Patrick Erney Maher’s Reviews

Patrick Erney Maher

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. 6/10/14 court date

    Posted by sunshine, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-6 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i was really impressed with patrick maher when we went to court this morning, he basically got all charges dropped and helped guide me before the court date with instruction in how to get prepared for court. he handled himself in a professional manner, wasnt pushy and worked with the DA to get me a get out of jail free card, i would highly recommend him to friends and family. he is a very likeable person and that helps with the prosecutor liking you too...worth every penny.

  2. Highly Reccommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I highly recommend anyone in need of a legal services to give Patrick Maher a call. I cannot think of enough positive words to properly credit this man for his counsel and guidance. He handled my entire DUI situation flawlessly, worked with me every step of the way to make sure I was guided properly and kept me educated in all matters pertaining to my case. He worked extremely hard for me in what was a nerve-wracking situation and was always responsive to any questions or concerns I had to help ease my mind. I cannot thank him enough for all that he did for me as he achieved an extremely positive outcome in my case.

  3. Professional, knowledgeable and forthright!

    Posted by R., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-6 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Pa kept me informed regarding the possible outcomes including his assessment of my circumstances. He was knowledgeable and answered my questions promptly and forthrightly. On the day of trial, he negotiated a settlement which was better than I had expected. I would strongly recommend Pat if you are in need of a good attorney!

  4. Highly Recommend!!!

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Maher as my attorney for a criminal matter. I could have potentially have faced serious incarceration for this. He went above and beyond in my case and because of his extensive knowledge in criminal law, as well as how to navigate the Maryland legal system the outcome of my case was amazing. I was preparing for jail and am an out of state resident, throughout the entire time he was my lawyer he kept me up to date and informed every step of the way. He was always on top of my case and readily available if I ever had any questions or needed to talk. He made me feel comfortable as possible during that time and all said and done his attention to my case and myself as I client resulted in an outcome of zero jail time, when in fact thats exactly where I would be if I had not hired capable representation. If you are in a bind with the law you will find no better than Mr. Patrick Maher. He will fight for you and your rights every step of the way. I have not one complaint or issue that negatively reflects him as an attorney and highly regard him and his professional ability.

  5. DUI/DWI + Leaving the Scene

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Compounded a bad day by crashing my sportscar and getting arrested for DUI/DWI and Leaving the scene. Pat answered all of my questions and explained all of the possible outcomes. I followed his advice and in the end when we finally got our day in court, Pat helped the State's Attorney understand that Negligent Driving was an appropriate plea.
    Exceeded my expectations with his knowledge, service, and the eventual outcome. Pat is trully an advocate for his clients.

  6. The Very Best DUI Legal Service Possible

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Pat was involved in my 2nd DUI/DWI related offense. After working with a different attorney for the first case, I had reservations about the extent that anyone was able to help out in the situation. From the first meeting, Pat was very receptive and patient. We walked through the entire process involving my arrest. Pat meticulously analyzed the situation and displayed an excellent knowledge regarding the legal process. He prepared me for the entire course of help that he would provide me. He was there each step of the way. Throughout the next few months after our first meeting, he was able to resolve the case with a positive outcome for myself. I firmly believe that if not only for his excellent knowledge but his persistence and effort outside the courtroom, I would not be in the situation I am in today. I am very lucky to have such a hard working, empathetic professional on my side.

  7. Pat Maher is the best!

    Posted by Robin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Patrick Maher is an amazing lawyer. I called him because my daughter has had several criminal cases over the years. Pat was able to help out, getting her the least possible sentence/probation that she could get. He is truly a miracle worker. I know exactly who to call if we ever need an attorney again. I WOULDN'T USE ANYONE ELSE!

  8. Highly skilled, confident and a definite AUTHORITY in DUI/DWI defense in Maryland - Overall GREAT GUY!!

    Posted by Al, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am a young single professional from Canada who came to Baltimore 3 month ago on a business trip. New to the town, i went out to investigate the local scenery after dinner. Ended up in the local gentlemen's club, they had 2 dollar special on for Tuesday night so i had a couple. Got into my rental car and didn't realize i had to turn the lights on manually - unlike my car at home with automatic lights. When i was just about the get on the highway, cop pulled around the corner and stopped me. Because he could smell the alcohol on me, I got asked to do a FST after which he took me into the station for BAC. I scored 0.07 which qualified DWI in Maryland and i contacted Pat, having read about his reputation and experience in the field of DUI/DWI defense.
    When i first contacted him I was completely blown away by how knowledgeable and open Pat is on the phone talking about different possibilities and strategies to approach this case. He gave me a quick run down on how these cases worked what the factors are etc. and proceeded to ask me about details. I felt completely comfortable and zero pressure. Unlike some others I spoke on the phone pressuring you to buy by telling you how serious this charge is, Pat really gave me a fair perspective on my case. He is also very fair and objective about it all, no bragging about anything just very good level-setting of expectations based on facts and stats - which he knows a great deal about. So after a while i thought ok I will call Pat when i get the date from the court. Because i live outside the country, i never got the paper in the mail. It wasn't until Pat sent me an email to remind me that i have a court date set in early Oct did i know i had a court date, while this was already late Aug!! (Thanks State of MD) I could have entirely missed the court date and ended up with a criminal charge had it not been for Pat and his diligence following up on cases. I decided to hire Pat.
    He started with all the key documents to prepare for the case, after learning more about my situation he followed up with giving me some of his contacts in field of immigration law as i am not a full citizen of Canada yet and this case could have serious ramifications to my application process. Then he made sure I have enrolled in the right alcohol ed program that is compliant to Maryland's regulation. Pat is thorough, careful and very skilled in optimizing the preparation to build a solid case to defend me. His approach is rigorous, giving his client a lot of confidence walking into the courtroom. On the morning of, Pat came to me and said we had a very tough visiting judge and everybody was pushing it back since nobody wanted to deal with this guy. I was feeling a bit nervous but Pat re-assured me that we'd aim for the best outcome and get the case closed on the same day so I don't have to come again. He then worked his magic and spoke with the prosecutor confirmed that they'd drop the DUI, and when the prosecutor saw the prepared stack of evidence and research he brought over, she knew he was ready to fight til the bitter end and well armed. Fortunately for me, Pat's skill knowledge and persistence had sent the right message out early enough to the judge and prosecutor, my case was reduced to a reckless, and then finally again to an even more minor negligent driving which has very little ramification. He even gave me a ride back after - WHAT A GREAT GUY!
    Drawing from years of experience of DUI/DWI defense and even teaching courses together with state prosecutors, Pat knows the nuances of the system. He also does all of his own research and digging instead of using junior clerks. He knows what exactly to look for and will save you a LOT of time and money in the end.
    I highly recommend Pat for anybody that does not want to waste time with any lesser generalists that will take just absolutely anything. Pat is an expert in DUI/DWI in Maryland and that makes a very big difference in the outcome of your trial.

  9. Go with this guy for all your traffic violations/citations/problems

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I've hired Patrick 2 times, both due to speeding violations on my provisional license. The first time my license was going to be suspended, he managed to find a slip in the paperwork and got the case dismissed. I thought to myself " man am I lucky" and continued driving until I got another violation. Once again I'm back at a hearing to suspend my license and I wasn't very optimistic. Patrick was very realistic and explained everything to me a cool, clear, and educated manner. He gave me directions on short notice, and guided me through the whole process. When I got to the second hearing for the suspension he quickly dispatched the evidence that was there without cause/notice. The judge argued against it but could not disagree with Patrick. An average lawyer will not find minor faults in the case such as the ones in mine and turn over the entire case. He made the MVA look ridiculous, and got me off a second time. During the hearing he took over, and handled everything, and got me my refund and driver's license back. If you are in a bind over traffic violation I highly recommend Patrick as a lawyer, in these cases you usually get a reduced version of the sanctions or no sanctions at all if you know your stuff. Even if you're sure you don't need a lawyer just give him a call, and he can point you in the right direction. This time instead of purely thanking luck I realized that the right lawyer can make all the difference.

  10. Baltimore County's Greatest DWI/DUI Attorney Money can Buy

    Posted by Tyres Jones, Sr., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Pat Maher is truly the best lawyer I have ever consulted. He is very well prepared, trustworthy, honest, and "most important" intelligent. Pat knows the law and prepared my case perfectly. I am 100 percent confident if you need an attorney, Pat Maher is the lawyer to use. Bravo Zulu Pat, you are the best.

410-847-9000