Samuel J Brown’s Reviews

Samuel J Brown

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce/ Child custody client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Sam and his firm are extremely professional, competent and responsive. With this being the most difficult time in my life, Sam provided a great deal of compassion balanced by reason. He has a comforting sense of humor as well as an innate ability to counsel both legally and emotionally. I always finished my meetings or phone conversations in a better state of mind than when I entered. My divorce was complex due to a complicated business and multiple assets. Sam's knowledge and resources allowed him to build a strong case for me as well as educate me in the process. He also represented me in my child custody case. Sam continues to work diligently with me through the divorce and custody appeals brought forth by my ex-husband. His staff was and continues to be wonderful as is his team of lawyers who also participated in and continue to participate my case. The communication is second to none. I always receive quick responses to all emails and voicemails and receive copies of all necessary documents. Sam is exceptional in the courtroom, quite honestly a master in his field. Yes, he is expensive but worth every penny, in my book, considering what I could have lost because I didn't know any better. I would also like to add that Sam is not one of those lawyers out to take your money. He tries to save for you where he can by delegating to his associates and tries to work real hard to settle cases before they get to court. I am absolutely grateful that Sam Brown was put in my path 2 years ago not only for my sake but for the sake of my three children. He continues to navigate this crazy course for me with patience, expertise, and resolve. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  2. Review for Sam Brown

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sam represented me in a very contentious divorce; there were a lot of information and considerations for him to digest; he was able to sort through it and put together a legal strategy and an in-court narrative that was easy to digest. We were also dealing with some very complex assets and Sam was able to reduce it down to the relevant. During the long years leading up to the trial, Sam was supportive yet realistic. I always felt that he has my best interest in mind and is my absolute advocate; but most importantly, at the end of the day, Sam is EFFECTIVE. I am very happy with the outcome of the trial and I cannot be happier than I am with Sam’s representation.

  3. Landlord/Tenant Lease Default (Complex)

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I found myself in a challenging position in a lease default; my counsel at the time was challenged by defendants’ counsel of having a conflict of interest. While this was not the case, all involved felt it better for me to seek a new attorney. As always, personal referrals are a good source of information. The president of the bank I do business with recommended Sam Brown with out so much as a pause for a breath. Within a couple of days I met Mr. Brown in his office to review the claim I felt I had with the tenant. From that first meeting and during the entire process up to and including the trial, eighteen months, Mr. Brown kept me well informed and set appropriate expectations as to outcome. Each billable hour was of value. In my opinion time spent was minimized to my benefit. Quality work is a great replacement for hours and hours of time spent. I was fortunate to have Marietta Warren act as co-counsel with Mr. Brown, “Tippy” was with me every step of the way, she was masterful in document preparation, taking of depositions and filling in for Mr. Brown in pre-trial hearings when necessary. The case files prepared were complete and orderly enabling the case to be heard with full benefit going to me. Over the last eighteen months I have come to respect the work of Sam Brown and Marietta Warren, and like my banker there would be no hesitation in my voice to recommend this firm.

  4. Great attorney.

    Posted by Lena., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sam Brown is an incredibly knowledgeable, experienced and inherently wise attorney.
    His court demeanor rises to whole new level of professionalism and is absolutely outstanding. He was even complimented by the Judge at the end of the trial for his high standards and ethics. He was always well prepared whether it was a trial or simply a conference call. Sam has a terrific sense of humor and uses it appropriately. I knew he had my back all the way through a very painful and difficult divorce, which was the most difficult time of my life. He would always encourage me and would put a stop to my tears with one little joke and promised that he will not let anyone hurt me. He sure kept his promise and, I am very grateful to him and his entire staff at the firm. I would sincerely recommend Mr. Brown, you will never go wrong with him by your side. He is the best and most thoughtful and sincere attorney in this area.

  5. Outstanding Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Should you ever find yourself in a complicated divorce, Sam Brown is the man to have on your side. My divorce was more complicated than average, and after two previous lawyers who did not have the experience to effectively deal with all the issues, I decided to interview new lawyers. Sam came highly recommended by a high powered DC law firm that worked with him in the past on complex matters. While I did interview a few other attorneys, after meeting Sam and explaining the entire case to him I felt as if he had been working on this case for a year. Sam inspired confidence, and that was exactly what I was looking for. When other lawyers asked me who I decided to go with and I said Sam Brown, they all told me I would be in very good hands. Sam will look at the case from a number of different angles and will always be a step ahead of opposing counsel. Sam was extremely sensitive about the parental alienation issues that my ex spouse was promulgating with our child and he guided me through the steps to ensure my child would have counseling and I would receive more custody/visitation time. My relationship with my child has been restored.

    Worth noting, Sam does not come cheap. You can spend less with other attorneys, but you won’t get the attention he gives you, and quite honestly he works faster and more efficiently than other lawyers…you might actually end up spending less money with him. If your case needs your lawyer’s full attention then you need Sam. I must also say that I was very impressed with the entire staff at Hillman, Brown & Darrow. In order to help reduce my fees, Sam had one of his associates, Marietta Warren, assist on certain aspects of the case, and she did an outstanding job for me. The paralegals, and even the receptionist, all remembered who I was when I would call or stop by and they were very helpful and courteous.

    When my case was completed to my satisfaction, I turned to Sam and said, “I’m going to miss you Sam.” I won’t forget the fine work he and his firm did on my behalf.

  6. former client

    Posted by lina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent Attorney. Mr. Brown is an effective, highly skilled, and knowledgeable trial attorney. I was very satisfied with his ability and representation.

  7. Sam Brown is a very capable lawyer. He is very knowledgeable of the law, very intelligent and well known and respected

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am extremely impressed with Sam Brown and his staff. In my case the Court did not allow me to see my 11 year old son at all for 3 years, without any good cause. The judge, who was permanently assigned to my case, was biased against me, did not like me and was determined not to let me see my son ever again (even though all professionals recommended that he taken away from his mother instead). Sam Brown was new to my (extremely) long and complex case. He learned the very the case history very quickly and, within weeks, was able to have the judge taken off my case (the new judge was shocked at what the previous judge had done). From there, Sam Brown fought against an very aggressive lawyer and a misguided "best interest" attorney for my son and, within a few months, he won the case for me and I was allowed to see my son again, for the first time in 3 years! A short time later Sam Brown won joint custody for me and my son! The job Sam Brown did for me was phenomenal! with 3-5 l

  8. If you want the BEST to handle your case, Sam Brown is your attorney!

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sam Brown has been our corportate attorney for approaching 15years now. He is always extremely professional and reliable. He is very knowlegeable about everything in his field. In addition his entire firm has a diverse array of talent and knowledge, they are an excellent law firm.

  9. AWESOME ATTORNEY!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very fortunate to have Sam as my attorney. He is confident, very respected and has a great rapport with other legal professionals. He is fair, attentive to detail, organized, timely, and is always three steps ahead. On a personal level, he is funny, warm, and friendly. His demeanor always put me at ease during times of stress. I always felt completely taken care of with him by my side. Definetely the person you want in your corner when you have a fight on your hands. He is fearless!!

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Samuel Brown.
    • I hired Samuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Samuel handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Sam Brown has handled various transactions both civil and criminal with outstanding results every time. He is truly one of the best attorneys I have ever worked with.