Gregg Schaaf’s Reviews

Gregg Schaaf

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Competent Cumberland, MD Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 1-6 months ago.
    • Gregg handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Schaaf was instrumental in helping me navigate the Maryland legal system. He provided excellent support and advice, and I would hire him again.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Jordon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Gregg Schaaf did a great job with handling my case. Being a partially disabled veteran, Mr. Gregg Schaaf was understanding of my situation and with no previous theft charges, he managed to get one charge completely dropped and with a simple $20 restitution payment and 40 community service hours....I'll maintain a clean record for my much better future! With all thanks to Mr. Gregg Schaaf!

  3. Praise and Recommendation for Representation by Gregg Schaaf.

    Posted by Brian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Gregg for criminal defense charges on a case dated 1/28/2014. I obtained Gregg from a referral through my brother who took the time to research lawyer in the Cumberland area. I am a out of state resident and I was anxious about my criminal defense. Upon contact with Gregg I became at ease and found his recommendations realistic and fees reasonable. I had many charges held against me based on my behavior including assault and resisting arrest. As a mental health patient with substance abuse issues, not knowing the position of the courts with this regard, and further anxiety about the process of prosecution for an out of state resident I was counseled in a fashion that put me at ease. In preparation and prior the trial I was counseled as to the documents necessary for verification and had the opportunity to meet with him individually on the day of the trial. I was given information about what was reasonable and was able to negotiate circumstances as to my condition on the night of my arrest. He represented me and gave information regarding my particular circumstances. I was also give the opportunity to apologize to the officers that I offended by the judge. I was arrested and placed in a detention center.
    In addition he took exceptional care of my possessions and made additional contacts for me while I was incarcerated which were above and beyond his call of duty. Upon release he took personal time to review my further questions and advised me of the necessary measures to maintain myself during the terms of probation.
    I would highly recommend his services due to his care and respect in my particular circumstances.

    Thanks for the representation Gregg.

  4. Able to get charge dropped on short notice

    Posted by Robert, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregg handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I found attorney Gregg Schaaf through the internet, as I live in Florida and was ordered to appear in Cumberland, Maryland on short notice. With one exception, Gregg’s reviews were excellent, and I’m glad I went with him. Gregg was forthright, responsive, and effective. He quickly responded to my emails (even on Sunday night at the start of Thanksgiving week) and was able to get my charge dropped without me having to travel to Maryland. I also appreciated that Gregg is personable and exhibits a sense of humor.

  5. It helps to have someone actually on your side

    Posted by Ed, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I found Mr. Schaaf to be both courteous and engaging in representing me during a recent criminal case. Being from West Virginia, I had no knowledge of Maryland law and was completely at the mercy of the court system until I retained Mr. Schaaf. It was a real relief to have him on my side. While I deal with lawyers on a regular basis in my contracting business, I have thankfully not had the need to be represented in a criminal case until now. It was a real comfort to have someone who I felt genuinely cared about my case. In short, I was treated as a person and not just another case.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Schaaf to anyone.

  6. ALL OF MY CHARGES WERE DROPPED

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My experiences with Gregg as an attorney have been excellent! In a 1st offense case which had the evidence most apparently stacked against me, Gregg was able to immediately see me only a few hours after I initially contacted him. He then spent over an hour explaining my options and the coming legal scenarios which I faced. This was ALL before I even decided to hire him!!! His understanding of the courts his extensive. Over the months leading up to my trial Gregg spent countless hours responding to my questions, suggesting things to do prior to trial, and more. Throughout the entire process he was reasonable from pricing to not communicating anything on my behalf without my full consent first.

    Gregg was also able to refer my co-defendant to an excellent attorney as well. Thanks to Mr. Schaaf ALL CHARGES WERE DROPPED. As a college student approaching graduation, Gregg SAVED MY CAREER. In going the extra mile; he even went on to assist me in completing the expungement application process immediately at the conclusion of my trial.

    If I was to choose one reason however as to what Gregg's best quality is, it would have to be his RAPID RESPONSIVENESS. Gregg always got back to me in an absolute timely manor. I once emailed Gregg late at night asking some questions about my case. I naturally assumed that in a day or two I would have an answer. Yet, when I woke up the next morning (only a few hours after sending my email) I had a very long and thorough response in my inbox from Gregg. He had messaged me back at 1:30am. I challenge anyone to find an attorney so committed; I would never second guess utilizing his services.

  7. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Schaaf has represented me on 3 separate occasions. The most recent was a criminal offense stemming from an assault charge. I was found not guilty and am now eligible to have the charge expunged. I might add, the 2 times prior to this particular case, the outcomes also resulted in my favor.
    Mr, Schaaf demonstrates an attitude of responsiveness versus a reactive stance. With regards to all 3 cases, his expertise, knowledge and experience came shining through. Before, after and during our court appearances he demonstrated professionalism, accuracy and skill.

    I don't mind saying, he is an empathetic human being. He appreciated my call of distress with a quick response and was extremely reassuring. He conducts himself always, with a positive, caring attitude throughout. Having said that, Mr. Schaaf is assertive, he doesn't pull any punches. He gets results fast, without wearing boxing gloves. I was extremely impressed with his ability to engage opposing attorney's and judges. It is obvious to me that he is respected among his peers and colleagues. He is honest and doesn't need to jump through hoops to obtain the results necessary for a favorable outcome.
    I am truly grateful for his time, effort, and genuine interest. I could continue to write, but I would not be able to articulate everything in a few short paragraphs. Bottom line, if you are looking for an attorney with a strong back bone, who is willing to go the distance; please consult Mr. Schaaf. You won't be disappointed.
    I will recommend him to my closest friends, and family without an ounce of hesitation.

  8. A good decision!

    Posted by Erin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg more than 3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Gregg is a excellent attorney. He is competent, trustworthy and empathetic to his clients. His knowledge of the law is broad and focused. He treated my case with the utmost urgency and was attentive to all detail no matter how insigificant it appeared. He goes above and beyond in my opinion to explain all the scenerios that may happen in court, so their are no suprises. His follow thru is admirable, and if you hire him to represent you, you will have made a great decision.

  9. Horrible lawyer, horrible at communicating

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg more than 3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This "lawyer" is horrible! He is impossible to get ahold of!he doesn't get anything done, in my case he said he had some information that helped but in reality it was bs to try to comfort me. The whole time during my case he did nothing and we ended up taking the deal that the state prosecutor offered from day one. Do not go to the lawyer you will be better off with a public defender

  10. Excellent

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregg Schaaf.
    • I hired Gregg more than 3 years ago.
    • Gregg handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Schaaf. Very professional and negotiated a far better deal than I had anticipated.