Patrick Erney Maher’s Reviews

Patrick Erney Maher

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI/DWI + Leaving the Scene

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-6 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Compounded a bad day by crashing my sportscar and getting arrested for DUI/DWI and Leaving the scene. Pat answered all of my questions and explained all of the possible outcomes. I followed his advice and in the end when we finally got our day in court, Pat helped the State's Attorney understand that Negligent Driving was an appropriate plea.
    Exceeded my expectations with his knowledge, service, and the eventual outcome. Pat is trully an advocate for his clients.

  2. The Very Best DUI Legal Service Possible

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Pat was involved in my 2nd DUI/DWI related offense. After working with a different attorney for the first case, I had reservations about the extent that anyone was able to help out in the situation. From the first meeting, Pat was very receptive and patient. We walked through the entire process involving my arrest. Pat meticulously analyzed the situation and displayed an excellent knowledge regarding the legal process. He prepared me for the entire course of help that he would provide me. He was there each step of the way. Throughout the next few months after our first meeting, he was able to resolve the case with a positive outcome for myself. I firmly believe that if not only for his excellent knowledge but his persistence and effort outside the courtroom, I would not be in the situation I am in today. I am very lucky to have such a hard working, empathetic professional on my side.

  3. Pat Maher is the best!

    Posted by Robin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Patrick Maher is an amazing lawyer. I called him because my daughter has had several criminal cases over the years. Pat was able to help out, getting her the least possible sentence/probation that she could get. He is truly a miracle worker. I know exactly who to call if we ever need an attorney again. I WOULDN'T USE ANYONE ELSE!

  4. Highly skilled, confident and a definite AUTHORITY in DUI/DWI defense in Maryland - Overall GREAT GUY!!

    Posted by Al, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am a young single professional from Canada who came to Baltimore 3 month ago on a business trip. New to the town, i went out to investigate the local scenery after dinner. Ended up in the local gentlemen's club, they had 2 dollar special on for Tuesday night so i had a couple. Got into my rental car and didn't realize i had to turn the lights on manually - unlike my car at home with automatic lights. When i was just about the get on the highway, cop pulled around the corner and stopped me. Because he could smell the alcohol on me, I got asked to do a FST after which he took me into the station for BAC. I scored 0.07 which qualified DWI in Maryland and i contacted Pat, having read about his reputation and experience in the field of DUI/DWI defense.
    When i first contacted him I was completely blown away by how knowledgeable and open Pat is on the phone talking about different possibilities and strategies to approach this case. He gave me a quick run down on how these cases worked what the factors are etc. and proceeded to ask me about details. I felt completely comfortable and zero pressure. Unlike some others I spoke on the phone pressuring you to buy by telling you how serious this charge is, Pat really gave me a fair perspective on my case. He is also very fair and objective about it all, no bragging about anything just very good level-setting of expectations based on facts and stats - which he knows a great deal about. So after a while i thought ok I will call Pat when i get the date from the court. Because i live outside the country, i never got the paper in the mail. It wasn't until Pat sent me an email to remind me that i have a court date set in early Oct did i know i had a court date, while this was already late Aug!! (Thanks State of MD) I could have entirely missed the court date and ended up with a criminal charge had it not been for Pat and his diligence following up on cases. I decided to hire Pat.
    He started with all the key documents to prepare for the case, after learning more about my situation he followed up with giving me some of his contacts in field of immigration law as i am not a full citizen of Canada yet and this case could have serious ramifications to my application process. Then he made sure I have enrolled in the right alcohol ed program that is compliant to Maryland's regulation. Pat is thorough, careful and very skilled in optimizing the preparation to build a solid case to defend me. His approach is rigorous, giving his client a lot of confidence walking into the courtroom. On the morning of, Pat came to me and said we had a very tough visiting judge and everybody was pushing it back since nobody wanted to deal with this guy. I was feeling a bit nervous but Pat re-assured me that we'd aim for the best outcome and get the case closed on the same day so I don't have to come again. He then worked his magic and spoke with the prosecutor confirmed that they'd drop the DUI, and when the prosecutor saw the prepared stack of evidence and research he brought over, she knew he was ready to fight til the bitter end and well armed. Fortunately for me, Pat's skill knowledge and persistence had sent the right message out early enough to the judge and prosecutor, my case was reduced to a reckless, and then finally again to an even more minor negligent driving which has very little ramification. He even gave me a ride back after - WHAT A GREAT GUY!
    Drawing from years of experience of DUI/DWI defense and even teaching courses together with state prosecutors, Pat knows the nuances of the system. He also does all of his own research and digging instead of using junior clerks. He knows what exactly to look for and will save you a LOT of time and money in the end.
    I highly recommend Pat for anybody that does not want to waste time with any lesser generalists that will take just absolutely anything. Pat is an expert in DUI/DWI in Maryland and that makes a very big difference in the outcome of your trial.

  5. Go with this guy for all your traffic violations/citations/problems

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I've hired Patrick 2 times, both due to speeding violations on my provisional license. The first time my license was going to be suspended, he managed to find a slip in the paperwork and got the case dismissed. I thought to myself " man am I lucky" and continued driving until I got another violation. Once again I'm back at a hearing to suspend my license and I wasn't very optimistic. Patrick was very realistic and explained everything to me a cool, clear, and educated manner. He gave me directions on short notice, and guided me through the whole process. When I got to the second hearing for the suspension he quickly dispatched the evidence that was there without cause/notice. The judge argued against it but could not disagree with Patrick. An average lawyer will not find minor faults in the case such as the ones in mine and turn over the entire case. He made the MVA look ridiculous, and got me off a second time. During the hearing he took over, and handled everything, and got me my refund and driver's license back. If you are in a bind over traffic violation I highly recommend Patrick as a lawyer, in these cases you usually get a reduced version of the sanctions or no sanctions at all if you know your stuff. Even if you're sure you don't need a lawyer just give him a call, and he can point you in the right direction. This time instead of purely thanking luck I realized that the right lawyer can make all the difference.

  6. Baltimore County's Greatest DWI/DUI Attorney Money can Buy

    Posted by Tyres Jones, Sr., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 6-12 months ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Pat Maher is truly the best lawyer I have ever consulted. He is very well prepared, trustworthy, honest, and "most important" intelligent. Pat knows the law and prepared my case perfectly. I am 100 percent confident if you need an attorney, Pat Maher is the lawyer to use. Bravo Zulu Pat, you are the best.

  7. DUI Lawyer who is on top of his game

    Posted by Kwame, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We all enjoy having a beer or some drinks at the company happy hour, during cookouts or a night out, however when you are pulled over by a cop and charged with DUI that is when the reality of your bad judgment kicks in. I can’t find the right words to express my sincere gratitude to Pat Maher, for the candor and professionalism he attached to my DUI case. I was charged with a DUI in Maryland and the usual slew of other charges in May 2012, two months after starting a new job. For me the implications of this DUI charge were far reaching because as a conditional green card holder this could have an adverse impact on removal of my conditional status. Additionally it put my new job at risk and created significant embarrassment for my family. In carrying out my research on lawyers I wanted to find someone who had an in depth understanding of the DUI process who also understand the complexity my immigration status added to my DUI charges. After narrowing down my list and speaking with several I eventually went to see Pat and following my initial meeting with him my inner voice told me to go with Pat. Mr Maher handled both my MVA and criminal hearings and I have nothing but praise for his professionalism and knowledge of the law. During the MVA hearing Pat was able to argue my case and which resulted in the charges being dismissed and I was able to get my driver’s license back. My criminal case was originally scheduled for November 2012 however at Pat’s request my case was rescheduled to February 2013. Initially I was disappointed that I could not get this over with to enable me get on with my life however in hindsight I am glad I respected my attorney’s decision. During the final court hearing Pat made sure I understood the process by explaining the entire process to me and arguing my case to the DA intelligently; I can’t explain how tense I was throughout the process but I was pleasantly surprised when Pat called me and said we should go a pay a fine for negligent driving and that was it.
    While I was not let of the hook completed, I cannot begin to explain how the successful outcome of my case positively impacted a job offer I had while the case was ongoing. Even though Pat may not ‘get you off’ for all the charges that will brought he will work extra hard so that you get the most favorable outcome that will be least detrimental based on his understanding of your circumstances. Some attorneys will offer you a cheap and easy way out by recommending a Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) however you need to look before you leap based on circumstances .Mr. Maher charges a flat rate to handle your DMV hearing and criminal case with no additional fees and trust me he will put his best foot forward in ensuring you get the best possible outcome to your case. Thanks to Pat’s handling my case I passed the background checks for my new job and I also lifted the conditions on my green card. I absolutely recommend Pat without reservation because he will direct all his legal fire power to achievie the best possible outcome for your case.

  8. Outstanding in every aspect of the word

    Posted by Hossain, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot say enough of Mr. Maher. He went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure the best outcome in my case. Mr. Maher's dept of knowledge, attention to every detail, and careful and meticulous approach to the whole matter was applaudable and a true blessing. He was able to secure a not-guilty verdict based on details only a skilled professional who excels in his are of expertise would be able to identify.

    Mr. Maher displayed outstanding work ethics and is a model for professionalism. His response to any questions or issues was prompt and precise. Even after the case was settled, I could count on Mr. Maher for further assistance in dealing with the MVA and any subsequent issues.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Maher as I believe having his representation in a DUI/DWI case is a valuable asset.

  9. Do yourself a favor and hire him... Just read his reviews.

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Well if you’re reading this, I’ll bet you’re freaking out trying to figure out what the hell to do. Been HERE, done that. Hopefully this and all the other reviews will help you out. They are legit!!!

    Pat Maher is amazing. My case was an out of state DUI, with a huge speeding ticket (93/55). We handled my entire case over the phone, and only met him for the first time when I got back in town for court. I could sense his professionalism over the phone, and saw it first hand when we went over his material before court. FOR ME, he was able to get all charges dropped!! I gave him a huge hug after court. (REMEMBER THAT THERE IS ONLY SO MUCH AN ATTORNEY CAN DO. IF YOU WERE SLOPPY DRUNK AND WRECKED YOUR CAR, YOU JUST DON’T HAVE MUCH OF A DEFENSE…)

    My sister-in-law's best friend, who is also an attorney in TN and MD, ended up knowing Pat very well. The claims about all the seminars he attends are TRUE!!!! She was at a lot of them with him. He is a top notch lawyer for those people who can afford him. Even if you can't afford him, and you NEED a fair fighting chance, don't skimp on your lawyer. He was WELL worth the money he charges for the outcome I got. Pat is a trial attorney, meaning he is ready and able to attack the court and officers and defend you. Those guys that charge you next to nothing (relatively speaking, of course) to handle your case, do next to nothing to handle your case. Remember, you almost ALWAYS get what you pay for.

    He made the arresting officer look like a complete idiot and showed the judge that the officer didn’t even know how to administer the tests properly, or score the results. The officer was only 11 months into service, young, and although lied/embellished a decent amount on the report, surprisingly truthful in the courtroom. I would say that the way everything played out in my case makes me INCREDIBLY lucky. But assuming you have some sort of defense and no proof that you were intoxicated, i.e. did pretty well on SFSTs and refused breathalyzer and don’t have any aggravating factors, you’ve got a good chance with this guy. I literally saw no way out of what I got myself into, and he got me out CLEAN!! ALL CHARGES DROPPED, EVEN THE SPEEDING WHICH I WAS CLEARLY DOING.
    He saved me from losing my career and more than likely my car insurance, which translates to my LIFE as I know it. His fee is very reasonable given his knowledge of DUI laws. You can easily pay the same amount for much less experience. Be careful who you choose, at least give him a call. There was 1 fee up front that covered court, MVA hearing, the expungement and a few annoying phone calls to Pat trying to settle my nerves. No hidden charges! Spend the money, calm your nerves, and hire him. Then relax like he says!!!

    Thank you soooo much PATRICK MAHER!!!!!

    150% Satisfied.

  10. Great DUI Lawyer in Maryland

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Maher.
    • I hired Patrick 1-3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Maher was an incredible resource as I navigated through my first DUI case. He is extremely professional and very smart and creative when it comes to litigating a case. I felt confident he had my best interest at heart and would do everything he could to help me.

410-847-9000