. Best Criminal Attorney!!

    Posted by Eric, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 1-3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mrs. Porter was professional and very knowledgeable of my situation (2nd possesion of marijuana). When I met her, she had a gracious and positive attitude as well as made me feel like I was her only client. What also impressed me was that she was prepared with a map of the area where the traffic stop occured, the officer's information and legal research before I walked in her office. She will get you the best result! I'm happy for the result in my case as it was DISMISSED with community service and gracious to have had her as my attorney.

  6. Excellent Attorny Highly Recommend

    Posted by Whitney, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 1-3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I received Karin Porter’s information in the mail when I was charged with Reckless Driving. I was impressed with her qualifications as a former prosecutor and that she had good online reviews. I called Karin’s office and talked to the staff. I received a call back from Karin within an hour. Karin was very friendly and knowledgeable. She let me know what I was facing and what the court would be looking at with my driving record. She sent me a representation agreement and worked with me on the payment arrangements to ensure that it was within my budget. Karin went to court for me since I could not make it due to work commitments. She had great communication with me throughout the whole process. Karin was able to get my Reckless Driving charge reduced to a simple speeding violation with only a small fee. I would definitely recommend Karin to other potential clients looking for a Reckless Driving lawyer.

  7. WIlling to Help

    Posted by Monica, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 1-3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I found out about my son’s traffic matter I was personally worried about the financial piece of the citation. How much it would cost for an attorney and what impact it would make on my insurance? My son wants to become a police officer so we knew this was something he needed to take care of. I had previously worked with Karin Porter, attorney at Price Benowitz, LLP, so I decided to call her and ask her for some direction. After talking to her I felt she was very professional and made me feel like she would help us and try to get this resolved. Karin displays a clear knowledge of the system and was able to give us realistic expectations that at the end of this proved to be on point. We were very happy with the outcome. She approached the officer and the prosecutor to attempt to work out some kind of agreement and was able to have the case amended to a non-moving violation. I was glad to know that Karin was able to present herself on behalf of my son at the final court hearing because my son is a college student and is several hours away. It helped ease the burden of missing class and travel. With that result I was able to avoid having this impact my insurance and causing me a great financial burden. I would definitely recommend Price Benowitz and Karin Porter if they need a Criminal Defense attorney and want to feel confident that someone will aggressively go to bat for you.

  8. Best Defense Lawyer in VA

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 1-3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Karin Porter is an excellent attorney. I had used Price Benowitz before and am very thankful to have met Ms. Porter. From our initial meeting she was clear, knowledgeable, and encouraging. Her legal experience in criminal cases provided a clear sense of direction . After our initial meeting, Karin was regularly in contact with me as she worked through the specifics of my defense. Throughout the process I was informed and up to date at every point until the ultimate dismissal of the pending felony charges. It was a true pleasure working with her.

  9. Karin Porter Review

    Posted by Dave, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin more than 3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was was charged with reckless driving, failure to maintain control of the vehicle. I was hoping for dismissal of charges or lessening the offence. I work for the U.S. Navy and have a clearance. I was worried that would be affected. I found Karin very personable and sharp with the details of my case. She returned my calls and texts very quickly and made me feel at ease. The law firm, Price Benowitz took credit cards, so paying was easy. Karin was able to work with the DA and the state trooper behind the scenes without me present to get the charges dropped. I was never needed to appear in court, except for a short appearance to acknowledge the charges were dropped. I was very satisfied with the outcome of the trial and very appreciative to Karin for the work she did.

  10. The best possible outcome

    Posted by Eric, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Karin Porter.
    • I hired Karin 1-3 years ago.
    • Karin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    When I was charged with RD I was very concerned because I realized that it was a serious situation, with potentially damaging consequences and I was likely going to need some help. I got some information in the mail and Price Benowitz was the first one I got, so I called. When I first called it was very painless. I spoke with the staff and within an hour got a call back from Karin Riley Porter. After discussing the case with her briefly, she sent me an email with a checklist of everything I needed to do. The guy before me in the courthouse got a huge fine and a suspension, and was charged with basically the same things that I was charged with, but he wasn’t represented. We had a very challenging judge and some problematic circumstances, but I feel Karin was able to get me the best possible outcome in light of the circumstances. In the line to pay the fine there was attorney after attorney apologizing to their clients. I just had a small fine to pay. It was an awesome experience to not need an apology.

Call now for a free consultation.

703-278-2800