Garrett Douglas Green’s Reviews

Garrett Douglas Green

Average Rating

Based on 105 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best lawyer ever

    Posted by Ieisha, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr. Green is a good lawyer he cares about his clients and takes care of you. He's a good lawyer honest man , a good listener. He's loyal very dependent a very nice man. Who understands his clients and where they're coming from. Without Mr. Green I don't know what would of happened to me but at the end of the day he was a very good lawyer and he was Kind of like a father figure as well he was there for me and never left my side. I had no worries

  2. If you have been charged with reckless driving, hire Mr, Garrett Green right away.

    Posted by Melinda, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Approximately two months ago, I was pulled over by Fairfax Police and was charged with Reckless driving and Aggressive driving. Given the seriousness of the charges (criminal offenses), I immediately started looking for an experienced defense attorney. I narrowed down my search to three attorneys, and following my initial consultation with each, I knew, without a doubt, that Mr. Green was the one I wanted to defend me. He was an absolute professional and gave me all the time I needed to ask questions. He went over several possible scenarios, and while did not make any promises, I knew he would do his very best to get me the most desirable outcome. While I was waiting for my court hearing, I contacted him several times, and I greatly appreciated that he always responded and took the time to go over my case. During my court hearing, I was amazed as how much respect his peers, police officers, prosecutor, and the judge had for Mr. Green. Given his great reputation and extensive experience in traffic law in Virginia, he was able to reduce both criminal charges to simple traffic violations. I was extremely happy with the outcome and I knew I might not have received the same outcome had I hired someone else. His fee was very reasonable and was definitely worth the investment. I grabbed bunch of his business cards to pass to those in need of a great defense attorney. God bless you, Mr. Green. I am forever grateful to you and your firm.

  3. I will keep his card as long as I live in Northern VA!

    Posted by Andres, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 6-12 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Garrett is the type of lawyer that I am sure everyone would like to hire. I assume that many of us (first offenders) have this bad impression of lawyers and how they take our money and do nothing. That was not my case, I was very lucky to land in Garretts office after getting a millions offers from a million different DUI lawyers. Since day one Garrett was very informative, straight forward with me, prepared me for the worst but always gave me hope.
    I blew .19 and then later had a BAC of.16. In VA having a BAC level of .15 or above is a mandatory 5 day in jail. Garrett took his time, my first court date was 2/24. He suggested be ask for a new court date and have the person who took my blood test present. So we did, next date was 3/19. I got there at 9am met with Garrett and went over the plan. Long story short, Garrett negotiated until 2:30pm, stayed with me all the time keeping me updated and making sure I was ok, of course I was there listening to EVERYONE getting sentenced to jail time and I was a little nervous. Finally after him negotiating, at 2:30 my case was resolved, he managed to get my BAC thrown out and no jail time. I got a restricted license for 12 months (which he helped me apply for and made sure I was all set) and unsupervised probation for 12 months. I was the only one out of all the offenders that day who did not get jail time!
    I think the final result of this situation was fantastic and I witnessed how much time and effort Garrett put in helping me out. I think that it is also very comforting to see how well known Garrett and Luke(b/partner) are in the Fairfax court building. I mean even the cashier new his name!
    Thank you Garrett! I will keep your card in my wallet at all times!

  4. Reckless Ticket reduced to Failure of Obeying Highway Sign.

    Posted by Maaz, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am an immigrant in US. I was going for my classes in Fairfax County Virginia and went 21 mph over speed limit (76/55). An officer pulled me over and I, being the idiot I am, talked rudely to the officer (completely unintentional- because of nervousness). I got a reckless driving ticket (I think mainly because of my attitude). This was my first ticket ever and I was afraid beyond limits.
    2-3 days later, I received a very professional letter containing a handbook on reckless driving from Nichols and Green firm. The book was comprehensive and contained all the information I needed. I decided to call them. The representative at the firm talked very politely and comforted me. I talked to Mr. Garrett Green. He was awesome about everything we talked about. I sent the firm numerous emails and they replied to each, in detail.
    Coming to the point, my first court date did not go well, because the prosecutor knew about my attitude to the officer. Mr. Green was able to take another date and on 2nd date, Mr. Green won the case for me. He was able to get my Reckless Driving Ticket, a criminal offence which stays on driving record for 11 years and a criminal record for life (6 point offence with a $2500 fine and up to 6 months in jail) to just Failure to Obey Highway Sign, a traffic infraction (3 point offence and $200 fine that stays on your driving record for only 3 years).
    I am very thankful to Mr. Green and I happily and confidently recommend him to anybody who needs assistance. May GOD bless him with happiness, health and victories in any case he takes up.

  5. Excellent Lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Garrett was great! I was recently charged with a public intoxication, and I'm glad I hired Garrett as my attorney. During my free consultation, he was extremely personable and knowledgable. He was in no rush to get me out the door, he did an outstanding job of explaining my options, and he made me feel very comfortable . Then, on the day of my court date, the charges were dropped, which meant I could avoid court costs, fines, or a criminal conviction. From start to finish, Garrett was everything I was looking for in a lawyer. I highly endorse him and would absolutely recommend his services for anyone in search of a good attorney.

  6. Good Lawyer

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I spoke with 5 lawyers when I got a reckless driving citation on RT 66 (77/55). All basically told me the same thing to expect at court. However the sheer number of cases Nichols and Green handled in a year made feel better about hiring them for my case. I only spoke with Mr. Green once during the consultation but his staff was good about keeping me informed when I called. I liked his pragmatic approach. He told me not to get a speedometer calibration based on the reliability of my car and how it might hurt a case in court if the disparity went the wrong way. He also recommended I wait to do driver improvement until after my case since my record was relatively good. So while the fees were not the cheapest of the lawyers I consulted they saved me superfluous charges. I am happy with the outcome of the case and I am sure that Mr. Green's knowledge and experience in the Fairfax courts made all the difference between a reckless driving charge which would have been a disaster and what I ended up with a speeding ticket.

  7. From Reckless Driving to a Speeding Ticket

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Education matter.

    Definitely a firm that you can trust. I was referred by a family member and it was the best choice I could have made. They have your best interest in mind and work to get the best results. My consultation was effortless and they were able to work with me short notice. The correspondence was timely and my mind was definitely put at ease during such a stressful time. My case was already squared away when I reached the courtroom and I am very happy with my results. You won't be disappointed. I am so glad this situation is over and I am even more happy with the positive results of my case!

  8. Grateful Client - Garret Green is Awesome

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 6-12 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Garrett Green is extremely professional, responsive, empathetic and most of all, effective. Garrett knows all of the players in the traffic court system, knows the law, and is an effective communicator. He was able to reduce my reckless driving charge to an infraction. I was terrified about having a criminal record but he handled it and kept my record clean. I also can tell he is very well respected by officers, judges, and other attorneys in the system. I recommend him strongly and without hesitation.

  9. Extremely Satisfied!

    Posted by Ashley H., a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 1-6 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I would HIGHLY recommend Mr. Green as an attorney. I am an out of state resident and I was fined a reckless driving ticket. Mr. Green was very thorough during my consultation and asked all the right questions. He than advised me in the steps I should take up to the court date. I felt very in the loop and he answered all the questions I had along the way. On the actual day of court he was able to get the judge to throw my case out. I was very estatic with the outcome. Mr. Greens professionalism and knowlege of the law is very apparent during our first meeting; which is why I hired him, and he did not disappoint. If you are looking for someone who knows the law and can represent you putting your interest firsts than without hesitation I would recommend Mr. Green.

  10. Reckless Driving for Speeding On 495

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Garrett Green.
    • I hired Garrett 6-12 months ago.
    • Garrett handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Outcome: I was charged with Reckless driving (83/55), a 6 point Criminal Misdemeanor to be on my Virginia driving record for 11 years and with the help of Nichols and Green was amended to a Speeding (74/55) Conviction, a 4 point traffic infraction to be on my record for 5 years. The reckless criminal conviction was dropped and I can take a driver improvement class to get the points back on my license.
    I was pulled over for speeding on the beltway. I was concerned about this affecting my insurance rates, lowering the odds of an officer letting me off with a warning if I was pulled over again, and most importantly, about receiving a criminal misdemeanor charge (permanent record in VA) as it could adversely affect future employment opportunities. After reading about Fairfax County Courts online, I decided it would be worth the money to hire a lawyer. After meeting in person with several traffic lawyers throughout the area I settled on Garret Green from Nichols and Green. The main reasons I chose him over the competition was that he was happy to discuss the specifics of defending my case prior to payment, he presented himself in a very professional manner, he was up front about my chances and that a technicality I found on my summons wouldn’t work in my defense. I was also able to find a large volume of reviews about him. There were a few lawyers in the area with higher AVVO ratings, but they were based on less than 10 reviews. Garret had the most reviews of any traffic lawyer I looked at, and still maintained one of the highest ratings. The number of years of experience he brought to the table was also towards the top for all the Lawyers I looked through. The fixed price he gave me for handling my case (including any appeals) was also a hair cheaper than the other lawyers I met with. On court day, I waited outside the courtroom for a few hours with one of Garret's other clients while he met with the prosecutor, officer, etc. He was able to get both of our charges reduced. I signed a form with the amended charge and we all went into the court room where Garret spoke with the judge and provided my signed paperwork (I only spent about 10 minutes in the court room and only had to say a half dozen words). I paid the fine / court costs on my way out of the court house. The whole process was about as smooth as I could have hoped for. Garret, his Partner Luke Nichols (who also appeared at the courthouse), and their staff put me at ease, answered my questions in a timely manner, and got the results I was hoping for. I will obviously be recommending them to anyone I encounter who faces traffic court in Fairfax county.