Thanh Van Thi Doan’s Reviews

Thanh Van Thi Doan

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you for your wonderful help!

    Posted by Tiffani, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 6-12 months ago.
    • Thanh handled my Adoption matter.

    It was a pleasure working with Ms. Doan. She was kind, easy to understand, efficient and very knowledgable. She really made the final step in the otherwise complicated process of adoption easy and painless. Thank you so much!

  2. THANH VAN THI DOAN REVIEW

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    WITH HER KNOWLEDGE OF IMMIGRATION AND FAMILY LAW , SHE HELPED ME A LOT WITH MY CUSTODY CASE . SHE KEPT ME WELL INFORM ABOUT EVERYTHING AND GAVE ME ADVICES OF WHAT WAS BEST TO DO. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HER JOB. THANK YOU SO MUCH MS. DOAN

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Choubineh,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.

    She is a great lawyer and a great person. She makes your money worth. She cares and goes out of her way to help out in anyway. I highly recommend her.

  4. Best Lawyer I have ever had

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am glad that I had Ms Doan as my attorney for my complicated immigration & divorce case. I was on a 2 year conditional permanent residency and had to come to a divorce before I was able to remove the condition on my green card. I had a very tight deadline to adjust my status as my case was complicated by a pending divorce to a rather vindictive and uncooperative ex-spouse but the strategy that Ms Doan devised allowed me to get divorce promptly and adjust my status without delay. Ms Doan is an excellent lawyer that you can count on. As an immigrant in a foreign country, you definitely need a lawyer like Ms Doan. She was always there whenever I was in panic and whenever I needed help. She always responded to my emails and my calls promptly whereas other attorneys did not. She is the best attorney I have ever had – VERY RELIABLE! Ms Doan successfully had the condition on my green card removed and now I am a legal lawful permanent resident! Thank you Ms Doan. You are the best!

  5. Exceptional

    Posted by Eddie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Exceptional! I am very pleased with the service I received from Mrs. Doan. The legalities of my case were a bit overwhelming; however, Mrs Doan's knowledge of the law, her candor, and personable approach gave me the confidence that things were likely to transpire as she said they would. I am very please and would use her again.

  6. My best recommendation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh 1-3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It is my pleasure to write a recommendation for Miss. Doan. My case was outside of expertise of most attorneys practicing family law: modification of a child custody agreement involving two different US (MD and NY) and three international (US, France, and Russia) jurisdictions. Miss. Doan took my case despite the apparent complexity. By our first interview she already conducted a preliminary research and presented me different options. She proved to be a carful listener and provided me with all the facts needed to select the most appropriate course of actions. After that Miss. Doan was very quick and precise in implementing it. Very quickly Miss. Doan put together all the documents needed for my case, her writing is logical, clear, and concise. The negotiations turned to be long and difficult. Miss. Doan provided the best kind of support. Whether a consultation, advice, or modification of document is needed, she responded usually the same, or the following day. The matter was urgent, so even on vacation she kept working on my case. I attribute the success of my case largely to Miss. Doan’s persistency, logical thinking and clarity of advice. If needed again, Miss. Doan would be the first I ask for help.

  7. Excellent service

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh more than 3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Van is straight forward, reliable, efficient, and great to work with. She is extremely organized and proactive, and her communication of information and updates is always timely. We never have to worry about following up with her, as she always on top of things and keeps us in the loop without us asking. She is very professional and we will not hesitate to recommend her to anyone we encounter that is looking for an immigration lawyer.

  8. Lee Family K1 Visa

    Posted by Kevin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh more than 3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Van Doan (My families attorney) was !!PERFECT!! in every way. At first when filing for my wife's K1 Visa i first hired an attorney by the name of Ana Zigel. In my opinion my experiance with the first attorney was a confusing mess. A document was lost, I was told that Ms. Zigel would be explaining the step by step process to my wife in spanish by calling Peru (never once did this happen), there were arguments about charges and fees, and i lost complete faith in her to the point that i thought i was going to have to start the process all over again with another attorney.
    Thank god a co-worker recomended Van Doan, she was and still is truly the best lawyer i have ever had. Van Made my wife and i both feel secure at all times.. Van is extremely organized, professional, and family oriented, i could call her anytime at no cost and she never made me feel as if my questions or concerns were silly. Van also Made hard and soft copies of every document used and gave it to me at the completion of our case. I do not know about you but i would have thought having a bilingual attorney (Spanish Speaking) would have only help things. to the best of my knowledge she does not speak any spanish but was able to help me make my wife feel relaxed and patient. If you want a no B.S. attorney that listens and gets things done in a timely and cost effective manner hire Van Doan, because she is, in my opinion the best immigration lawyer in Maryland. and to top everything off in the begining i was charged a flat rate and I even got a refund for money that was not used during the case. What Attorney ever gives money back to a client. I give Van Doan a 11 out of 10.

  9. Excellent communication.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.

    Very proffesional, reliable lawyer. Excellent communication through the whole process (immigrant petition of a spouse). Very patient, she explained everything my husband and I needed to know, always reminded us what we needed to do by e-mail or phone, and kept us updated.

  10. above and beyond the call of duty

    Posted by sasha, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thanh Doan.
    • I hired Thanh more than 3 years ago.
    • Thanh handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm glad that I had the privilege of working with a lawyer like Thanh Van Thi Doan. I definatelty felt as if she was heaven sent and she came right in the knick of time. she was very professional, optimistic, caring and she never gave up. My case was by far the most complicated, and seemed impossible to defend. When my case was given to other attorneys, they looked at it and just gave up without trying I was even told to get married, and to just leave and go to another country.Thanh Van Thi Doan was 10 notches above any attorney that I've worked with in the past and who ever gets the chance to work with her is guaranteed quality and above and beyond service.I highly recommend this attorney for for your complicated immigration cases she always comes out on top.