Jan Ingham Berlage’s Reviews

Jan Ingham Berlage

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Outcome

    Posted by Carol, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-6 months ago.
    • Jan handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We hired Jan Berlage to help us when a contractor working on our condo caused damage to other areas of the condo. We live in Pennsylvania but needed a lawyer licensed in Maryland due to location of our condo. We found him on here and based on reviews, hired him to help us. Everything was resolved quickly and we were happy with fees and his work ethic. Thanks.

  2. Satisfied Chapter 13 client

    Posted by Victor, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    We just received our discharge for our chapter 13 bankruptcy last week and want to express our gratitude to Mr. Berlage. Jan did an exceptional job throughout the entire process. His staff is great and they always return calls- even on weekends and always promptly to my surprise. I never felt like a number and received personal attention the whole time. He worked out a deal for us with our creditors that enabled us to get caught up on our mortgage and keep our house and we were even able to save our one car working out a deal for what we owed on it.

  3. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by Mike, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    If you are looking for straight answers from an attorney, I highly recommend you talk to Jan. In my business as a real estate agent who has handled dozens of short sales for clients, I always recommend they talk to Jan when they wonder if they should be looking into filing Bankruptcy. I have found that Jan gives these clients straightforward advice and recommendations and that they have confidence in the advice he provides.

  4. Renewed my Faith in Lawyers

    Posted by Theresa, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Business matter.

    Having worked with a few attorneys in the past (for personal and business concerns) and never having overall positive experiences, I was very cautious in choosing an attorney when I was recently presented with some tough financial decisions regarding my small business. Jan came very highly recommended in the areas of commercial litigation and bankruptcy law. He was actually recommended to me by a friend of my mother's who used his counsel for a business dispute. After reading the stellar reviews written on several sites concerning his aptitude and reputation, I decided to seek his counsel. I found him to be responsive (returning my call within an hour of my initial inquiry and he was always available even on weekends to answer my questions), knowledgeable, detail oriented, and above all he was trustworthy and possesses high moral character. He very well could have given me advice that would have ended up costing me more in fees and put more money in his pockets. Instead, he handled my matter with efficiency, diligence, and provided me with a favorable outcome in a timely manner. I will definitely seek his services in the future if need be. Thank you so much.

  5. Attorney Review

    Posted by David, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jan is a very intelligent and strategic attorney. He's well versed in commercial litigation and I had a pleasant experience working with him. on my case. He is now my personal and business attorney in the state of Maryland.

  6. A Talent and a Value

    Posted by Rick, a Federal Regulation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Federal Regulation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We had an unusual legal concern and we approached many attorneys seeking assistance on the confiscation of goods in keeping with a Federal Judgment in Maryland in another state. There really was no law or precedent with which to proceed. Mr. Berlage uncharacteristic of other lawyers remained undaunted and we proceeded with the action. Mr. Berlage was the right mix of conservative and aggressive in trying to protect our rights. Ultimately the case was tossed on a technicality and the fact that though huge to us was small for a busy Federal Court judge. Still, the issue isn't over for us and may again be taken up. If so, Mr. Berlage is the expert that we will trust to create a proper strategy while respecting financial realities.

    Wholly by accident we came to interact with Mr. Berlage on other levels as well and my wife and I were immediately struck by not only his professionalism but his warmth as a human being, his discipline, eye for detail, and his integrity. Yes, I'm actually talking about a person practicing a craft that so often is the brunt of humor because so often we experience the polar opposite of what I've written here.

    I do hope that I will be able to avoid any further need for the expertise of a lawyer as any right-minded person would agree BUT if I ever do need legal assistance especially in litigation - I will DEFINITELY work with Mr. Berlage.

    I could go on and list so many ways were this attorney excelled but I fear that the reader would suspect me of being a relative. I can assure the reader that I never knew Mr. Berlage before obtaining his legal assistance but I'm not very glad that I've found someone I can trust to handle any legal eventuality I might have in my business or my life!

  7. Thanks, Jan

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Berlage has proven to be very knowledgeable in the area of bankruptcy. His professionalism and support throughout our case was outstanding. He answered any questions we had and kept us informed during the entire process. I would recommend him to anyone needing a lawyer.

  8. Honorable

    Posted by Kratina, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    This is not the first time I have hired Jan. He is very, very, very responsive. When you're in a legal jam, the last thing anyone wants is to wonder if your attorney is doing the job you hired them to do. Jan is by far the best at keeping me informed, and properly informed, there are no empty promises or false hopes. There is a large value in being able to trust people these days.

  9. Jan Berlage

    Posted by Mark, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jan was referred to us by our New Jersey counsel to handle a real estate and bank loan matter in Maryland. From the beginning, Jan was extremely responsive, informative, a good legal guide and he communicated and coordinated well with our counsel throughout. I would not hesitate to employ his services again if matters arise in his area of jurisdiction.

  10. I highly recommend Jan

    Posted by Jessie, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jan Berlage.
    • I hired Jan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jan handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He did a great job and won my case

410-752-1261