Skip to main content
No photo

Larry Feldman’s Answers

352 total


  • Is it legal to provide relaxation bodyrub in Montgomery County, Maryland?

    There would be NO sexual favors offered. Some clients may ask to self-masturbate, but I will NOT be touching any genitals. Is it legal to provide bodyrubs?

    Larry’s Answer

    In order to give a massage in maryland you must be licensed by the State. since a body rub would be a massage, you could be arrested for providing a massage without a license, which i believe carries one year and a $1000 fine. the nudity has nothing to do with the law being broken as to the licensure issue.

    See question 
  • Was this assault?

    “After asking an out of control individual to leave my house several times she came toward me at which time I placed my open hands on her shoulders pushing her towards the door. She has charged me with 2nd degree assault saying that I hit her. Is ...

    Larry’s Answer

    an assault is defined as an un-wanted touching....there is however the right to defend yourself since she would not stop walking torwards you and was as you say pretty out of control. i would immediately review the statement of charges with an attorney and begin working on your defense.

    See question 
  • The defendant in a divorce counter filed with grounds 0f adultery in Maryland. Does this effect the hearing date?

    I am the plaintiff in an absolute divorce case which has been filed in Frederick County Maryland. My spouse counter filed with grounds of adultery. I was told it would be 6 months before we went to court.. Does the adultery accusation change the ...

    Larry’s Answer

    The fact that there is now a counter complaint should do nothing to change how your case is scheduled before the Court. Frederick normally requires mediation if there are child related issues and always schedules you for a settlement conference with a Master before your trial date.

    See question 
  • My 17 year old is in the custody of her grandmother, can she get my child support order reversed to come to her

    Ive been sending a certain amount each month but she is requesting more. And has suggested she will go to court to make sure she gets the entire amount.

    Larry’s Answer

    She absolutely can. The support is for the child, not for you. Since the child is so close to turning 18 and/or graduating from high school i would simply give her your support check each month and keep it out of Court. If a portion if your support goes towards arrears you would be able to keep that since it is money past due and owing to you.

    See question 
  • When the other driver is at fault, why does my insurance company have to pay all the medical and ambo bills under PIP?

    Car made a left hand turn in front of me giving me no room to brake, so swerved my car to hopefully prevent serious injuries. He was cited with a ticket. Now his insurance says they don't have to pay my medical or ambo bills but that my insurance ...

    Larry’s Answer

    PIP is a no fault benefit under your insurance policy. you want pip to pay out the maximum in medical bills and lost wages it can, for when you then reach a settlement with the at fault driver's insurance company those bills will be paid and you will be able to keep the money. In other words the bills actually get paid by both carriers.

    As always, consider hiring an attorney, myself or otherwise to assist you with your case to make sure the at fault driver's insurance company offers you a fair settlement. Feel free to call my office for a free no-obligation consultation.

    See question 
  • Do insurance companies usually wait until the last minute to issue payments as ordered in a workers comp case?

    If anyone has experience in the workers compensation field, I am wondering if the insurance company waits usually until the very last second to issue payment or do they try their best to beat the 15 day deadline as ordered? For instance, if the or...

    Larry’s Answer

    most of the time the checks arrive right around the 15th day.

    See question 
  • Can I return a used car the next day?

    *in the state of Maryland *car had $1200 down payment, paper signed for loan *car was NOT driven home, but left at the dealership for more work

    Larry’s Answer

    there is no automatic right to cancel a contract for the sale of the car . the only way i think you can get out of the deal you signed is if the financing falls through. i would advise that you do not take the car from the dealer until the financing is 100% approved and you are given proof if such.

    See question 
  • Can a live-in fiance's income be considered in child support payment?

    My ex-husband is living with his fiance, who is contributing to paying his household bills. In essence, his household income is substantially more than mine. I suspect he is not getting married to avoid an increase in child support.

    Larry’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    child support is only based upon the incomes of the parents. New spouses, fiances and significant others of any type do not effect the equation at all.

    See question 
  • Current State Maryland. My current Child support order does not state anyting about co-pays or anyother expenses.

    My son turned 18 and I filed to stop child support. My ex filed for contempt of fauilre to pay child support. what she is asking for are some co-pays that were not paid. Can the judge enforce such a thing if it is not included in my original ch...

    Larry’s Answer

    it all depends on what your order/agreement originally stated, most orders only contemplate non-covered extraordinary medical expenses, such as orthodontia or eyeglasses, but your order may state otherwise. that being said you should consult with an attorney because you should always take a contempt proceeding seriously. my office would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

    See question