Edward Charles Christman JR’s Reviews

Edward Charles Christman JR

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Runaround

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I came to Attorney Christman for chapter 7 bankruptcy. I made my deposit of 306.00 after which being told I had to pay an additional 700.00. I personally spoke to Attorney Christman and asked him to hold off on cashing the check as I had just lost my mother who had no insurance and any money I had would go to her funeral cost. He said okay. Next thing I know, he cashed the check after promising me he would hold off and return it. My stupidity for being so naïve and not stopping payment. But going thru the funeral and financial affairs of my mother, I simply forgot. I never got a return phone call, and every time I called his office I was given excuse after excuse. I was told he was on vacation and would be in the next day. I called the next day and was told he was very busy the day before. When I told the receptionist that she told me he was on vacation the day before , she said, " Oh that's right." I know he has no intention of returning my phone calls or my money. All paperwork thus far has been completed by me, so I got taken but it will never happen again.

  2. GREAT ATTORNEY, WONDERFUL STAFF!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I hired this attorney for my Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Since I had never been through this process before I was very nervous, but Mr. Christman and his staff made everything easy and made a difficult situation more bearable. I would definitely recommend them to anyone!

  3. BAD LAWYER NEVER CALL CLIENT BACK IF THEY DONT HAVE THE MONEY UP FRONT

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    I did not have all the money to give to Mr Christman I ask can I do a payment plan he said no he won't file my case till he get all his money so I ask for my money back leaving message to him and his helper non of them would return my call I was back in a corner before I was evicted I borrow money from a loan shark now I am in trouble and deeper debt and Mr christman does not care he have my money can't get it back and now I am living in a shelter with my kids and grandkids this attorney is the worest attorney in history I will never ever again be in a situation like this everyone on his staff hope yall could sleep and be proud of yourselves this firm should be band from doing business (REMEMBER IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY BEFORE HE FILE YOUR CASE HE AND HIS STAFF WILL NEVER RETURN YOUR CALLS AT ALL BUT IF YOU SAY YOU HAVE THE MONEY THEN HE WILL RETURN YOUR CALL ) SO SAD HOW HE TREATS HIS CLIENTS

    1. Edward Charles Christman JR

      Edward Christman

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry that you had a bad experience. However, we are unable to file any cases until our legal fees are paid in full. Additionally, there are fees described in our retainer agreement that cover file maintenance and work performed before a case is filed, so not everyone is entitled to a refund if a substantial amount of work has already been performed on a case before a client changes his/her mind. I would be happy to discuss this further if you contact our office.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  4. Chapter 7 Bankruptcy

    Posted by Ronda, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr, Christman and his staff are wonderful, they made my bankruptcy go just as they said painless. I had a wonderful experience with their Paralegal Jen Frank, I would email her frequently asking her questions about the process and she would respond within an hour of my email, this Paralegal is top notch in my book. I would highly reccommend this legal group.

  5. Amazing Attorney!

    Posted by Micki in Baltimore, MD, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Ed Christman for a bankruptcy and he was absolutely amazing. He was very knowledgable. Both he and his staff were very professional and on point. I would highly recommend him as an attorney. Would definitely use him again, if need be.

  6. Great Lawyer !

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Very professional and friendly. Staff is helpful and polite. Had a Great experience working with Mr. Christman. He made our experience less painful then we expected to be.

  7. Professional and helpful attorneys and staff

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Professional and helpful attorneys and staff. Highly recommend them. Have also referred friends and family to them because my experience was so good.

  8. Very helpful attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very helpful and professional. Gave me great advice and made the process as easy as possible. I would definitely hire him and his firm again in the future if I needed to. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

  9. No Problems at all!!!

    Posted by Deborah, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I began my bankruptcy process I had no problems at all. I initially spoke to him on the phone. I was told what to expect & what paperwork would be needed for my first visit. He answered all of my questions. I followed directions in regards to what was expected of me with documents needed & the courses that were required. Everyone I came in contact with was professional & knowledgeable! His office was very thorough with handling every aspect of my bankruptcy. I was so impressed I recommended a friend I have known for 25+ years. She has also be treated with the same respect.

  10. Do not get him as your attorney

    Posted by AL, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edward Christman.
    • I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.
    • Edward handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Do not pick this man or you will be sorry. I did not review this attorney online before hiring him. The review are right on him. He is very hard to get in contact with. He does not return calls. He does not care about his clients to him you are nothing more then a pay check. I became ill in the process of starting bankruptcy. I was also going through it with social security. I gave Mr.christman a down payment and would pay the rest over time. I asked him if there was any problems if i could cancel the bankruptcy he stated that i could cancel it any time with no problem. I was running out of money waiting for social security and request the bankruptcy be canceled id have to do it when i had all the money together. I told mr.christman this and he told me that i should not because all id get back was 150.00 because of a 25.00 a month service fee. I was like what charges the only thing hes done for me is cash my check. My creditors don't even know that he exist. I asked him why he did not explain these hidden charges up front Becuse of the method i would be paying him i would have never given him any money period. the charges were in none of the paperwork. I told him i needed the money to pay my rent with so i could make it till the social security hearing. He told me this is a business we do not give money back. Then brushed me off. would nor return my calls.