Back to Jonathan’s Profile

Client Review

Jonathan has received 111 client reviews

He is the best in my opinion in his field

Posted by: m.zaky, a DUI client 6 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan < 1 month ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

He helped me all the way , knowledgeable , very high sense of humor to lighten the mood , everyone likes him , the judges and the prosecutors , when i got my DUI all my friends referred to me a lot of lawyers but i found MR. Jon here on avvo , i met him and then i hired him on the spot never regret my decision , very good man and amazing lawyer , and the surprise after he is done with my case he sent me a check with a part of his fees as a refund and he said because he didn't feel that he spent much time as he was expected on my case because we accepted the deal before the trial date , For me it is not about the money but it shows how much he is honest and a good man . Really thank you mr . Jon for your effort i appreciate it .

DUI/DWI Case reduced to Reckless

Posted by: Timothy, a DUI client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I hired Jon back in May when I was charged with a DUI/DWI. Without getting too specific, Jon pointed out a couple glaring mistakes that the officers made during the rest and was able to get my potential DUI/DWI charge reduced to a "wet reckless" avoiding a lengthy license suspension and DUI/DWI on my record. After meeting with Jon I knew immediately he was the man for the job. He put all the potential outcomes on the table but told he was confident he could negotiate with the prosecutor and get me a reduced charge. Not only that but he was straightforward, honest, and more than fair with his fee. He made me feel very comfortable throughout the process. If you have a similar legal issue I would highly recommend Jon to defend you.

WAY BEYOND THE CALL OF DUTY!!!

Posted by: Aaron, a DUI client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

In December 2013, I got in car accident (no one else was involved) and was arrested for DUI. I’m only 22 and had never been in trouble with the law so I was extremely scared. My father and I immediately began to search for a lawyer. During this search it was extremely disappointing because most of the places I had contacted made me feel as if I was just another client. I understand lawyers are busy but many of the law firms I checked out, it was almost impossible to get in contact with the lawyer. But instead was only dealing with their assistants. After coming across Jon’s information I decided to meet him in person. Within the first couple of minutes, I was convinced he was the lawyer for me. I am very happy I made that decision. Jon was able to make a plea bargain with the prosecutor, to reduce the DUI charge to reckless driving. Instead of having 1 year with restricted licenses, Jon was able to get it down to 6 months. He was not only able to get the time reduced but also was able to have it changed to where I could drive to/from work, basketball games, grocery shopping, church, and run earrings for my grandparents. This was such a good deal; my probation officer was so shock the judge would allow all of these exemptions. Jon has truly mastered the art of being just aggressive enough to get what he want without coming off as disrespectful. I also believe his great reputation within the DMW area helps as well. If you are looking for a lawyer who truly cares about your well-being and is not money hungry, look no more. Jon is very hands on with his cases and is reachable early in the mornings until VERY late at nights. His commitment and expertise is worth way more than he charges. If you wish you had a close relative in the business, you can’t get much closer than this. If you are reading this thank you Jon Katz AND your awesome team for everything!!!!!!

If you have a DUI, or any Class 1 Misdemeanor or Felony for that matter, HIRE JON KATZ!!!!

Posted by: a DUI client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

To make a long story short, I had an almost unwinnable case (admitted to having drank, accident, breath over .15), 2 previous alcohol related charges in college (dismissed, but still), AND I was arrested for drunk in public between court dates for this DUI case... My case went to trial, I was found Not Guilty, and the case was dismissed. To be fair, we got lucky and had a lot of things go our way, but you partly make your own luck, and Jon's preparedness, experience and fight directly led to a lot of ours. He got a plea deal, with no jail time, a restricted license, and my drunk in public dismissed (pretty fantastic outcome). However, Jon was always on the lookout for any inch extra we could gain, and after he found the breath tech didn't show up, we scrapped that plan and plead not guilty. He kept me informed the entire time, kept the expert witness we had informed and in the loop, and made me feel comfortable and kept things lighthearted with well timed jokes the whole time. Jon had his office staff submit papers to the prosecutors office saying they had to give us notice if they wanted it continued, b/c of the expert witness, and that made the judge deny the prosecutors request to continue again. During the trial, he was prepared, kept me informed, and had a punch and counter-punch for everything, making the prosecutor look completely unprepared. After the verdict, he was almost as happy as I was! He genuinely loves helping and fighting for his clients. I would recommend Jon to anyone. He is expensive, and because he does so much high level work, things below DUI are not very cost effective, just because of his lost opportunity cost if he took them. However, he was very helpful in providing help and ideas for my other case, and recommending several other very high quality lawyers. Overall, the best lawyer I could have hoped for, and got the best outcome I could have hoped for. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

If you have been charged with a DUI and looking for lawyer, look no further if you want the best defense for your case.

Posted by: a DUI client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I was accused of DUI and refusal, which would have been two years suspended license. I was worried and blaming myself for the incident. Jon was able to make a plea bargain with the prosecutor, to drop the refusal and reduce the DUI charge for a lesser charge. Jon if you are reading this, I just want to say thank you for your hard work. I begin my extensive research online as soon as I get the DUI charges and come across Jon. I was in your place one time wondering if the online review is real. I really want to help you, please make the appointment to discuss your case with Jon. I am glad, I did. The minute you met with Jon, you will have peace of mind. Jon absolutely knows the law in and out more importantly he is genuinely passionate about what he does. He is very optimistic and fights for you even more than your expectation. Jon is also very friendly, very funny and who actually relates to you as a person. Jon and his staff were very professional and available to answer any questions. Jon accommodates your schedule to meet with you by phone or in person late into the evening. He responds to your emails during the same business day, late at night or early in the morning. He and his staff will keeps you updated on your case. I recommend Jon as the best lawyer in VA, MD, and DC. Thanks for all your hard work Jon!!

One night in Bangkok!!

Posted by: Julie, a Criminal Defense client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.

Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I had a simple but a tough case because of the county the incident took place, my line of profession and immigration status. I was scared, better say terrified. My immigration attorney recommended Jon and I set up an appointment immediately. After our first meeting I hired him. Before meeting with Jon I met with 3 attorneys and all of them told me the same thing: I had to plead guilty and hope that the prosecutor would agree to a plea bargain. But Jon was totally different; he was realistic but also had a strategy that was well thought out. We both had work ahead of us but it was much better than sitting around and hoping for the best. Jon believed in being extremely prepared and going to court as if we would be going for trial. When I asked him why do all this work; he said, if you go to settle it will more likely go to trial. But if you go to trial it will more likely settle. His initial fee was relatively hire than the other 3 attorneys however Jon works relentlessly. He always finds time to return calls, emails and if you call in advance meet with you in person. I recall the night before my court date (which was a Sunday) Jon was still editing,from home the letters that my immigration attorney delayed in delivering!! When we arrived to court on Monday we were ready more than any of the other people. The prosecutor was very tough and was not willing to compromise. Jon did not get discouraged with the prosecutors negative act, and he immediately approached to the supervising prosecutor. I was so scared that when I look back all the people are a blur except Jon. I remember him walking very quickly back and forth, strategizing the case, keeping me well informed and exploring every option possible. Finally Jon came back with a deal that I was not prepared at all. Looking back If it wouldn't have been for Jon I still don't think I would have accepted the prosecutor's offer. But Jon talked with me why it's beneficial not only for the case but for my employment status as well. So I accepted the offer and the outcome even though was difficult, for reasons I would not like to share, turned out to be the best. Thanks to Jon, my immigration status is in good standing so as my employment:) Jon if you are reading this, you know who I am. I am sure there were times (plenty) that I drove you crazy with endless questions, emails and worries. But you made me feel very important every time I reached out to you. Even though your answers are always short and to the point, and it took me a while to get used to your abrupt ways, I know it was tough love at the end. I wish you all the best and a big THANK YOU!

DUI + reckless driving knocked down to speeding ticket

Posted by: Brandon, a DUI client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Jon is not only a great attorney but also a great guy! Made me feel very comfortable and handled my case with extreme professionalism. Would recommend him to anyone without hesitation!!

Not guilty

Posted by: a DUI client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I was accused of DWI and refusal, which would have been two years suspended license. I most likely would have lost my job if convicted. The plea bargain offered was to drop the refusal, but keep the DWI and one year suspended license. We had to delay the case because this was not an acceptable offer. At my new trial date, the prosecuter offered the same plea bargain despite a counter offer of a high fine, jail time and restricted license for a year. I had no choice but to go to trial. Once the trial began Jon completely dominated the process and it was clear that there was no grounds to pull me over. It was amazing. I was facing two years suspended license, fought for one year restricted license and reckless and ended with EVERYTHING being dropped. What a wonderful day and an amazing lawyer.

Very Happy

Posted by: Greg, a DUI client 7 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.

Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Jon did what I thought was simply not at all possible. Due to his advice and his excellent job handling the situation, he was able to have my charge reduced, in addition to other things that helped my situation tremendously. Look no further. I found Jon through AVVO, and it turned out to be one of the smartest things I've ever done blindly. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you Mr. Katz

Posted by: a client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jonathan Katz

Mr. Katz and his staff were professional and available to answer any questions. Thank you very much to you and your staff. We were able to achieve a good outcome. Highly recommend working with Mr. Katz if you're caught up in the VA justice system and need help navigating.