Ann Marie Thayer’s Reviews

Ann Marie Thayer

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Strong and Very Competent

    Posted by Panos,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ann is very competent, hard working and very good. She is very organized and a good communicator. She explained everything about the case and gave me good advice. She worked very hard for me, even sending messages late at night. My ex-wife filed false claims against me and she exposed her lies and it was dismissed. She is very good. I am lucky I have her on my side.

  2. She saved my future!!!

    Posted by Raymond, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 6-12 months ago.
    • Ann handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hello, I'm Raymond and I was facing a felony charge and a misdemeanor charge at the same time. I felt that I was being misrepresented by my previous lawyer Mark Dahlberg and had to terminate his services. That was when I discovered Ms. Ann Thayer. I contacted her by phone and immediately she started giving me advice and sharing valued information with me that I was not familiar with. I was shocked because she was helping me without being paid for it. I knew then that she cared for the person and enjoyed her job more than just collecting a pay check. I just had to hire her immediately! She put a lot of her time into my case and made contact with me as well as my family and friends to obtain as much information as possible and to keep us we'll informed. She didn't hide anything from me and she told me everything just as it was, no sugar coatings. Lol. Honestly, I knew I was in the best hands with Ms. Thayer. When we were in trial her expertise, professionalism, and attitude shocked the entire court room. It was a tough case against the DA of Virginia Commonwealth but she was able to get the felony dropped completely and keep me out of jail. 6 years I was facing!!! Ms. Thayer saved my future and I'm forever greatful that she was there to represent me. I can't thank her enough. If you need a great lawyer to represent you, I recommend the Taylor Law Company

  3. Misdemeanor/ Felony property damage

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I recently had hired Ms. Thayer to represent me in a destruction of property charge I was facing. After initially meeting with Ms.Thayer I felt comfortable and hopeful in her expertise in helping me get the best outcome. Throughout the 2 month process it took before the final trial date, I had only heard back from her a total of 2-3 times max, one time being the day right before trial to inform
    me we would discuss the final details the morning of the court date. Although both parties dropped
    the charges I felt Ms. Thayer did not put the effort into making sure I was comfortable and confident prior to court. I felt I handed her an easy couple thousand dollars for a very sloppy job done.

    1. Ann Marie Thayer

      Ann Marie Thayer

      Lawyer Comment:

      Due to attorney/client confidentiality I cannot respond to this review as it would lead to a violation of attorney/client relationship. I will say that my clients all have my cell phone, email, and office number and I always return messages and respond to calls. I am sorry that even though you note your charges were resolved successfully that you were not happy. I strive to get each and every client the best result I can and to make sure I am available throughout the process whenever they have questions.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Great and honest lawyer

    Posted by Qais, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 6-12 months ago.
    • Ann handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I got a a ticket in VA in December 2013, it was 82/55 so obviously I needed a lawyer to represent me. I contacted Ann and she explained to me all the details I needed to know about the case. I really felt very comfortable working with her, honest and straight forward. Communication was excellent and she always got back to me very quickly and that was the main reason I wanted to work with her. On court day she called me and informed be about the decision before hand and it was what I expected and what we discussed. I am really very thankful to her and highly recommend her to anyone.

  5. Great lawer at a reasonable price

    Posted by Joseph, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Administrative Law matter.

    Ann Marie Thayer is a great lawyer told me how things could possibly play out from the beginning and she did her best get me a good deal. Very knowledgable and kept me inform at all times.i would highly recommend her as a lawyer.

  6. Ann Thayer A lawyer Who Cares

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ann Thayer, is a lawyer who cares about her clients, I found myself in a situation that seem like I was never going to get out of. I did not live in the state of VA anymore but my case was being handle in VA so the thought of having to come back and forth to court was over whelming to me but having Ann as my lawyer took all the stress out of a very stressful situation. Ann kept me informed every step of the way, she made sure I fully understood everything, when I had questions she always returned my calls as soon as she could, or would email me to let me know when we would be able to talk. She made a case that seemed like it was impossible to overcome very bearable to deal with. Ann always made sure I was comfortable with choices that given to me and also was very upfront and honest as to what my chances were in doing jail time or not. She never sugar coat anything so I was always well inform of everything I was facing. I keep her number in my cell phone so that if anyone I know ever needs a lawyer I would be recommending Ann Thayer because she is the best

  7. CALL ANN NOW!

    Posted by Mike, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would be willing to bet that in the vast majority of cases the police violate the rights of those they charge with crimes. Even an "honest" police officer may make mistakes (such as searching a young boy's bag without permission, or detaining him and forgetting to read him the Miranda warning). Why should you be punished for not following the law when the police officer also neglected to follow the law?

    I called Ann for a free consultation concerning my son's case. She spent at least 20 minutes on the phone with me and after listening to the details, she pointed out how the police had violated my son's rights multiple times. She filed a motion to suppress the evidence that was illegally obtained and the prosecutor dropped the charges.

    In the past, I've gone to lawyers for free consultations and found that most don't want to spend more than a minute with you before asking for money, and I've found many lawyers simply don't know the law. Ann, however, will take time to analyze all the details of your case and give you advice about how to proceed.

    During my son's case, I must have exchanged more than 20 emails with her. I gave her all the information I could find, and I kept her informed about any new developments. She used every single fact and document I gave her to build a case that showed the prosecution she meant business. I tried to handle one case against my son without a lawyer and paid dearly. If I have to ever go to court again, I'm going to call Ann because I know she will work to make sure I have a good outcome, no matter how minor the case.

    Here is my advice: Call Ann! Make sure you write down bullet points of what happened while it's fresh in your memory. Tell Ann the details. She will take notes, ask lots of questions, and tell you what she can do for you. I know many lawyers will not even do that.

    I called her on a Friday, and the next Monday she was in court representing my son at his initial hearing. A month later we went to trial and we had the best possible outcome. She even helped us get a punishment related to a previous charge removed due to medical reasons.

    Although Ann fulfilled the terms of her contract with me and could just walk away, she is helping my son recover property the police officer took from him, AND she said she would be with him later this month when he will be called to testify against a dangerous character who has already made threats against him. Isn't she amazing?!?

    I honestly don't know where you will find a better lawyer than Ann. Call Ann and then call a couple of other lawyers and you'll see what I'm talking about. Thanks to her my son learned that you can fight for your rights when you've been violated. Her fees were extremely fair--about one-third of what I expected to pay. Stop reading reviews and CALL ANN!

  8. Wonderful DWI/Refusal Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ann Thayer was with me through my DWI and Refusal charge that went on for almost 6 months, dating back to last December. This was the first time I had ever been in trouble and I was terrified of what it would do to my life. She stood by me the whole time and was there to answer any questions I had throughout everything. She also was always there to explain to you not only the best case senario, but the worst so you didn't go in not knowing what could happen. This was helpful so you could know exactly what you were looking at. I would highly recommend Ann and her firm for anyone in need of a DWI lawyer, for they are trustworthy, fair, and explain everything going on. Plus they do not give up on you until there are absolutely no other options.

  9. Highly Recommend Ann Thayer

    Posted by Deana Simons, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend Ann to anyone in need of an attorney. Her hard work, due diligence and putting the best interest of my 15 year old son saved his life. We are forever indebted to her.

  10. Ann Thayer @ Taylor Law Company

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Thayer.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I would recomment Ann (Taylor Law Company) to anyone in need of a DUI attorney. They got me the best possible outcome I could have hoped for.

    TLC = Tough Legal Counsel!

703-385-5529