Thanh Van Thi Doan’s Reviews

Thanh Van Thi Doan

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very good attorney for my divorce case

    Posted by Hoang, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 6-12 months ago.
    • Thanh handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I came to Ms. Doan for help with my divorce. I was thinking about doing it myself since I don't have any children involved. However, I'm glad that I have obtained her legal services because the separation agreement and divorce filing that she has done for me made the case went smoothly and fast!

    She was very detail-oriented and thorough in drafting my separation agreement and preparation for the divorce hearing. She was very pro-active and kept on top of my paperwork process. She kept an eye out and made sure that I get all the paperwork done correctly. I felt very secured and prepared having her guidance in my divorce process. I definitely recommend her services.

  2. Excellent immigration lawyer for Family related immigration matters

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 6-12 months ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Van Doan helped me with a situation involving possible marriage fraud. As a United States Citizen we are extremely vulnerable to immigration fraud. Ms. Van Doan helped me drafting a letter to the USCIS, Dept. of State and FDNS explaining my situation. She was very prompt in delivering the first draft of the letter and subsequent edits. She also kept me informed on various matters that were involved in my case and took personal responsibility in keeping us safe. I will always recommend her for immigration related matters that involve family. And as a caution, please do not file I-130 and sign I-864 form without evaluating all the possibilities and consulting a responsible attorney. If you do, you are possibly signing your life away. As a United states Citizen, you are the most vulnerable one when it comes to immigration. As an immigrant who became a citizen, I have come to this realization with great sadness. Please try to engage an attorney early in the process before I-130 is filed.

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.

    My wife needed to renew her Visa and we decided that retaining legal counsel would be helpful. We chose Van Doan after reviewing her experience and several positive endorsements. The qualities evidenced in those endorsements—attention to detail and responsiveness—were both important to us.

    Van continually lent clarity, thoroughness and insight at every stage of the process—from affidavit and document gathering to interview preparation—and brought spirited toughness and honesty at the precise moments we needed it.

    Our case has reached its successful conclusion, and we have Van to thank for it.

  4. Thank you for your wonderful help!

    Posted by Tiffani, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Adoption matter.

    It was a pleasure working with Ms. Doan. She was kind, easy to understand, efficient and very knowledgable. She really made the final step in the otherwise complicated process of adoption easy and painless. Thank you so much!

  5. THANH VAN THI DOAN REVIEW

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    WITH HER KNOWLEDGE OF IMMIGRATION AND FAMILY LAW , SHE HELPED ME A LOT WITH MY CUSTODY CASE . SHE KEPT ME WELL INFORM ABOUT EVERYTHING AND GAVE ME ADVICES OF WHAT WAS BEST TO DO. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HER JOB. THANK YOU SO MUCH MS. DOAN

  6. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Choubineh,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.

    She is a great lawyer and a great person. She makes your money worth. She cares and goes out of her way to help out in anyway. I highly recommend her.

  7. Best Lawyer I have ever had

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am glad that I had Ms Doan as my attorney for my complicated immigration & divorce case. I was on a 2 year conditional permanent residency and had to come to a divorce before I was able to remove the condition on my green card. I had a very tight deadline to adjust my status as my case was complicated by a pending divorce to a rather vindictive and uncooperative ex-spouse but the strategy that Ms Doan devised allowed me to get divorce promptly and adjust my status without delay. Ms Doan is an excellent lawyer that you can count on. As an immigrant in a foreign country, you definitely need a lawyer like Ms Doan. She was always there whenever I was in panic and whenever I needed help. She always responded to my emails and my calls promptly whereas other attorneys did not. She is the best attorney I have ever had – VERY RELIABLE! Ms Doan successfully had the condition on my green card removed and now I am a legal lawful permanent resident! Thank you Ms Doan. You are the best!

  8. Exceptional

    Posted by Eddie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Exceptional! I am very pleased with the service I received from Mrs. Doan. The legalities of my case were a bit overwhelming; however, Mrs Doan's knowledge of the law, her candor, and personable approach gave me the confidence that things were likely to transpire as she said they would. I am very please and would use her again.

  9. My best recommendation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh more than 3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It is my pleasure to write a recommendation for Miss. Doan. My case was outside of expertise of most attorneys practicing family law: modification of a child custody agreement involving two different US (MD and NY) and three international (US, France, and Russia) jurisdictions. Miss. Doan took my case despite the apparent complexity. By our first interview she already conducted a preliminary research and presented me different options. She proved to be a carful listener and provided me with all the facts needed to select the most appropriate course of actions. After that Miss. Doan was very quick and precise in implementing it. Very quickly Miss. Doan put together all the documents needed for my case, her writing is logical, clear, and concise. The negotiations turned to be long and difficult. Miss. Doan provided the best kind of support. Whether a consultation, advice, or modification of document is needed, she responded usually the same, or the following day. The matter was urgent, so even on vacation she kept working on my case. I attribute the success of my case largely to Miss. Doan’s persistency, logical thinking and clarity of advice. If needed again, Miss. Doan would be the first I ask for help.

  10. Excellent service

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh more than 3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Van is straight forward, reliable, efficient, and great to work with. She is extremely organized and proactive, and her communication of information and updates is always timely. We never have to worry about following up with her, as she always on top of things and keeps us in the loop without us asking. She is very professional and we will not hesitate to recommend her to anyone we encounter that is looking for an immigration lawyer.