Jonathan Simms’s Reviews

Jonathan Simms

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Rob,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.

    I highly recommend Jonathan Simms. He has a lot of insight into federal and state criminal matters. He is ready and willing to file motions, prepare for trial, and/or aggressively negotiate with the prosecutor. Although he is in high demand, he is accessible and is willing to schedule appointments during weekend hours to make sure he has time to meet. He gets excellent results.

  2. Top Notch Attorney

    Posted by Ryan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Jonathan Simms represented me in a criminal matter and was able to get my criminal charge dismissed. I have spoken to several people and he is considered one of the top criminal defense attorneys in the Nothern Virginia/Washington D.C. area. He was always easy to get in contact with and returned all of my emails and phone calls. He is very intelligent and fully explained every step of the process. We met and discussed legal strategy while my matter was pending and I was very confident in him. He is an aggressive attorney who does everything possible to defend his clients in the courtroom. I highly recommend him.

  3. Great Experience

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Simms was hired to represent a family member for a criminal case. He is easy to talk to and extremely professional. He did not rely on me to feed him information as another attorney had done and did an excellent job conducting himself in the courtroom. Contacting him with any questions or concerns was a breeze. Pricing is reasonable for what you would be asked to pay for a felony charge. Although we did received the desired results from the case (not guilty) we would work with him again without hesitation.

  4. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Jonathan Simms is an outstanding criminal defense attorney. He is very good at explaining legal concepts to clients and answering questions. I was always able to reach him on the phone or via email, and he was kind enough to even return calls on weekends. He is a former prosecutor who fights aggressively for his clients and offers excellent legal advice. It was clear that he is very respected by the judges and other attorneys. He's an excellent trial attorney. I highly recommend him.

  5. Very Profesional

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called Mr. Simms to help me with my case. He was responsive and very empathic to my situation. He kept me updated and communicated all info to me as needed. At trial he showed up professional, prepared, and finished my case with great results.
    I would highly recommend using Mr. Simms's services to all of my friends, co workers, and other professionals. If you are looking for a sharp, professional, communicative, punctual attorney to address your legal needs. Great choice!!!!

  6. Never Hire This Lawyer.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is the absolute worst lawyer you could ever hire to defend you in a criminal case. He does not even know how to read a criminal statute. This lawyer does not even understand or know how to interpret a criminal statute. He will not respond to your emails or phone calls. He is untrustworthy and totally unreliable. He will lie to you and say that he talked to the prosecutor when he really did not. He should be disbarred for taking cases that he has no intention of preparing any kind of defense. He just wants to take your money and run. Stay away from this lawyer or you will regret it.

  7. Criminal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Simms helped me in a criminal defense matter and was very helpful in the matter. He made honest efforts to keep me informed as to what was happening so I was never blindsided in any matter. I was pleased with the outcome given my circumstances. Mr. Simms is very personable as he seems to take all cases very seriously. I would recommend him to anyone needing a criminal defense attorney.

  8. Protecting a Father's rights

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Simms represented me in a family court matter that I was very pleased with the out come. His advice on pre-trial activities for me to performed along with his outstanding court room presence allowed the court to objectively hear my case. The judge complimented Mr. Simms on preparation and delivery of the case. All my requests were granted which included signifcantly increase in time with my child and return to financial stability of my obligations.

  9. Represented me in a criminal defence

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr Simms represented me in a matter. He performed his tasks professionally and knowledgeably, he was always available for discussion and questions. The matter was resolved quickly and efficiently and with minimal complications. His fees were consistent with other attorneys in the Washington DC area.

  10. Very knowledgable and trustworthy

    Posted by M.N.,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Simms.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have consulted with Jonathan Simms on multiple matters over the past few years and have always been very impressed and satisfied with his advice. He is extremely knowledgable, commonsensical, and intelligent. On top of that, he's a really great person and easy to talk to. He spends a lot of time listening and thinking before just giving out advice.

703-934-6015