David Norman Portney’s Reviews

David Norman Portney

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. First and Best Lawyer Experience, Mr. Portney Helped Us Reclaim Our Financial Future!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was recommended the law offices of Grossbart and Portney from a close friend who had undergone a divorce and was having financial troubles and as a result she had filed bankruptcy. I had also found myself in over my head after my husband lost his job and was unemployed for almost 1 year. Our house was in jeopardy and with the guidance of Grossbart and Portney we were able to navigate what steps we needed to take to repay our debt and regain control of our finances. My questions were answered very thoroughly throughout the Ch. 13 process and my emails were also replied to quickly. In the later stages of our case, Portney provided some very valuable advice on how to move forward by considering our specific situation and what was in our best interest as we had a new addition about to be born. I can not thank him enough, because now I have hope and confidence in our future as we have overcome this bump in the road and what seemed like a very scary thing 4 years ago.

  2. David Portney Review. Excellent!

    Posted by Larry, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Portney exemplifies the best of the best! His professionalism in handling our situation could not have been better. From start to finish he kept us informed and candidly presented the facts to us each step of the way. He and his staff are excellent and can be recommended without hesitation.

  3. David Portney is awesome!

    Posted by Donna, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was so stressed and anxious about having to file a bankruptcy, but David Portney was so affable and knowledgeable, I was put at ease during my initial visit. He explained the entire process to me, and patiently answered any questions I had. And thankfully, he made it clear to me that I was not the only person about to embark on a journey into the 'world of bankruptcy'. The entire process was over in a short amount of time, and I'll always be grateful to Mr Portney for his knowledge and help. I could not have gone through this without him!

  4. Professional and personable

    Posted by Ken, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Guided us through chapter 13 then a chapter 7. Always available for questions. Really put our minds at ease. Always calm. We never felt we asked dumb questions. Always treated us honestly and professionally. Helped in this difficult situation. Very honest and open. Explained what to expect every step of the way. Would recommend highly!

  5. Outstanding Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Ruth, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David Portney represented and guided me through the process of a Chapter 13 bankruptcy which was later converted to Chapter 7. David knows the Maryland bankruptcy laws and court process thoroughly. All I had to do is bring in the requested paperwork and answer his questions as he input my responses and quickly produced the documents used in the bankruptcy process. In addition, David is personable and compassionate helping to ease the anxiety I had at the onset and during the hearings. Two years after my initial Chapter 13 filing, I was diagnosed with leukemia and incurred mounting medical expenses. David immediately and swiftly converted the Chapter 13 to Chapter 7, all the while assuring me that everything is going to work out, and it has.

  6. David Portney to my rescue

    Posted by Stephanie, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pleased with the outcome of my case. David Portney kept me informed about what was happening in the process and I couldn't ask for me. He listened to my side and based upon the facts

  7. Guidance and execution

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dav id presented various options for me to achieve my goals. He was good to work with, kept me abreast of my options and guided me through the process. I would not hesitate to use him again (of course, I hope my legal issue would not be repeated) and I would highly recommend his services to my friends and co-workers. He was very responsive and knew his stuff. His support staff were very efficient and responsive also.

  8. Thinking about filing for bankruptcy, call David Portney

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I returned to Grossbart, Portney & Rosenberg because of previous legal experience with the firm. I walked into his office feeling rather downtrodden, and fretful that my case was too small for them to take. My initial feelings, however, were quickly dispersed. From the time, you arrive to his office you receive a polite greeting that puts you at ease. Attorney Portney represented me in a personal bankruptcy case, and he demonstrated the upmost respect for my personal situation while he prepared my case. Attorney Portney prepared me for my hearing by arranging for me the opportunity to witness the legal procedure for another person in a similar situation before it was my turn. It helped to lessen my fears, and allowed me to prepare to give concise answer to questions that the court official asked. “It’s about person relationships,” says Attorney Portney, and he is correct. He quickly gained my trust early on, and I witness his rapport with members of the bench. It made my situation less problematic, and eased my tensed feelings. Attorney Portney was clear about the process, and his fee was more than reasonable. I highly recommend Attorney Portney.

  9. Beyond expectations. Fantastic in every way.

    Posted by Jason, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I retained the law offices of Grossbart, Portney and Rosenberg, PA. to handle my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy case and the partners in the firm have proven to be the most professional, courteous, helpful, wise and EFFECTIVE counsel I've had the pleasure with which to work.

    I found the firm through a Google search and made the decision to schedule an initial, free consultation based on the number of positive reviews and the firm's long legacy for getting things done. It was one of the wisest decisions I can recall making. Mr. Grossbart (for whom I've written a similar review) was exceptionally courteous and exhibited a "bed side" manner far beyond what I had expected. After careful consideration I decided to move forward with the Chapter 7 BK and Mr. Portney and Mr. Grossbart have been there to help me every step of the way.

    The Chapter 7 has not yet been discharged, but the hard work is over and had I decided to file myself, or with a less competent legal team, I'm quite certain the case would not be moving forward so smoothly, if it would have moved forward at all.

    I simply can not recommend David Portney highly enough, his attention to detail is unparalleled.

  10. Happy Client

    Posted by Chenelle,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Portney.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.

    Mr. Portney is a excellent attonery and very knowledgeable in his field and I would recommend him to any of my friends in need of his help.
    He had only great out comes for us and he was always available when we needed him.