Jonathan Scott Smith’s Reviews

Jonathan Scott Smith

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Satisfied client

    Posted by Joy, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonathan Smith was very knowledgeable and profesional. My case outcome was better than I could have predicted. I would use Jonathan again if the need would arise again.

  2. Exceeded My Legal Expectations

    Posted by Ed, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ed--When life takes an unexpected turn and you need legal representation, Jonathan Smith is the one to bring calm, clarity and peace of mind to a situation. I recommend Mr. Smith without reservation because of his knowledge and expertise of the law. He approaches every issue in a logical and clear manner so that you, his client are fully briefed on your legal rights and where you stand. He under promises and over delivers and that is what you want when you feel the proverbial walls closing in on you. His 30 years experience is confidence-inspiring, but more importantly he believes in his clients and does his best to get the outcome the you want. Mr. Smith, thank you and your wonderful staff for taking care of me and my family during the darkest hour of our lives. I can not express my appreciation enough. When your life and reputation hangs in the balance, do not cut corners and take the least expensive way out as it my cost you in the end. His legal service and experience is second to none and well worth the investment.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Sometimes the police and department of social services run good, decent, loving families through the wringer, turning their lives upside down and casting a pall of fear over them. Thank God we live in a country where everyone accused of a crime is entitled to an attorney. It is a privilege to fight for people against the sometimes unchecked power of the state.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  3. Professional, attentive, honest and driven

    Posted by The Bacons, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Professional, attentive, honest and driven is what comes to mind when I think of Jonathan Smith and his staff. I was in car accident in March 2012 and needed legal representation. Mr. Smith and I had our first consultation in March 2012, and I received my settlement May 2012. Need I say more! He is honest, dedicated with a quick turnaround.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Most people involved in car accidents don't know how to navigate the minefields insurance companies erect to avoid paying people restitution for their losses. We have been handling these claims for decades, and know how to fight hard for people who have been injured to get their medical bills paid, their lost income compensated, and return their lives to normal.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  4. Professional, knowledgeable, prepared, consummate.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith knows the law and his knowledge enables him to do his work with confidence. He was well prepared for the case having read in detail everything I sent him. He was better prepared than the opposition and more knowledgeable about the law than the judge. Mr. Smith conducted himself professionally and ethically.

  5. Mr. Jonathan Smith review

    Posted by Paul, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith is an exceptional attorney. He is very professional, knowledgeable and his attention to detail is unbelievable . He took control of my situation, put me at ease and brought the truth out during my trial. He is very straight forward and honest. You will not find a better attorney anywhere. His staff exhibits the same qualities and helps make a difficult time less stressful.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      My focus always has been, "preparation is the key to success." Paul was unjustly accused of terrible allegations, and quickly found himself arrested and in jail waiting for trial. First, we obtained bail so he could have his freedom back. Next, we conducted an extensive investigation of the charges. We were successful in having many of the charges dismissed before trial as legally improper. Finally, we took the case to trial and fought hard. The jury saw the truth, finding him not guilty of all charges. This was a just, and fantastic, end to this good man's nightmare. We were privileged to be a part of righting this injustice.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Review Jonathan Scott Smith

    Posted by a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Smith and his staff kept us well informed, and moved our case along expediently. Our case was based on the recall of a medical prosthesies and the damage it caused.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      We trust our doctors and manufacturers of medical devices to help us get better. The last thing we expect, or deserve, is to have them harm us and make our health worse! Unfortunately, sometimes that happens. When it does, we have the right hold them accountable.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Simply the Best

    Posted by Patrick, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonathan Smith is simply the best attorney in Howard County. He is always well prepared, knows case law better than anyone I've ever seen, is as articulate as any attorney you can hire, and his logic is unsurpassed.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Pat came to us with an outrage. He entered into a home improvement contract, and the homeowner then refused to pay. The contract contained an arbitration clause, so Pat took the claim to arbitration (without a lawyer) and won. The homeowner then hired an attorney to overturn the arbitration ruling, so Pat came to us for help. They threw every conceivable obstacle and twisted legal maneuver at us. Many months, and $1,000's in legal fees later, we won a total victory for Pat. In addition, the court ordered the other side to pay every penny of the legal fees Pat had to pay us. Count this as a case of a hard working and honest person being victimized by the legal system, and keeping the faith until justice was finally done!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  8. K B

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Mr Smith was extremely knowledgeable and handled my case professionally. I was very satisfied with his representaion and the outcome of my case.

  9. HT fiasco

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Smith.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jonathan delivered what he promised and much more - his willingness to do above and beyond what was required resulted in 'Not Guilty' verdicts on all the charges. He is a consummate professional whose years of experience and attention to detail made all the difference in my case. I would recommend him without reservation to anyone who has the unfortunate experiecne of requiring the servies of a defense lawyer.

    1. Jonathan Scott Smith

      Jonathan Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client is an educated, honest person who had never been accused of a crime before. The prosecutor stated that she would ask for jail time if the client were to be convicted. When something like that happens, my first thought is, "over my dead body!" We rejected all plea bargain offers and took the case to trial. The judge not only found the client not guilty, she actually berated the prosecution witnesses for their testimony. So much for the prosecution's threat of jail time!!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag