James Stanton Abrenio’s Reviews

James Stanton Abrenio

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Tim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It is with great pleasure that I write this recommendation for James Abrenio. We contacted Ben Glass law firm regarding my wife's injury from a vicious dog attack in June 2013. James was assigned to our case and was very helpful through out the entire ordeal. James exemplifies everything any one would want in an attorney. First he exceptionally professional and always has a positive attitude, his focus is clearly on the clients and their well being. This was the first time we have ever had to deal with something like this, but James' smile, positive attitude and friendly voice made us feel very comfortable about the whole situation. James spent the necessary time to explain everything to us, explain why he was making the recommendations he did, and how the process works. He made sure to stay in contact with us through out the entire process and would always reply very quickly to any emails or questions we had. Working with James was a pleasure and I would personally recommend him to anyone.

  2. Super prepared

    Posted by Akil, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    First, Mr. Abrenio is a very honest and genuine attorney. He was extremely prepared and worked with me like I was apart of his family. Mr. Abrenio was upfront and very informative and I would highly
    recommend him. My situation was unique being that I am from Michigan and had to work with Mr. Abrenio while being in another state. I was extremely impressed with his professionalism and attention to detail. My outcome was successful, case dismissed!

  3. Successful Traffic Defense

    Posted by Jeremy, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was charged with No Operator's License as I had failed to change my valid NYS driver's license to a Virginia license. Since this charge is a Class B misdemeanor I decide to retain Mr Abrenio's services based on referrals from a friend. Mr Abrenio was very helpful and at the courthouse he was able to negotiate a plea deal with the prosecutor where the criminal charge was dropped in exchange for a guilty plea to an Illegal U-Turn. This was a very positive result as it kept my record clean. Mr Abrenio also follow-up with me to see if I had any questions. He was very professional and if I run into any issues in the future I would not hesitate to call him.

  4. What Can You Do?

    Posted by Louis, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Imagine being in my situation? I had been a law-abiding, tax-paying productive member of society for my whole life. Working as a Federal civil servant for 30 years, I had raised four children, been widowed, been divorced, remarried, and I was making best of a very difficult life.

    Despite that, my life (as I knew it) almost came to an end one unfortunate night. Due to a confluence of unforeseen and confused events, all beyond my control, I found myself being awakened by the police from my bed one night, arrested, taken to jail, and accused of a very serious criminal offense. Not only that, the crime that I was accused of, domestic violence, was being prosecuted by the Commonwealth of Virginia. It did not matter that there was no victim complaining or evidence that a crime had been committed, other than the confused words of some misinformed individuals who mistakenly assumed (or implied) that a crime was committed.

    So "what can you do" when you are in such a desperate situation? It seemed my life was ending, I would lose my wife, job, children....the repercussions of a "guilty" verdict would have been horrible. I knew my only hope was to find the best possible criminal defense attorney possible. God helped me to find that attorney; his name is James Abrenio.

    Against all odds, James used his unique talents to help get my case dismissed by the Commonwealth. He also really cared about my well being through this whole ordeal, and helped me to remain calm, which was not easy, while I was awaiting trial.

    Having already gone though a difficult divorce in Fairfax County, I have had several attorneys in the past, and none have come close to James in terms of their knowledge, determination, honesty and results. James Abrenio is the best attorney I have ever had.

    So in closing, I want to answer the question that many of us (hundreds every year in Fairfax County alone) might ask in a situation like mine. "What can you do?" The answer is simple, you call James Abrenio!

  5. Top Notch Advice!

    Posted by Michael,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.

    James took his time listening to the circumstances regarding my legal situation and spent additional time explaining my options while offering me sound voice free a charge. He was great!

  6. Mr James Abrenio

    Posted by Maximilien, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Even though for various reasons I didn't hire finally Mr Abrenio, I found him to be one of the best Attorney I have met (if not The best). He is young, dynamic, aggressive (in the positive sense), knowledgeable, very experienced, compassionate, detailed and goal oriented. I would definitely hire (if not because of my specific situation) and recommend him.

  7. Just take my recommendation....!

    Posted by Andrew, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Beyond my expectations in every way, and I ALMOST wouldn't mind doing it again. Look, James responsively emails/texts even on weekends, and that's all secondary because best of all, I got B-slapped in the face knowing that my lawyer really craves the Win!!! Should I say more?????? Well, I certainly came out a winner, let me explain.. Driving on suspended + reckless 88 in 55, that's 2 class1 criminal Misd., with my less than perfect driving record. I was looking at up to a year in jail, at minimum 6 months loss of license, -6 points, and a CRIMINAL conviction! Before court, I wrapped up my hectic life to prepare for what I thought was to come, arranging rides, changing schedules, cancelling plans etc..... James met me on time, told me to relax and have some coffee while he speaks with the trooper and prosecutor. I sat there watching this unpredictable judge dish out sentences, I really thought I was screwed. As I sat there with my fist under my chin, James sits next to me and says "sign this paper, we got the Driving on Suspended dropped, and the reckless down to Improper driving which is a minor traffic infraction with no other penalty than a fine and -3 points." WHAAAT??? Are you kidding me?!? I get to keep my license!? I get to pay a fine and walk out of here and carry on with my daily life?? I seriously wanted to take him out to Mortons and wash/wax his car for him but I kept my cool....lol. James has my highest recommendation, and I am so very grateful.. Let me add that the appreciation of a second chance goes far beyond the courts punishments, I will be more prudent from now. Thanks James!!!!!

  8. Jame is very Knowledgeable

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.

    I came to James for legal advice and he took the time to explain some very detailed and finer points about the law. I have been searching for answers and discussing the case with multiple lawyers but James was able to point me in the right direction. So I know that if he was working on my case, I might not be in the situation that I am currently in!

  9. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by Justin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was pulled over for speeding which led to a DWI charge of a 0.10 BAC. I was referred to James through a friend and I was completely satisfied with the choice from the beginning. James was very helpful, upfront, and knowledgeable about what I should/could expect throughout the trial process. He was able to put up a solid case in my defense and ultimately got all the charges dropped completely. He never passed any judgement and was quick to respond to questions and phone calls whenever I was unsure of what to do. He offered sound advice on multiple occasions when there were various avenues with which to proceed and it ended up with the best outcome anyone could hope to get. I would absolutely recommend James to anyone who needs a lawyer for DWI/driving charges!

  10. Superior performance!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abrenio.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Abrenio represented my Drunk In Public charge. During the time leading to the court date, Mr. Abrenio did an excellent job of managing my expectations and anxiety by thoroughly explaining the court process and identifying the best and worst possible outcomes that could have occurred. Being called to court can be an extremely nerve-wracking experience and Mr. Abrenio's knowledge and interpersonal skills definitely laid to rest those sleepless nights.

    Each time I reached out with a question I received a response within a couple of hours and never the following day.

    END RESULT: I received the best possible outcome. Mr. Abrenio was able to have the charge dropped and provided the eligibility to have the arrest expunged from my record after completing community service.

Call now for a free consultation.

703-591-9829